Schering Stiftung

Project 


Focus on: Jan van Eyck, Lucca Madonna (1435)

Focus on: Jan van Eyck, Lucca Madonna (1435)

Duration:

May 31 – October 29, 2006

Opening hours:

Tue, Fri–Sun: 10 a.m.–6 p.m.
Wed, Thu: 10 a.m.–9 p.m.


The Lucca Madonna (1435) by the Dutch painter Jan van Eyck makes a solo appearance at the Städel Museum in Frankfurt/Main. Since first becoming known, the painting of the Madonna is seen as a masterpiece of Jan van Eyck. None of his other paintings impart such an immediate intimacy between the viewer and the portrayed figures as does the Lucca Madonna, named after a previous owner of the painting.

With his incomparable painting technique and brilliant visual solutions, Jan van Eyck ranks among the most important fifteenth-century artists of the Netherlands. From 1425 until his death in 1441, he was in the employ of Philip the Good, Duke of Burgundy.

The Lucca Madonna, today owned by the Städel Museum, is here presented in a totally new fashion—namely by taking into account various disciplines such as art history, science of the image, sociology and the natural sciences. Wall-to-wall “mind maps” explain, among other things, the artist’s objectives as well as the revolutionary innovations regarding image structure, design and technique.

This exhibition is the first of a new series entitled “Focus on: …,” which is exclusively supported by the Schering Stiftung. In a total of nine exhibits, nine masterpieces from the distinguished collection of the Städel Museum will be presented to the public under a variety of scientific aspects. On November 7, 2006, the series will continue with “Focus on: Johannes Verspronck, Portrait of a Lady in an Armchair (ca. 1642-45).”

Lucca Madonna (Flash)

Exhibition Dates:
May 31–October 29, 2006

Opening Hours:
through June 30: Tue, Fri–Sun: 10 a.m.–5 p.m.
from July 1: Tue, Fri–Sun: 10 a.m.–6 p.m.
Wed, Thu: 10 a.m.–9 p.m.

Location:
Städel Museum
Schaumainkai 63
60596 Frankfurt/Main
Phone: 069-605098-0

Additional Information:
www.staedelmuseum.de
info@staedelmuseum.de

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Fokus auf: Jan van Eyck, Lucca-Madonna (1435)

Fokus auf: Jan van Eyck, Lucca-Madonna (1435)

Laufzeit:

31.05. – 29.10.2006

Öffnungszeiten:

Di, Fr-So: 10-18 Uhr
Mi, Do: 10-21 Uhr


Die Lucca-Madonna (1435) des niederländischen Malers Jan van Eyck hat ihren Soloauftritt im Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main. Das Madonnenbild gilt seit seinem Bekanntwerden als Meisterwerk Jan van Eycks. Keines seiner weiteren Gemälde vermittelt eine solch unmittelbare Vertrautheit zwischen dem Betrachter und den dargestellten Figuren wie die Lucca-Madonna, die nach einem früheren Besitzer benannt ist.

Jan van Eyck gilt mit seiner unvergleichlichen Maltechnik und seinen brillanten Bildlösungen als einer der bedeutendsten Künstler des 15. Jahrhunderts in den Niederlanden. Er stand von 1425 bis zu seinem Tod 1441 im Dienst Philipps des Guten, des Herzogs von Burgund.

Präsentiert wird die Lucca-Madonna, die sich im Besitz des Städels befindet, nun auf ganz neue Art – unter Berücksichtigung unterschiedlichster Disziplinen wie Kunstgeschichte, Bildwissenschaft, Soziologie und Naturwissenschaft. In Form von wandfüllenden „mind maps“ werden unter anderem die Ziele des Künstlers sowie revolutionäre Neuerungen im Bereich Bildaufbau, -gestaltung und -technik erläutert.

Dies ist der Auftakt einer neuen Ausstellungsreihe „Fokus auf…“, die von der Schering Stiftung exklusiv unterstützt wird. In insgesamt neun Ausstellungen wird jeweils ein Meisterwerk aus der bedeutenden Sammlung des Städel Museums unter unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Aspekten präsentiert. Die Fortsetzung folgt ab dem 7. November 2006 mit „Fokus auf: Johannes Verspronck, Bildnis einer Frau im Sessel (um 1642-45)“.

Lucca-Madonna (Flash)

Ausstellungsdauer: 31. Mai bis 29. Oktober 2006

Öffnungszeiten:

bis 30. Juni: Di, Fr-So: 10-17 Uhr
ab 01. Juli: Di, Fr-So: 10-18 Uhr
Mi, Do: 10-21 Uhr

Ort:
Städel Museum
Schaumainkai 63
60596 Frankfurt/Main
Telefon: #49 69 605098-0

Weitere Informationen:
www.staedelmuseum.de
info@staedelmuseum.de

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram