Schering Stiftung

Project 


Art Sponsorship in the Name of Karl Hofer

Art Sponsorship in the Name of Karl Hofer

Duration:

September 25 – November 16, 2003

Opening hours:

Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.


Young artists in their thirties present new works in the Haus am Waldsee in Berlin-Zehlendorf: Tatjana Bergius, Regine Bungartz, Niki Elbe, Steffen Geisler, Anne Hille, Anke Kalk, Julia Krewani, Gabriele Künne, Annette Rose, Bodo Rott, Michaela Schweiger, Eric Tschernow, Karen Wald-Bartelt, and Filip Zorzor. All of them were grant recipients of the Karl Hofer Society.

For two years, they had the opportunity to let their creativity unfold in the Atelieretage of the Karl Hofer Society in Berlin-Oberschöneweide. Covering a broad spectrum—from painting, drawing, object, and installation to video and photography—they now present their extraordinary talents to a broader public.

A gas flame, as photographed by Karen Wald-Bartelt, becomes a flower. Seed capsules and an engine under the hands of Julia Krewani turn into a hybrid art object. A unicorn is the main protagonist of Anke Kalk’s performance “Leaving Berlin #3.” Bodo Rott draws his almost headless “Couple” in a classical watercolor technique. These and other works can be admired in an exhibition catalogue sponsored by the Schering Stiftung.

The Karl Hofer Society was founded in 1953. It supports young graduates of the Berlin University of the Arts by awarding studio grants and prizes, and by arranging for exhibition opportunities and contacts so that they can find their place on the art market after finishing their studies.

Karl Hofer (1878-1955), the founding director of the Berlin University of the Arts after 1945, remains vividly remembered in the Haus am Waldsee, which dedicates itself to contemporary art since 1946. The current exhibition is part of an uninterrupted series of presentations of current directions in art in the post-war period, which has included such prominent names as Karl Schmitt-Rottluff, Bernhard Heiliger, Max Pechstein and also Karl Hofer. Documenting the exhibition, the catalogue sponsored by the Schering Stiftung may very well illustrate the first steps of tomorrow’s great artists.

 

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Kunstförderung im Namen Karl Hofers

Kunstförderung im Namen Karl Hofers

Laufzeit:

25.09. – 16.11.2003

Öffnungszeiten:

Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.


Die Ausstellung der Stipendiaten der Karl Hofer Gesellschaft 2001–2003

Junge Künstler aus der Generation der 30jährigen zeigen im Haus am Waldsee in Berlin Zehlendorf neueste Arbeiten: Tatjana Bergius, Regine Bungartz, Niki Elbe, Steffen Geisler, Anne Hille, Anke Kalk, Julia Krewani, Gabriele Künne, Anette Rose, Bodo Rott, Michaela Schweiger, Eric Tschernow, Karen Wald-Bartelt und Filip Zorzor. Sie alle waren Stipendiaten der Karl-Hofer-Gesellschaft. Die Schering Stiftung förderte die Herausgabe des Kataloges.

Zwei Jahre lang konnten sie in der Atelieretage in Berlin-Oberschöneweide ihre Kreativität frei entfalten. Mit einem breiten Spektrum an Werken aus den Gebieten Malerei, Zeichnung, Objekt, Installation, Video und Fotografie präsentieren sie nun ihre außergewöhnlichen Begabungen einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit.

 

Eine Gasflamme wird, fotografiert von Karen Wald-Bartelt, zur Blume. Samenkapseln und ein Motor verwandeln sich unter den Händen von Julia Krewani zum hybriden Kunstobjekt. Ein Einhorn spielt die Hauptrolle in Anke Kalks Performance „Leaving Berlin #3“. Bodo Rott zeichnet sein beinahe kopfloses „Paar“ klassisch in Aquarell. Diese und andere Werke sind in einem Ausstellungskatalog zu bewundern, dessen Herausgabe die Schering Stiftung förderte.

Gegründet wurde die Karl Hofer Gesellschaft 1953. Junge Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Universität der Künste werden mit Atelierstipendien, mit der Vergabe von Förderpreisen, der Vermittlung von Ausstellungsmöglichkeiten und Kontakten darin unterstützt, nach erfolgreich abgeschlossenem Hochschulstudium ihren Platz im Kunstmarkt zu finden.

Die Erinnerung an Karl Hofer (1878-1955), den Gründungsdirektor der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste nach 1945, ist auch im Haus am Waldsee lebendig, das sich seit 1946 der zeitgenössischen Kunst widmet. Die aktuelle Ausstellung knüpft an eine seit der Nachkriegszeit ununterbrochene Folge von Präsentationen aktueller Kunstströmungen an, in deren Reihe sich neben anderen so bedeutende Namen wie Karl Schmitt-Rottluff, Bernhard Heiliger, Max Pechstein und auch Karl Hofer finden. Der von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Katalog dokumentiert die Ausstellung und wird so möglicherweise die ersten Schritte der großen Künstler von morgen nachvollziehbar machen.

 

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram