Schering Stiftung

Event 

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes
Photo: © DaimlerBenzStiftung

Brain, Consciousness, and Artistic Experience

John-Dylan Haynes

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes
Photo: © DaimlerBenzStiftung

Brain, Consciousness, and Artistic Experience

John-Dylan Haynes

Date:

January 20, 2016, 6–8 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

Due to the overwhelming request for participation accreditation has already been closed!

The lecture will be in German.


The Berlin-based brain researcher Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes will explain how mental states can be decoded from brain activity in humans. He will discuss the possibilities of synchronizing brain activity by external rhythms and how brain activity is linked to aesthetic experience, during his evening lecture “Brain, Consciousness, and Artistic Experience.”

John-Dylan Haynes is a professor (W3) at the Charité Berlin and director of the Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging. After studying psychology in Bremen, he completed his PhD in 2003 with a thesis on the neural correlates of conscious perception. After research stays at the University of Magdeburg, Plymouth University, and the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience at University College London, Haynes became a group leader at the Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences in Leipzig in 2005 and subsequently moved to the Charité in Berlin. In his research, Haynes tries to answer the question of whether thoughts can be read out and predicted from brain activity. His focus is not only on developing machine-based decoding processes to read out the content of our consciousness but also on the technological and ethical limits of this kind of research. His other research interests include awareness, intentions, and free will.

The lecture is part of the exhibition “SMOKING MIRROR” by artist Otavio Schipper and composer Sergio Krakowski, which will be on display at the Schering Stiftung’s Project Space until January 23, 2016. Developed specifically for the Schering Stiftung, Schipper and Krakowski’s installation of unique reflective objects aims to induce a state of altered consciousness similar to a hypnotic trance. The exhibition creates a space that challenges one’s senses and perception through synchronized light and sound, corresponding to the natural internal rhythms of the brain. SMOKING MIRROR thus explores the relationship between mental activity and the cognitive awareness of one’s own body in space.

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes
Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging at Charité Berlin and Berlins Humboldt University

Read more

You might also be interested in

March 18, 2016

Bodily Self-Consciousness

Olaf Blanke

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Veranstaltung 

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes
Foto: © DaimlerBenzStiftung

Gehirn, Bewusstsein und künstlerische Erfahrung

John-Dylan Haynes

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes
Foto: © DaimlerBenzStiftung

Gehirn, Bewusstsein und künstlerische Erfahrung

John-Dylan Haynes

Termin:

20.01.2016, 18–20 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage können wir leider keine Anmeldungen mehr entgegennehmen!

Der Vortrag (in deutscher Sprache) richtet sich an eine interessierte Öffentlichkeit.


Im Rahmen der Ausstellung SMOKING MIRROR spricht Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes zum Thema „Gehirn, Bewusstsein und künstlerische Erfahrung“. Der Berliner Hirnforscher erklärt, wie mentale Zustände aus der Hirnaktivität ausgelesen werden können, welche Möglichkeiten es gibt, die Hirnaktivität mittels externer Rhythmen zu synchronisieren und welche Zusammenhänge bestehen zwischen Gehirntätigkeit und ästhetischer Erfahrung.

John-Dylan Haynes ist W3-Professor an der Charité Berlin und Direktor des Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging. Nach dem Studium der Psychologie in Bremen promovierte er 2003 mit einer Arbeit zu den neuronalen Grundlagen des Bewusstseins. Nach Forschungaufenthalten an der Universität Magdeburg, der Universität Plymouth und am Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience des University College London etablierte sich Haynes 2005 mit einer eigenen Arbeitsgruppe am Max-Planck-Institut für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften in Leipzig. Anschließend wechselte er an die Charité in Berlin. In seiner Forschung geht Haynes der Frage nach, ob Gedanken aus der Hirnaktivität ausgelesen und vorhergesagt werden können. Dabei steht nicht nur die Weiterentwicklung von maschinellen Dekodierungsverfahren zum Auslesen von Bewusstseinsinhalten im Zentrum, sondern auch die Frage der technischen und ethischen Grenzen dieser Forschung. Weitere Forschungsinteressen sind Bewusstsein, Absichten und Willensfreiheit.

Der Vortrag ist Teil der Ausstellung “SMOKING MIRROR” des Künstlers Otavio Schipper und des Komponisten Sergio Krakowski, die noch bis zum 23. Januar 2016 im Projektraum der Schering Stiftung zu sehen ist. Eigens für die Schering Stiftung konzipierten Schipper und Krakowski eine Installation mit außergewöhnlichen Spiegelobjekten, die einen Zustand der veränderten Wahrnehmung ähnlich einer hypnotischen Trance hervorrufen soll. Die Ausstellung erschafft einen Raum, der unsere Sinne und Wahrnehmung durch aufeinander abgestimmte Licht- und Toneffekte, die den natürlichen inneren Rhythmen des Gehirns entsprechen, herausfordert. SMOKING MIRROR erkundet so den Zusammenhang zwischen geistiger Aktivität und dem kognitiven Bewusstsein des eigenen Körpers im Raum.

Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes
Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging, Charité Berlin und Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

 

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

18.03.2016

Körperliches Ich-Bewusstsein

Olaf Blanke

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram