Schering Stiftung

Project 

Nico and the Navigators, The Hour We Knew Too Much About Each Other

Nico and the Navigators, The Hour We Knew Too Much About Each Other
Photo: Dieter Hartwig

The Hour We Knew Too Much About Each Other

by Nico and the Navigators

Nico and the Navigators, The Hour We Knew Too Much About Each Other
Photo: Dieter Hartwig

The Hour We Knew Too Much About Each Other

by Nico and the Navigators

Date:

May 27, 2015, 8–10 p.m.

Venue:

Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

Admission: €14 – €28
Tickets: +49 (0)30–288 788 588 | www.radialsystem.de


Following its première in Hamburg on April 24, the new ensemble production “The Hour We Knew Too Much About Each Other” by Nico and the Navigators is coming to Berlin for a series of much-anticipated performances at Radialsystem V. The ensemble takes a close-up look at absurd moments of everyday life that make visible the roots and contradictions of human behavioral rituals. Full of self-deprecating irony, the new production by the award-winning ensemble promises to put its finger on the pulse of our times.

Although our world is supposed to become ever more efficient and “better,” people’s absorption in their smartphones makes them overlook other people and objects around them. They could know everything, and yet they know nothing about the problems in their immediate environment. The new ensemble production by Nico and the Navigators takes as its starting-point the arrangement of Peter Handke’s play “The Hour We Knew Nothing of Each Other.” Whereas the stage directions of the original has some three hundred people move across the stage without speaking, Nico and the Navigators, casting only eight actors, focus their attention on people who unexpectedly collide with each other and are forced to deal with these situations. Today, when communication happens primarily via the media and thinking has gone out of fashion, anyway, these are complicatedly funny challenges whose fleetingness leaves lasting marks.

Through new interpretations of songs ranging from Bonnie “Prince” Billy to Benjamin Britten, body language, and text fragments, the actors explore the rhythm of life determined by rules and coincidences: How much of a stranger are we to each other? Do we know too much about each other? What do we really know about each other? And how are our stories connected?

Nico and the Navigators is a prize-winning, experimental music theater ensemble working at the highest aesthetic level. Its particular talent lies in seeing and appreciating absurd everyday experiences and encounters between people. The new production aims specifically at observing these situations on streets and public squares, revealing the absurdity with which our society today deals with a variety of ubiquitous means of communication.

The Hour We Knew Too Much About Each Other

Voice, dance & acting by and with: Philipp Caspari, Charles Adrian Gillott, Yui Kawaguchi, Annedore Kleist, Julla von Landsberg, Anna-Luise Recke, Ted Schmitz, Patric Schott | Music: Tobias Weber (electric guitar and strings)
Artistic Director: Nicola Hümpel | Stage Design: Oliver Proske | Lighting Design: Andreas Fuchs | Costume Design: Frauke Ritter | Soundscapes/Sound Design: Mattef Kuhlmey | Sound Development Assistance: Hannes Gwisdek | Assistant to the Director: David Eckelmann | Assistant to the Stage Designer: Sonja Winkler, Caroline Forisch | Assistant to the Costume Designer: Cristina Lelli

A production by Nico and the Navigators with Kampnagel Hamburg. Co-produced by Théâtre de Nîmes – Scène conventionnée pour la danse contemporaine.
With support from the German Federal Cultural Foundation, Schering Stiftung, Augstein Stiftung, Radialstiftung and funding from the State of Berlin.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Nico and the Navigators, Die Stunde da wir zu viel voneinander wussten

Nico and the Navigators, Die Stunde da wir zu viel voneinander wussten
Foto: Dieter Hartwig

Die Stunde da wir zu viel voneinander wussten

von Nico and the Navigators

Nico and the Navigators, Die Stunde da wir zu viel voneinander wussten
Foto: Dieter Hartwig

Die Stunde da wir zu viel voneinander wussten

von Nico and the Navigators

Termin:

27.05.2015, 20–22 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

Eintritt: 14 – 28 €
Tickets: 030–288 788 588 | www.radialsystem.de


Nach ihrer Uraufführung am 24. April in Hamburg kommt die neue Ensembleproduktion „Die Stunde da wir zu viel voneinander wussten“ von Nico and the Navigators nach Berlin und wird im Radialsystem V mit Spannung erwartet. Das Ensemble richtet sein Vergrößerungsglas auf skurrile Alltagsmomente, die die Keimzellen menschlicher Verhaltensrituale und ihre Widersprüche sichtbar machen. Die Neuproduktion des vielfach ausgezeichneten Ensembles verspricht mit viel Selbstironie den Nerv der Zeit zu treffen.

Obwohl unsere Welt immer ökonomischer und „besser“ werden soll, übersehen die Menschen beim Blick auf ihr Smartphone andere Menschen und Gegenstände um sie herum. Sie könnten alles wissen und wissen doch nichts von den Problemen aus ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung. Als Ausgangspunkt der neuen Ensembleproduktion von Nico and the Navigators dient die Anordnung von Peter Handkes Stück „Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wussten“. Wo das Original an die dreihundert stumme Charaktere per Regieanweisungen über die Bühne schickt, richten Nico and the Navigators mit nur acht Darstellern ihr Augenmerk auf Menschen, die unverhofft aufeinanderprallen und sich diesen Situationen stellen müssen. Das ist in heutigen Zeiten, in denen die Kommunikation vorrangig über Medien stattfindet und Denken sowieso ‚out‘ ist, eine verzwickt komische Herausforderung, deren Flüchtigkeit tiefe Spuren hinterlässt.

Mit neu interpretierten Songs und Liedern von Bonnie „Prince“ Billy bis Benjamin Britten, mit Körpersprache und Textfragmenten wird der von Regeln und Zufall bestimmte Takt des Lebens aufgegriffen: Wie fremd sind wir uns? Wissen wir zu viel voneinander? Was wissen wir wirklich voneinander? Und wie sind unsere Geschichten miteinander verbunden?

Nico and the Navigators sind ein ausgezeichnetes, experimentelles und auf höchstem ästhetischem Niveau agierendes Musiktheaterensemble. Ihr besonderes Talent liegt in der Erfassung kurioser Alltagserfahrungen und zwischenmenschlicher Begegnungen. Die Neuproduktion zielt genau auf die Beobachtung dieser Situationen auf Straßen und Plätzen und deckt damit den heutzutage zum Teil absurden gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit diversen omnipräsenten Kommunikationsmitteln auf.

Die Stunde da wir zu viel voneinander wussten

Gesang, Tanz & Spiel von und mit: Philipp Caspari, Charles Adrian Gillott, Yui Kawaguchi, Annedore Kleist, Julla von Landsberg, Anna-Luise Recke, Ted Schmitz, Patric Schott | Musik: Tobias Weber (E-Gitarre und Saiteninstrumente)
Künstlerische Leitung: Nicola Hümpel | Bühne: Oliver Proske | Licht: Andreas Fuchs | Kostüme: Frauke Ritter | Soundscapes/Ton: Mattef Kuhlmey | Mitarbeit Sound-Entwicklung: Hannes Gwisdek | Regieassistenz: David Eckelmann | Bühnenassistenz: Sonja Winkler, Caroline Forisch | Kostümassistenz: Cristina Lelli

Eine Produktion von Nico and the Navigators mit Kampnagel Hamburg. Koproduziert vom Théâtre de Nîmes – scène conventionnée pour la danse contemporaine.
Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, die Schering Stiftung, die Augstein Stiftung, die Radialstiftung und aus den Mitteln des Landes Berlin.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram