Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Aviv Regev, 2019

Aviv Regev, 2019
Photo: Nitzan Zohar

Aviv Regev: Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture 2021

Aviv Regev, 2019
Photo: Nitzan Zohar

Aviv Regev: Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture 2021

Date:

September 07, 2021, 5:15–6:15 p.m.

Venue:

Online

Access here

Lecture in English


The Schering Stiftung awards the Ernst Schering Prize 2021 Aviv Regev for her innovative combination of computation and biology to create the new field of single cell genomics which led to breakthrough discoveries of gene programs in inflammatory and infectious diseases.

As part of the award ceremony, Aviv Regev will present this year’s Ernst Schering Prize Lecture entitled: Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease. In her lecture, she talks about the cell as the basic units of life and explains her work for the Human Cell Atlas.

Abstract: All the cells of an individual have the same DNA sequence, yet they differ, because in each cell, different genes are expressed from the genome. If a gene’s function is affected and thus leads to malfunction that is the basis of a disease, the disease manifests primarily in those cells where this gene is needed for the cell’s function. Thus, knowing our cells – the genes that act in them and how they differ from each other – is essential for understanding disease.

For the past 150 years, scientists have tried to provide a more exact description of cells: their shape, function, location, and molecules in cells. For a long time, the classification of cells was made based only on the morphology visible through the microscope. Although the DNA has been isolated for the first time in 1869, the first genomes and transcriptomes – the RNA molecules transcribed from active genes in a cell – could only be sequenced one century later, requiring the use of bulk samples, averaging millions of cells together. If each cell is one piece of fruit, this would be akin to studying a handful of blueberries in a fruit smoothie blended together from many other types of fruit.

Aviv Regev was a key pioneer in developing single-cell genomics, which allowed her to look at individual cells – the pieces of fruit within a fruit salad, instead of a smoothie. Thanks to the continual refinement of the methodology and combined with even newer spatial techniques and powerful machine learning algorithms, Regev can now map and characterize tens of millions of cells. She analyzes where they reside within tissues, the molecular circuits that control them, and how they maintain our tissues in health and malfunction in disease. This way, she succeeded in, among other things, identifying cells and genes that drive tumor growth and those that are responsible for resisting treatment. Her outstanding work has laid the foundation for the Human Cell Atlas, which is now being used and refined by numerous scientists worldwide with the goal of mapping and characterizing all cells of the human body under physiological and pathological conditions.

Read more

Media library

Audio — October 18, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 6: Aviv Regev & Judith Feucht - A conversation between two outstanding researchers

Go to audio
Video — September 10, 2021

Aviv Regev

Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease

Go to video

Aviv Regev 

Prize winner

The bioinformatician Aviv Regev receives the Ernst Schering Prize 2021 for her research in the field of single-cell analysis and the innovative combination of biology and computer science.

Learn more

Lecturer 

Aviv Regev is Executive Vice President and Global Head of Genentech Research and Early Development at the biotechnology company Genentech, a member of the Roche Group. Prior to Genentech, Regev served as founding director of the Klarman Cell Observatory at the Broad Institute, Professor of Biology at MIT, and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. She is a founding co-chair of the Human Cell Atlas. Aviv Regev has pioneered the development of foundational experimental and computational methods in single-cell genomics and is a leader in deciphering molecular circuits that govern cells, tissues, and organs in health and disease. Among many honors, she is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine in the United States.

Close

You might also be interested in

September 07, 2021, Berlin

Ernst Schering Prize 2021 & Friedmund Neumann Prize 2021

Festive Award Ceremony in honor of Aviv Regev und Judith Feucht

September 08, 2021

Aviv Regev: From Cell Atlases to Therapies in Cancer

Public Scientific Lecture

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Aviv Regev, 2019

Aviv Regev, 2019
Foto: Nitzan Zohar

Aviv Regev: Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture 2021

Aviv Regev, 2019
Foto: Nitzan Zohar

Aviv Regev: Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture 2021

Termin:

07.09.2021, 17:15–18:15 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Online

Zugang hier

Vortrag in englischer Sprache


Die Schering Stiftung zeichnet Aviv Regev mit dem Ernst Schering Preis 2021 für ihre Pionierarbeit bei der Entwicklung grundlegender experimenteller und bioinformatischer Methoden in der Einzelzellgenomik aus. Durch ihre Forschung ist erstmals die Beschreibung der genetischen Programme von Entzündungs- und Infektionskrankheiten möglich.

Im Rahmen der Preisverleihung hält Aviv Regev die diesjährige Ernst Schering Prize Lecture mit dem Titel: Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease. In Ihrem Vortrag spricht sie über die Zelle als die Grundeinheit des Lebens und erklärt ihre Arbeit für den Human Cell Atlas.

Zusammenfassung: Alle Zellen eines Individuums haben die gleiche DNA-Sequenz, dennoch unterscheiden sie sich, denn in jeder Zelle kommen ganz unterschiedliche Gene zur Anwendung. Ist die Funktion eines Gens beeinträchtigt und führt so zu einer Fehlfunktion, die die Grundlage einer Krankheit ist, manifestiert sich die Krankheit vorwiegend in den Zellen, in denen dieses Gen für die Funktion der Zelle benötigt wird. Daher ist das Wissen um unsere Zellen – die Gene, die in ihnen wirken und wie sich diese voneinander unterscheiden – für das Verständnis von Krankheiten unerlässlich.

Schon seit über 150 Jahren versuchen Wissenschaftler*innen Zellen genauer zu beschreiben: ihre Form und Funktion, ihre Lage im Körper und die Moleküle, die in ihnen wirken. Lange Zeit erfolgte die Klassifizierung der Zellen allein aufgrund der unter dem Mikroskop sichtbaren Morphologie. Obwohl die DNA erstmals 1869 isoliert wurde, konnten die ersten Genome und Transkriptome, also die Gene in einer Zelle, welche zu einem spezifischen Zeitpunkt von der DNA in RNA-Moleküle umgeschrieben wurden, erst ein Jahrhundert später sequenziert werden. Zunächst wurden Massenproben mit im Schnitt Millionen von Zellen zur Klassifizierung von Zellen verwendet. Wenn jede Zelle eine Frucht wäre, ist das in etwa so, als würde man in einem Fruchtsmoothie, der aus sehr vielen verschiedenen Obstsorten zusammengemischt wurde, eine Handvoll Blaubeeren untersuchen wollen.

Aviv Regev leistete Pionierarbeit bei der Entwicklung der Einzelzellgenomik. Diese Methode ermöglicht es einzelne Zellen in einer Probe zu untersuchen. Es kann also, um das Bild weiterzuführen, die einzelne Blaubeere wie in einem Obstsalat, anstatt vermischt wie in einem Fruchtsmoothie, betrachtet werden.

Durch die stetige Weiterentwicklung der Methode und die innovative Kombination mit noch neueren räumlichen Analysemethoden und leistungsstarken Algorithmen für maschinelles Lernen, ist es Regev nun möglich, Dutzende von Millionen von Zellen zu kartieren und zu charakterisieren. Dabei werden deren Lage im Gewebe und die molekularen Schaltkreise, die die Zellen steuern, analysiert und Erkenntnisse darüber gewonnen, wie die Zellen unser Gewebe in Gesundheit erhalten und bei Krankheit versagen. Auf diese Weise gelang ihr unter anderem die Identifikation von Zellen und Genen, die das Tumorwachstum vorantreiben und solchen, die für die Therapieresistenz verantwortlich sind. Ihre herausragenden Arbeiten legten den Grundstock für den Human Cell Atlas, der nun von zahlreichen Wissenschaftler*innen auf der ganzen Welt genutzt und weiter verfeinert wird, mit dem Ziel, alle Zellen des menschlichen Körpers unter physiologischen und pathologischen Bedingungen zu kartieren und zu charakterisieren.

Weiterlesen

Mediathek

Video — 10.09.2021

Aviv Regev

Cell Atlases as Roadmaps in Health and Disease

Zum Video

Aviv Regev 

Preisträger*in

Die Bioinformatikerin Aviv Regev erhält den Ernst Schering Preis 2021 für ihre Forschungsarbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Einzelzellanalyse und der innovativen Kombination von Biologie und Computerwissenschaften.

Mehr erfahren

Sprecherin 

Aviv Regev ist geschäftsführende Vizepräsidentin und Leiterin der Abteilung Forschung und Entwicklung des Biotechnologie-Unternehmens Genentech, eine Tochtergesellschaft der Roche AG. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei Genentech war Regev Gründungsdirektorin des Klarman Cell Observatory am Broad Institute sowie Professorin für Biologie am MIT und Investigator am Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des Human Cell Atlas. Aviv Regev leistete Pionierarbeit bei der Entwicklung grundlegender experimenteller und bioinformatischer Methoden in der Einzelzellgenomik und ist führend in der Entschlüsselung molekularer Schaltkreise, die Zellen, Gewebe und Organe in Gesundheit und Krankheit steuern. Neben vielen anderen Ehrungen ist sie gewähltes Mitglied der National Academy of Sciences und der National Academy of Medicine in den Vereinigten Staaten.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

07.09.2021, Berlin

Ernst Schering Preis 2021 & Friedmund Neumann Preis 2021

Feierliche Preisverleihung zu Ehren von Aviv Regev und Judith Feucht

08.09.2021

Aviv Regev: From Cell Atlases to Therapies in Cancer

Public Scientific Lecture

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram