Schering Stiftung

Project 

Photograph 51

Photograph 51
Photo: ©Christian Jungeblodt

Photograph 51

Photograph 51
Photo: ©Christian Jungeblodt

Photograph 51

Photograph 51
Photo: ©Christian Jungeblodt

Photograph 51 - About Discovery and Success

by Anna Ziegler

Photograph 51 - About Discovery and Success

by Anna Ziegler

Date:

November 06, 2012, 8–10 p.m.

Venue:

English Theatre Berlin
F40 – Fidicinstr. 40
10965 Berlin

Tickets: 18€ | 10€ for students
Monday, Nov 9, 2012, all tickets 9€

The play will be performed in English.


The science play  “Photograph 51,” written by Anna Ziegler, premiered at the English Theatre Berlin in February, with support from the Schering Stiftung. Due to great demand, the play will return to the stage between November 6 and 13, 2012 for seven performances (8 p.m., except Sunday). The play tells the story of Rosalind Franklin, a Jewish woman scientist who struggled with the male-dominated science establishment at King’s College London in the early 1950s. In 1952, she succeeded in taking an X-ray diffraction image – a photograph with the lab number 51 –, which is considered to be the first evidence of the double helix structure of DNA in the history of science. The credit for the discovery, however, went to three men who used her Photo 51 without her knowledge.

Franklin’s crucial contribution went unacknowledged for decades. When James Watson, Francis Crick, and Franklin’s colleague Maurice Wilkins received the Nobel Prize in 1962, she had been dead for four years.

Behind this seemingly simple yet convincing photograph, a whole series of biopolitical scenarios and futuristic concepts begin to emerge: Here, we see the tragic story of Rosalind Franklin, who took photograph 51 in 1952, but would never win laurels for her work. Then there was the race to find the DNA structure where several research groups around the globe fought for eternal fame and the Nobel Prize. From a broader perspective, photograph 51 and the DNA double helix were also the starting points for the development of modern molecular genetics, which currently and in the near future is providing utopian scenarios as well as horror visions – a “personalized“ medicine and reproduction technology based on genetic testing and human genome sequencing, gene therapy and body enhancement, genetically modified food and synthetic biology.

The Schering Stiftung supports the play because of its complex approach to this key event in the history of science. The play approaches the topic with an artistic sensibility, but also from a scientific perspective, exploring not only the emancipation of women in the then male-dominated world of science, but also pointing out the consequences of a revolutionary discovery.

Directed by Günther Grosser
With Anna Cramer, Ben Maddox, Erman Jones, Stuart Austen, Kevin McKinnon, and Oskar Brown
Set design and costumes: Tomas Fitzpatrick
Light design: Katri Kuusimäki
Scientific coordinator: Prof. Regine Hengge (Free University of Berlin)

Anna Ziegler’s “Photograph 51” won the Sloan Foundation Award for best science play in 2008.

Read more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

English Theatre Berlin

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Photograph 51

Photograph 51
Foto: ©Christian Jungeblodt

Photograph 51

Photograph 51
Foto: ©Christian Jungeblodt

Photograph 51

Photograph 51
Foto: ©Christian Jungeblodt

Photograph 51 - Über Entdeckung und Erfolg

von Anna Ziegler

Photograph 51 - Über Entdeckung und Erfolg

von Anna Ziegler

Termin:

06.11.2012, 20–22 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

English Theatre Berlin
F40 – Fidicinstr. 40
10965 Berlin

Tickets: 18€ | 10€ für Studenten
Montag, 09.11.12 alle Karten 9€

Das Stück wird in englischer Sprache aufgeführt.


Das im Februar im English Theatre Berlin uraufgeführte Wissenschaftsstück „Photograph 51“ von Anna Ziegler wird aufgrund der großen Nachfrage wieder in den Spielplan aufgenommen (6. bis 13.11.2012, außer Sonntag, jeweils 20 Uhr). Das von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Stück handelt von Rosalind Franklin – Jüdin, Frau, Wissenschaftlerin –, der es 1952 am King´s College in London gelang, eine Fotografie zu machen, die in der Wissenschaftsgeschichte als der erste Beweis für die Doppelhelix-Struktur der DNA gilt. Den Erfolg dafür ernten später allerdings drei Männer, die Franklins Foto Nr. 51 ohne ihr Wissen verwenden.

Rosalind Franklins Bahn brechender Beitrag wird jahrzehntelang verschwiegen. Denn als James Watson, Francis Crick und Franklins Kollege Maurice Wilkins 1962 den Nobelpreis erhalten, ist sie bereits seit vier Jahren tot.

Hinter dieser scheinbar simplen Fotografie verbergen sich eine ganze Reihe von wissenschaftssoziologischen Entwicklungen, biopolitischen Szenarien und futuristischen Entwürfen: Da ist die tragische Geschichte von Rosalind Franklin, die zwar das Foto schoss, die Früchte ihrer Arbeit allerdings nie ernten konnte. Da ist der Wettlauf um die Aufklärung der DNA-Struktur, in dem Anfang der 50er Jahre weltweit mehrere Forschergruppen mit harten Bandagen um Ruhm und Ehre kämpften. Und da ist nicht zuletzt der Startschuss, den das Foto 51 und die DNA-Doppelhelix für die weitere Entwicklung der Genetik darstellten und der für unsere Zeit und unsere nahe Zukunft gleichzeitig Schreckensvisionen und paradiesische Entwürfe bereithält: Eine auf Gentests und Humangenomsequenz basierte „personalisierte“ Medizin, Genetic Body Enhancement, gentechnisch veränderte Nahrung, Synthetische Biologie, Gentherapie.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert das Theaterstück aufgrund seiner vielschichtigen Herangehensweise an dieses bedeutende Ereignis der Wissenschaftsgeschichte. Mit künstlerischem Auge, aber nicht ohne wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung, verarbeitet es das beschriebene Geschehen. Es thematisiert nicht nur die Emanzipation der Frau in der damals noch männerdominierten Wissenschaftswelt, sondern deutet auch auf die Folgen einer alles verändernden Entdeckung hin.

Regie: Günther Grosser
mit Anna Cramer, Ben Maddox, Erman Jones, Stuart Austen, Kevin McKinnon und Oskar Brown
Bühne und Kostüme: Tomás Fitzpatrick | Licht: Katri Kuusimäki
Wissenschaftliche Koordination: Prof. Regine Hengge (Freie Universität Berlin)

Mit „Photograph 51“ gewann Anna Ziegler 2008 den Preis der Sloan-Foundation für das beste Wissenschaftsstück.

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

English Theatre Berlin

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram