Schering Stiftung

Project 


Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions, SMEAR forest research station, Hyytiälä, FI, 2014

Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions, SMEAR forest research station, Hyytiälä, FI, 2014
Photo: © Agnes Meyer-Brandis, VG Bildkunst 2015

Andrea Roe, Knowing from the Inside, sterling silver etched cuff, 2015

Andrea Roe, Knowing from the Inside, sterling silver etched cuff, 2015
Photo: © Andrea Roe

ON THE EDGE

Artists in Dialogue with the Humboldt University Collections

ON THE EDGE

Artists in Dialogue with the Humboldt University Collections

Duration:

June 04 – September 13, 2015

Exhibition opening:

Wednesday, 03. June 2015, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Tuesday - Saturday 2pm - 6pm

Venue:

Tieranatomisches Theater der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Campus Nord
Philippstr. 12/13, Haus 3
10115 Berlin

Entrance free

Further information:
Tieranatomisches Theater: http://www.kulturtechnik.hu-berlin.de/tat


In the institute Tieranatomisches Theater, the striking new exhibition ON THE EDGE will provide a fascinating insight into the Humboldt University scientific collections through the eyes of seven artists from Germany and the UK: Annie Cattrell, Simon Faithfull, Agnes Meyer-Brandis,  Lucy Powell, Andrea Roe, Nicole Schuck and Wolf von Kries.

The artists enjoyed unfettered access to the collections to produce new work and create intriguing correlations between objects. These objects – from collections as diverse as zoology, biology, media, mathematics, cartography, dendrology, anatomy, geology and crystallography – have a varied role and status in their professional context. Some are used in teaching and for research, but others have, at least temporarily, outlived their original usefulness or are accessible only for a small expert group. They are all, however, ON THE EDGE of new horizons with all the stimulating excitement and possibility that promises or, alternatively, ON THE EDGE of a precipice in a precarious position, inducing uncertainty about their future status.

With her installation of a tree, plant and dandelion research station, Agnes Meyer-Brandis ruminates on the realm of climate related sciences, data collection and distinctions between categories.  In a reflective way, Simon Faithfull’s drawings on glass of the living collection of trees and plants at the university arboretum echo the institution’s glass negatives and ‘skeleton’ leaves. Drawing is also the medium for Nicole Schuck; her works on paper explore the transfer of knowledge by visual means through geological and geographical representations and deep sea creatures of indeterminate structure and origin.  Annie Cattrell’s dialogue with human anatomical objects focuses on the study of the form of organisms and their specific structural features. The intimacy and interaction between human anatomy, parasite and bovine animal emerges in Andrea Roe’s sculptures and drawings. Wolf von Kries and Lucy Powell both show films spanning several collections. In von Kries’ film, it is the muted spaces where the collection objects are held which provides special significance, whereas Powell’s large scale and durational work focuses upon the materiality of the objects as a metaphor for the love of knowledge.

To reflect on and contextualise the exhibition, a symposium will be held on the shifting constellations of university collecting practice, the role of the custodians of the collections, the production of knowledge through aesthetic means and the ways in which artists can contribute to such debates.

The project is a collaboration between Satellite Salon and the collections as well as the Hermann von Helmholtz – Zentrum für Kulturtechnik at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, funded by Schering Stiftung. Additional support is provided by the Rudolf Augstein Foundation; the British Council; Edinburgh College of Art at The University of Edinburgh; De Montfort University, Leicester and the Cluster of Excellence Image Knowledge Gestaltung. An Interdisciplinary Laboratory at the Humboldt University. We also gratefully acknowledge the cooperation of the Centre for Anatomy, Charité – University Medicine, Berlin; the Natural History Museum, Berlin; the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité and the German Aerospace Centre (DLR).

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions, SMEAR forest research station, Hyytiälä, FI, 2014

Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions, SMEAR forest research station, Hyytiälä, FI, 2014
Foto: © Agnes Meyer-Brandis, VG Bildkunst 2015

Andrea Roe, Knowing from the Inside, sterling silver etched cuff, 2015

Andrea Roe, Knowing from the Inside, sterling silver etched cuff, 2015
Foto: © Andrea Roe

ON THE EDGE

Künstler/innen im Dialog mit den Sammlungen der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

ON THE EDGE

Künstler/innen im Dialog mit den Sammlungen der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Laufzeit:

04.06. – 13.09.2015

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Mittwoch, 03. Juni 2015, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Dienstag bis Samstag 14 – 18 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Tieranatomisches Theater der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Campus Nord
Philippstr. 12/13, Haus 3
10115 Berlin

Eintritt frei

Weitere Informationen:
Tieranatomisches Theater: http://www.kulturtechnik.hu-berlin.de/tat


Die Sonderausstellung ON THE EDGE im Tieranatomischen Theater bietet  einen faszinierenden Einblick in die wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin – betrachtet durch die Augen von sieben Künstlern aus Deutschland und Großbritannien: Annie Cattrell, Simon Faithfull, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Lucy Powell, Andrea Roe, Nicole Schuck und Wolf von Kries.

Die Künstler erhielten uneingeschränkten Zugang zu den Sammlungen, um neue Werke zu schaffen und diese mit den vorgefundenen Objekten in frappierende Beziehungen zu setzen. Die Sammlungsobjekte selbst stammen aus so unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten wie Zoologie, Biologie, Medienwissenschaft, Mathematik, Kartografie, Dendrologie, Anatomie, Geologie und Kristallografie. In ihren jeweiligen Disziplinen haben sie unterschiedliche Bedeutungen und spielen oft ganz verschiedene Rollen. Einige kommen in Lehre und Forschung zum Einsatz, andere haben ihre ursprüngliche Funktion und Zweckbestimmung inzwischen verloren oder einen Bedeutungswandel erlebt. Allen diesen Objekten ist jedoch gemein, dass sie in Übergangszonen changieren: aufgeladen einerseits mit stimulierendem Inspirationspotential und mit der Geschichte ihres wissenschaftlichen Gebrauchs, zugleich offen für neue Deutungen und vor einer ungewissen Zukunft. Damit befinden sie sich letztlich ON THE EDGE.

Mit ihrer Installation einer Baum-, Pflanzen- und Löwenzahnforschungsstation erkundet Agnes Meyer-Brandis das gemeinsame Terrain von klimabezogenen Forschungsansätzen, Datensammlungen und Grenzziehungen zwischen Arten und Kategorien. Auf hintergründige Weise wendet sich Simon Faithfull den Bäumen und Pflanzen, die in der Lebendsammlung des Späth-Arboretums der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gezogen werden, zu. Seine auf Glas gefertigten Zeichnungen treten in Widerhall mit Fotonegativen und Blattskeletten des Instituts. Zeichnen ist auch das Medium von Nicole Schuck. In ihren Arbeiten auf Papier ergründet sie anhand von geologischen und geographischen Darstellungen und Tiefseegeschöpfen unbestimmter Struktur und Herkunft, wie und in welcher Form Wissen visuell festgehalten und vermittelt werden kann. Annie Cattrell konzentriert sich in ihrem Dialog mit anatomischen Objekten vom Menschen auf das Studium von Form und Struktur der Organismen und ihrer spezifischen Merkmale. Intimität und Interaktion zwischen menschlicher Anatomie, Parasiten und Kuh sind Gegenstand der Skulpturen und Zeichnungen von Andrea Roe. Wolf von Kries und Lucy Powell zeigen jeweils Filme, in welchen sie sich mit je unterschiedlichen Sammlungen auseinandersetzen. Im Werk von Wolf von Kries geht es um die stummen Räume, in welchen Sammlungsdinge lagern und die dadurch ihre besondere Bedeutung erlangen. Lucy Powells großformatige Arbeit mit ihrer zeitlich länger angelegten Filmstrecke nimmt das Materielle der Objekte als Metapher für die Liebe zur Erkenntnis in den Blick.

Während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung bietet ein Symposium die Möglichkeit, die Inhalte der Präsentation vertiefend zu diskutieren und in einem größeren Kontext zu verorten. Neben den sich verändernden Bedingungen der universitären Sammlungspraxis soll die Rolle der Sammlungskustoden, die Verschränkung von Wissensgenese und Ästhetik und der Beitrag, den die Künste in dieser Debatte leisten können, gemeinsam erörtert werden.

Das Projekt ist eine Kooperation zwischen Satellite Salon und den Sammlungen sowie dem Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, unterstützt von der Schering Stiftung. Weitere Förderung erfährt es durch die Rudolf Augstein-Stiftung, den British Council, das Edinburgh College of Art, die De Montfort University Leicester und den Exzellenzcluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung. Ein interdisziplinäres Labor der Humboldt-Universität. Herzlicher Dank gilt außerdem dem Zentrum für Anatomie der Charité Berlin, dem Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, dem Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. für eine gelungene Zusammenarbeit.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram