Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

On Smell

Symposium | Art and Science in Dialogue

On Smell

Symposium | Art and Science in Dialogue

Date:

June 25, 2022, 9 a.m.–10 p.m.

Venue:

Colonia Nova
Thiemannstrasse 1,
Tor 4, Haus 5
12059 Berlin

Registration for the event is closed.


The interdisciplinary symposium on the topic of smell and smelling provides a space for exploring the topic from a variety of perspectives and disciplines through lectures, discussions, workshops, and interactions. Speakers are artists, scholars, and scientists from the disciplines of philosophy, egyptology, neurosciences, psychology, and medicine, among others.

Speakers: Dr. Chris Callewaert, Biological Scientist, Ghent; Prof. Dr. Ilona Croy, Psychologist, Jena; Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Artist, Berlin; Dora Goldsmith, Egyptologist, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Bill S. Hansson, Neuroethologist, Jena; Prof. Dr. Thomas Hummel, Physician, Dresden; Angela Loi, Wine Expert, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Denise Manahan-Vaughan, Neurophysiologist, Bochum; Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Artist, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Manuel Selg, Microbiologist, Wels; Prof. Dr. Barry C. Smith, Philosopher, London;  Sissel Tolaas, Smell REsearcher and artist, Berlin; and others.

PROGRAM

8:30 Registration

9:00–13:15 Talks and discussions – part 1
Prof. Dr. Barry C. Smith: Smell as the Not So Neglected Sense (Engl.)
Sissel Tolaas: AIRON_ONAIR. pAIRtitur (Engl.)
Prof. Dr. Denise Manahan-Vaughan: Why odours hold the key to our memories (Engl.)
Wolfgang Georgsdorf: Osmodrama – Journeys into the depths beyond the audiovisual space, followed by discussion on collaborations of scientific and artistic research on the human sense of smell with Prof. Dr. Ilona Croy and Prof. Dr. Thomas Hummel

Lunch

14:00–16:00 Workshops, experience space and interactions
Dr. Chris Callewaert: Probiotic sprays and clothing, Prof. Dr. Ilona Croy: Sniffin Sticks, Dora Goldsmith: Ancient Egyptian Fragrances, Agnes Meyer-Brandis & Prof. Dr. Manuel Selg: How to Become a Tree for Another Tree

16:00–19:00 Talks and discussions – part 2
Agnes Meyer-Brandis and Prof. Dr. Bill S. Hansson: Smelling the Trees
Dr. Chris Callewaert: Harnessing the power of the microbiome to change body odors (Engl.)

19:00–19:45 Multi sensory wine tasting
Angela Loi

from 20:00 Dinner & Get-together

Speakers 

Chris Callewaert holds two masters and a PhD from Ghent University, Belgium. He was postdoctoral researcher at the Knight lab at University of California, San Diego, USA, and now is Senior Postdoctoral Research fellow of the Research Foundation Flanders (FWO). He studies the skin microbiome and metabolome and is specialized in body odor in relation to the bacteria in the armpits, clothes and washing machines. He is the first one to solve body odor by replacing bacteria of smelly people with those of non-smelly people. He presented a TED talk and results of his research can be found on www.DrArmpit.com.

Close

Ilona Croy received her doctorate and habilitation in psychology in Dresden and is a licensed psychological psychotherapist. After several years of research in Gothenburg and Linköping (Schweden), she first headed the research department at the psychosomatic clinic of the University Hospital Dresden. Since 2021, Ilona Croy has held the chair of clinical psychology at Friedrich Schiller University Jena. She researches the neuronal basis with which we sniff and grope our fellow human beings, is fascinated by brains and enthusiastic about large data sets. She strives to explain science in an understandable way and has received awards for her commitment to teaching and mentoring.

Close

Wolfgang Georgsdorf, *1959 in Linz/Austria, studied art 1977-83, has lived in Berlin and Brandenburg since 1992. He is an artist, inventor, musician, author, director and draftsman. Most of his works, quite a few of them award-winning, combine science, art, technology or social processes, from perception and sign language research to instrument development, Expanded Cinema and multimodal sensory works to his main project for many years, the development of Smeller technology and Osmodrama, the time-based performance of olfactory sequences as a new artistic practice.

Close

Dora Goldsmith is an Egyptologist. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Archaeology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and a Master of Arts in Egyptology from Freie Universität Berlin. She is currently pursuing a PhD at Freie Universität Berlin on the topic of olfactory perception in ancient Egypt. The title of her dissertation project is "The Archaeology of Smell in Ancient Egypt. A Cultural Anthropological Study Based on Written Sources." Dora Goldsmith is investigating the olfactory world of ancient Egyptian society through written sources. She analyzes and translates ancient Egyptian texts that mention smells and uses them as a basis for determining the role of smells and scents in ancient Egypt. To better understand the written sources, she uses the method of experimental archaeology and reconstructs the scents that the ancient Egyptian texts describe. Two of her scent reconstructions have been exhibited in museums - the Mendesian Perfume at the National Geogpraphic Museum in Washington, D.C., and the Embalming Scent at the Okayama Orient Museum in Japan. Dora Goldsmith gives lectures and workshops around the world on her research findings and accompanies them with her inspiring fragrance reconstructions.

Close

Bill Hansson defended his PhD in Animal Ecology at Lund University, Sweden, in 1988. After a two-year postdoc period at the University of Arizona, he returned to Lund as Assistant, Associate and Full Professor. In 2001, Hansson was recruited as Professor and Department Head to the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences. In 2006, he got the call as Director at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena, Germany, where he now heads a department of more than 60 coworkers. Between 2014-2020, Hansson was Vice President of the Max Planck Society. His science centers on insect odor-guided behavior and its evolution.

Close

Thomas Hummel does research in the chemosensory systems at the Smell and Taste Clinic of the Department of Otorhinolaryngology of the Technische Universität Dresden. This includes an olfactory/gustatory dysfunction clinic also involving patients with neurodegenerative causes of olfactory loss, and investigations in the intranasal trigeminal system. Investigations in these areas are performed using electrophysiological (olfactory event-related potentials, recordings from the mucosa of the nasal cavity), psychophysical, and imaging techniques (MRI). Thomas Hummel received his medical education in at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany. There, he also went through a special program in Pharmacology and Toxicology (“Habilitation”) which was guided by Dr. Gerd Kobal. As a post-doc he stayed in 1994 at the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Iowa, Iowa City, USA. Further, from 1997 to 1998 Dr. Hummel was Assistant Professor at the Department of Otorhinolaryngology of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA where he worked at the Smell and Taste Center under guidance of Dr. Richard L. Doty. Since 1998 Dr. Hummel started a Smell and Taste Clinic at the Department of ORL of the University of Dresden where he sees approximately 1000 patients per year. He is author/co-author of more than 700 peer-reviewed, original publications, more than 80 reviews in the chemosensory area, over 50 chapters and editor of three books in the scientific literature.

Close

Denise Manahan-Vaughan is head of the Institute of Physiology within the Medical Faculty of Ruhr University Bochum. Her primary degree specialised in Physiology and her PhD was in Neuropharmacology (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland). After finishing her PhD, she moved, from her native Ireland, to Germany and following research appointments at the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg and the Institute of Physiology, Charité, Berlin, she moved to the Ruhr University. Her research focuses on understanding the mechanisms that enable long-term memory storage, especially within our primary memory structure:  the hippocampus.  Because complex memories rely heavily on sensory experience, she also explores how sensory structures, such as the olfactory and visual systems, interact with the hippocampus. She has published over 170 research articles and has established and coordinated several large research consortia that focus on  memory mechanisms, including her current consortium “Integration and Representation of Sensory Processes” funded by the German Research Foundation.

Close

Agnes Meyer-Brandis is a Berlin-based artist with a focus on sculptural practice and new media. She creates works at the intersection of science, fiction and fable. Initially trained in mineralogy, followed by studies at art academies in Maastricht, Düsseldorf, and Cologne, she is the founder and director of 'Forschungsfloß', an "institute for art and subjective science," that purposefully "asks questions but does not provide answers" in areas such as climate research, environmental studies, meteorology, synthetic and artistic biology. Meyer-Brandis' work has been exhibited worldwide and has won numerous awards, including the Prix Ars Electronica Award of Distinction and the European KAIROS Prize from the Alfred Toepfer Foundation F.V.S.

Close

Manuel Selg completed his studies in molecular biology and chemistry at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky. He then received his Ph.D. in molecular biology from Loyola University Chicago. This was followed by thirteen years of basic research in the medical field at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg and the University of Lund before he took a position as a Molecular Biology Professor at the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria, Faculty of Engineering at the Wels Campus in 2004. Today, he is Head of Studies of the Bio- and Environmental Technology study program. Manuel Selg has been active in the field of bioart for about 13 years. He has already worked on a wide range of projects with various artists, curated several exhibitions and is very fond of using bioart as a means of promoting social dialogue.

Close

Barry C Smith is a Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Institute of Philosophy at the University of London’s School of Advanced Study. He is the founding director of the Centre for the Study of the Senses, which pioneers collaborative research between philosophers, psychologists and neuroscientists. His recent research is on taste, smell and the multisensory perception of flavour involves collaborations with neuroscientists, clinicians and patient advocates. He has published theoretical and empirical articles in Nature, Food Quality and Preference and Flavour, Chemical Senses, Foods and is the editor of Questions of Taste: the philosophy of wine (Oxford University Press 2008). He recently created a Centre for Olfactory Research and Applications (CORA), which has focused on post-Covid anosmia and parosmia.

Close

Sissel Tolaas has been working, researching, and experimenting extensively with the topic of smell since 1990, taking a pioneering and unique approach to smells. She has developed a wide range of revolutionary interdisciplinary smell-related projects worldwide based upon her knowledge of forensic chemistry, chemical communication, sensory ecology, linguistics, and the visual arts. Tolaas established the SMELL RE_searchLab Berlin in January 2004 with support from IFF Inc. Tolaas has unique skills in smell recognition, analysis and reproduction/replication. She has researched and experimented with smells in many diverse contexts and for multiple purposes and formats. Her research and projects have been awarded numerous national and international scholarships, honors, and prizes. Tolaas has shown her work in many museums and institutions worldwide, including MOMA New York, NGV Melbourne, DIA New York, NTU CCA Singapore, Tate Modern London, Minsheng Museum Shanghai, and MORI Tokyo. She has worked with universities such as MIT, Nanyang Technical, Tsinghua, Harvard, and Oxford. Since 1996, Tolaas has done 55 City SmellScapes research projects of, for and with major cities in six countries. She has built several types of smell archives such as Smell & Communication/Language, Smell & Coding, Smell & Anthropocene, and Smell & Extinction. She is currently working on smell-molecule preservation/conservation archives of the world’s oceans and forests and on smell artefacts and a smell heritage archive for the Pompeii Ruins. Tolaas’s collections of smell molecules and smell structures include 15,000 smell samples and formulas.

Close

 

You might also be interested in

Hybrid Encounters

Art meets Science

October 01, 2018

With All Our Senses

How We Interact With One Another

December 11, 2019, 45131 Essen

ArtScience 101: How to Organize an Art-Science Collaboration

Workshop at the 12th Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

January 08, 2020

LITTLE JOE – Happiness is Business

Series of discussions with X Verleih

November 07, 2020

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

Über Geruch

Symposium | Kunst und Wissenschaft im Dialog

Über Geruch

Symposium | Kunst und Wissenschaft im Dialog

Termin:

25.06.2022, 09–22 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Colonia Nova
Thiemannstrasse 1,
Tor 4, Haus 5
12059 Berlin

Die Anmeldung für die Veranstaltung ist geschlossen.


Das interdisziplinäre Symposium zum Thema Geruch und Riechen bietet Raum für die Erkundung des Themas aus verschiedenen Perspektiven und Disziplinen in Vorträgen, Diskussionen, Workshops und Interaktionen. Als Sprecher*innen eingeladen sind Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen u.a. aus Philosophie, Ägyptologie, Neurowissenschaften, Psychologie und Medizin.

Sprecher*innen: Dr. Chris Callewaert, Biowissenschaftler, Ghent; Prof. Dr. Ilona Croy, Psychologin, Jena; Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Künstler, Berlin; Dora Goldsmith, Ägyptologin, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Bill S. Hansson, Neuroethologe, Jena; Prof. Dr. Thomas Hummel, Mediziner, Dresden; Angela Loi, Weinexpertin, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Denise Manahan-Vaughan, Neurophysiologin, Bochum; Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Künstlerin, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Manuel Selg, Molekularbiologe, Wels; Prof. Dr. Barry C. Smith, Philosoph, London; Sissel Tolaas, Smell REsearcher und Künstlerin, Berlin; u.a.

PROGRAMM

8:30 Einlass

9:00–13:15 Vorträge und Diskussionen – 1. Teil
Prof. Dr. Barry C. Smith: Smell as the Not So Neglected Sense (Engl.)
Sissel Tolaas: AIRON_ONAIR. pAIRtitur (Engl.)
Prof. Dr. Denise Manahan-Vaughan: Why odours hold the key to our memories (Engl.)
Wolfgang Georgsdorf: Osmodrama – Reisen in die Tiefe jenseits des audiovisuellen Raums,
anschließend Gespräch zu Kooperationen wissenschaftlicher und künstlerischer Forschung zum menschlichen Geruchssinn mit Prof. Dr. Ilona Croy und Prof. Dr. Thomas Hummel

Lunch (vegetarisch)

14:00–16:00 Workshops, Erfahrungsräume und Interaktionen
Dr. Chris Callewaert: Probiotische Sprays und Kleidung, Prof. Dr. Ilona Croy: Sniffin Sticks, Dora Goldsmith: Altägyptische Duftwelten, Agnes Meyer-Brandis & Prof. Dr. Manuel Selg: How to Become a Tree for Another Tree

16:00–19:00 Vorträge und Diskussionen – 2. Teil
Agnes Meyer-Brandis und Prof. Dr. Bill S. Hansson: Bäume riechen
Dr. Chris Callewaert: Harnessing the power of the microbiome to change body odors (Engl.)

19:00–19:45 Multisensorische Weinverkostung
Angela Loi

ab 20:00 Dinner (vegetarisch) & Get Together

Galerie

Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Symposium
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Symposium
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Symposium
Geruchssymposium Schering Stiftung 25.06.2022 in Berlin; [copyright: www.arne-sattler.de]
Symposium

Eindrücke vom Symposium "Über Geruch"

am 25. Juni 2022 im Colonia Nova, Berlin

Mediathek besuchen

Sprecher*innen 

Chris Callewaert erwarb zwei Masterabschlüsse und einen Doktortitel an der Universität Gent, Belgien. Er war Postdoktorand im Knight-Labor an der University of California, San Diego, USA, und ist jetzt Senior Postdoctoral Research Fellow der Forschungsstiftung Flandern (FWO). Er untersucht das Hautmikrobiom und das Metabolom und hat sich auf Körpergeruch im Zusammenhang mit Bakterien in den Achselhöhlen, in der Kleidung und in Waschmaschinen spezialisiert. Er ist der erste, der Körpergeruch durch den Austausch von Bakterien riechender Menschen gegen solche von nicht riechenden Menschen beseitigt hat. Er hielt einen TED-Vortrag und seine Forschungsergebnisse sind auf www.DrArmpit.com zu finden.

Schliessen

Ilona Croy hat als Psychologin in Dresden promoviert, habilitiert und sich als psychologische Psychotherapeutin approbiert. Nach mehrjähriger Forschung in Göteborg und Linköping (Schweden), leitete sie zunächst die Forschungsabteilung an der psychosomatischen Klinik der Universitätsklinik Dresden. Seit 2021 hat Ilona Croy den Lehrstuhl für klinische Psychologie an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität inne. Sie erforscht die neuronalen Grundlagen, mit denen wir schnüffelnd und tastend unseren Mitmenschen begegnen, ist fasziniert von Gehirnen und begeistert sich für große Datensätze. Sie bemüht sie sich, Wissenschaft verständlich zu erklären und wurde für ihr Engagement in Lehre und Betreuung ausgezeichnet.

Schliessen

Wolfgang Georgsdorf, *1959 in Linz/Österreich, Kunststudium 1977-83, lebt seit 1992 in Berlin und Brandenburg. Er ist Künstler, Erfinder, Musiker, Autor, Regisseur und Zeichner. Die meisten seiner Arbeiten, etliche davon preisgekrönt, verbinden Wissenschaft, Kunst, Technologie oder Gesellschaftsprozesse, von Wahrnehmungs- und Gebärdensprachforschung über Instrumentenentwicklung, Expanded Cinema und multimodalsensorischen Werken hin zu seinem jahrelangen Hauptprojekt, die Entwicklung der Smeller-Technologie und Osmodrama, dem zeitbasierten Aufführen von Geruchssequenzen als neue künstlerische Praxis.

Schliessen

Dora Goldsmith ist Ägyptologin. Sie hat einen Bachelor of Arts in Archäologie und Studien zum Alten Orient von der Hebräischen Universität von Jerusalem und einen Master of Arts in Ägyptologie von der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie promoviert zur Zeit an der Freien Universität Berlin zum Thema Geruchswahrnehmung im alten Ägypten. Der Titel ihres Dissertationsvorhabens lautet „The Archaeology of Smell in Ancient Egypt. A Cultural Anthropological Study Based on Written Sources“. Dora Goldsmith untersucht die olfaktorische Welt der altägyptischen Gesellschaft anhand von schriftlichen Quellen. Sie analysiert und übersetzt altägyptische Texte, die Gerüche erwähnen, und bestimmt auf ihrer Grundlage die Rolle von Gerüchen und Düften im alten Ägypten. Um die schriftlichen Quellen besser verstehen zu können, verwendet sie die Methode der experimentellen Archäologie und rekonstruiert die Düfte, die die altägyptischen Texte beschreiben. Zwei ihrer Duftrekonstruktionen wurden in Museen ausgestellt – das Mendesian-Parfüm im National Geogpraphic Museum in Washington, D.C., und der Duft der Einbalsamierung im Okayama Orient Museum in Japan. Dora Goldsmith hält weltweit Vorträge und Workshops über ihre Forschungsergebnisse und begleitet diese mit ihren anregenden Duftrekonstruktionen.

Schliessen

Bill Hansson promovierte 1988 in Tierökologie an der Universität Lund, Schweden. Nach einem zweijährigen Postdoc-Aufenthalt an der University of Arizona kehrte er als Assistenz-, außerordentlicher und ordentlicher Professor nach Lund zurück. Im Jahr 2001 wurde Hansson als Professor und Abteilungsleiter an die Schwedische Universität für Agrarwissenschaften berufen. Im Jahr 2006 erhielt er den Ruf als Direktor an das Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Ökologie in Jena, Deutschland, wo er heute eine Abteilung mit mehr als 60 Mitarbeitern leitet. Von 2014-2020 war Hansson Vizepräsident der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf geruchsgesteuertes Verhalten von Insekten und dessen Evolution.

Schliessen

Thomas Hummel forscht an der Geruchs- und Geschmacksklinik der Klinik für Hals-, Nasen- und Ohrenheilkunde der Technischen Universität Dresden im Bereich der chemosensorischen Systeme. Dies umfasst eine Klinik für olfaktorische / gustatorische Störungen sowie Untersuchungen im intranasalen trigeminalen System, das Empfindungen wie Stechen oder Brennen oder Kitzeln vermittelt. Untersuchungen in diesen Bereichen werden mit elektrophysiologischen (olfaktorische ereignisbezogene Potentiale, Aufzeichnungen von der Schleimhaut der Nasenhöhle), psychophysischen und bildgebenden Techniken (MRT) durchgeführt. Thomas Hummel studierte Medizin an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und ist Facharzt für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie. Als Post-Doc war er 1994 am Department of Pharmacology der University of Iowa, Iowa City, USA. Von 1997 bis 1998 war Prof. Hummel außerdem Assistenzprofessor am Smell and Taste Center der HNO Klinik der University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA. Er ist Autor / Co-Autor von mehr als 700 begutachteten Originalpublikationen, mehr als 70 Übersichten im Bereich der Chemosensorik, über 50 Kapiteln und Herausgeber von drei Büchern.

Schliessen

Denise Manahan-Vaughan ist Leiterin des Instituts für Physiologie an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Ihr Erststudium absolvierte sie in Physiologie und promovierte in Neuropharmakologie (Trinity College Dublin, Irland). Nach Abschluss ihrer Promotion zog sie von ihrer irischen Heimat nach Deutschland und wechselte nach Forschungsaufenthalten am Leibniz-Institut für Neurobiologie, Magdeburg, und am Institut für Physiologie der Charité, Berlin, an die Ruhr-Universität. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf das Verständnis der Mechanismen, die die Speicherung des Langzeitgedächtnisses ermöglichen, insbesondere in unserer primären Gedächtnisstruktur, dem Hippocampus.  Da komplexe Erinnerungen stark von sensorischen Erfahrungen abhängen, erforscht sie auch, wie sensorische Strukturen, wie das Geruchs- und das visuelle System, mit dem Hippocampus interagieren. Sie hat über 170 Forschungsartikel veröffentlicht und mehrere große Forschungskonsortien gegründet und koordiniert, die sich mit Gedächtnismechanismen befassen, darunter ihr aktuelles Konsortium "Integration und Repräsentation sensorischer Prozesse", das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert wird.

Schliessen

Agnes Meyer-Brandis ist eine in Berlin lebende Künstlerin mit einem Schwerpunkt in skulpturaler Praxis und neuen Medien. Sie kreiert Werke im Spannungsfeld von Wissenschaft, Fiktion und Fabel. Zunächst in Mineralogie ausgebildet, gefolgt von Studien an den Kunstakademien in Maastricht, Düsseldorf und Köln, ist sie Gründerin und Leiterin des ‚Forschungsfloßes’, einem „Institut für Kunst und subjektive Wissenschaft,“ das gezielt „Fragen stellt, aber keine Antworten gibt“ in Bereichen wie Klimaforschung, Umweltstudien, Meteorologie, synthetischer und künstlerischer Biologie. Meyer-Brandis’ Arbeiten wurden weltweit ausgestellt und mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter mit dem Prix Ars Electronica Award of Distinction und dem europäischen KAIROS Preis der Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S.

Schliessen

Manuel Selg schloss sein Molekularbiologie- und Chemiestudium an der Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky ab. Danach promovierte er im Fach Molekularbiologie an der Loyola University Chicago. Es folgten dreizehn Jahre Grundlagenforschung im medizinischen Bereich an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und der Universität Lund, bevor er 2004 die Professur für Molekularbiologie an der Fachhochschule Oberösterreich, Fakultät für Technik und angewandte Naturwissenschaften am Campus Wels übernahm. Dort ist er heute Studiengangsleiter des Studiengangs Bio- und Umwelttechnik. Im Bereich der Biokunst bewegt sich Manuel Selg seit ca. 13 Jahren. Er arbeitete bereits an vielfältigen Projekten mit unterschiedlichen Künstlern, kuratierte einige Ausstellungen und verwendet die Biokunst sehr gerne als Mittel zur Förderung des gesellschaftlichen Dialogs.

Schliessen

Barry C. Smith ist Professor für Philosophie und Direktor des Instituts für Philosophie an der School of Advanced Study der University of London. Er ist der Gründungsdirektor des Centre for the Study of the Senses, das Pionierarbeit in der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Philosophie, Psychologie und Neurowissenschaften leistet. Seine jüngsten Forschungsarbeiten befassen sich mit Geschmack, Geruch und der multisensorischen Wahrnehmung von Aromen, wobei er mit Neurowissenschaftler*innen, Mediziner*innen und Patientenvertreter*innen zusammenarbeitet. Er hat theoretische und empirische Artikel in Nature, Food Quality and Preference und Flavour, Chemical Senses, Foods veröffentlicht und ist der Herausgeber von Questions of Taste: the philosophy of wine (Oxford University Press 2008). Vor kurzem hat er ein Zentrum für Geruchsforschung und -anwendungen (CORA) gegründet, dass sich mit Anosmie und Parosmie nach Covid-Erkranungen beschäftigt.

Schliessen

Sissel Tolaas arbeitet, forscht und experimentiert seit 1990 zum Thema Geruch und verfolgt dabei einen einzigartigen und bahnbrechenden Ansatz. Basierend auf ihrer Expertise in den Bereichen forensische Chemie, chemische Kommunikation, sensorische Ökologie, Linguistik und den bildenden Künsten hat sie ein breites Spektrum an revolutionären interdisziplinären Geruchsprojekten weltweit entwickelt. Im Januar 2004 gründete Tolaas mit Unterstützung der IFF Inc. das SMELL RE_searchLab Berlin. Tolaas verfügt über einzigartige Fähigkeiten, was die Bestimmung, Analyse und Nachbildung von Gerüchen angeht. Sie forscht und experimentiert zum Thema Geruch in vielen verschiedenen Kontexten und für die unterschiedlichsten Zwecke und Formate. Für ihre Forschungen und Projekte erhielt sie zahlreiche nationale und internationale Stipendien, Auszeichnungen und Preise. Ihre Arbeiten wurde in vielen Museen und Institutionen weltweit gezeigt, darunter im MOMA New York, NGV Melbourne, DIA New York, NTU CCA Singapur, Tate Modern London, Minsheng Museum Shanghai und Mori-Kunstmuseum Tokio. Sie hat mit Universitäten wie bspw. MIT, Nanyang Technical, Tsinghua, Harvard und Oxford zusammengearbeitet. Seit 1996 hat Tolaas 55 Geruchsprofile (SmellScapes) von, für und in Zusammenarbeit mit Metropolen in sechs Ländern erstellt. Die von ihr aufgebauten Geruchsarchive umfassen u.a. Geruch & Kommunikation/Sprache, Geruch & Coding, Geruch & Anthropozän sowie Geruch & Extinktion. Aktuell arbeitet sie an einem Archiv zum Schutz und zur Konservierung von Geruchsmolekülen der Weltmeere und Wälder sowie Geruchsartefakten und einem Archiv des olfaktorischen Erbes der Ruinenstadt Pompeij. Ihre Sammlung von Geruchsmolekülen und Geruchsstrukturen umfassen 15.000 Geruchsproben und -formeln.

Schliessen

 

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

11.12.2019, 45131 Essen

ArtScience 101: So organisiere ich eine Kunst-Wissenschafts-Kollaboration

Workshop auf dem 12. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

08.01.2020

LITTLE JOE – Glück ist ein Geschäft

Diskussionsreihe mit X-Verleih

07.11.2020

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Hybrid Encounters

Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

01.10.2018

Mit allen Sinnen

Wie wir zusammen leben

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram