Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann, Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni  - Award Ceremony 2021

Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann, Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni - Award Ceremony 2021
Photo: Julia Zimmermann

Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann   - Award Ceremony 2021Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann   - Preisverleihung 2021

Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann - Award Ceremony 2021Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann - Preisverleihung 2021

Prof. Aviv Regev, PhD

Prof. Aviv Regev, PhD
Photo: Casey Atkins

Prof. Regev and a team member

Prof. Regev and a team member
Photo: Foundation for the National Institutes of Health

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Prize 2021

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Prize 2021


Professor Aviv Regev, PhD, is Executive Vice President and Global Head of Genentech Research and Early Development at the biotechnology company Genentech, a member of the Roche Group. Prior to Genentech, Regev served as founding director of the Klarman Cell Observatory at the Broad Institute, Professor of Biology at MIT, and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. She is a founding co-chair of the Human Cell Atlas. Aviv Regev has pioneered the development of foundational experimental and computational methods in single-cell genomics and is a leader in deciphering molecular circuits that govern cells, tissues, and organs in health and disease. Among many honors, she is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine in the United States.

For her outstanding research, Prof. Aviv Regev, PhD, is awarded the 2021 Ernst Schering Prize. A seven-member jury composed of international scientists selected Regev’s research from among 27 nominations.

Aviv Regev was nominated for the Ernst Schering Prize by Professor Geneviève Almouzni, PhD, Honorary Director and Head of the Chromatin Dynamics team at the Research Center of the Institut Curie, Paris. Geneviève Almouzni, who will lead a conversation with Aviv Regev about her research at the award ceremony, said: “Aviv Regev is one of the leading scientists of her generation. Her energy and her curiosity are infectious, and she inspires younger generations thanks to her leadership and mentoring skills. Her contributions to the field of single-cell genomics, including the establishment and inspiration of the international Human Cell Atlas community, make her an ideal choice for the Ernst Schering Prize.”

 

Read more

Side events 

Lecture to high-school students: The Human Cell Atlas. Google Maps for the Human Body

September 08, 2021
Aviv Regev

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (not open to the public)

Aviv Regev: Public Scientific Lecture

Lecture — September 08, 2021

This year's Ernst Schering Prize laureate, Aviv Regev, will present her latest research results to a scientific audience.

Learn more

Award Ceremony 2021

Award ceremony — September 07, 2021

Schering Stiftung awards Ernst Schering Prize to the computional biologist Aviv Regev. The physician and junior research group leader Judtih Feucht will be awarded with the Friedmund Neumann Prize.

Learn more

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture

Lecture — September 07, 2021

Aviv Regev will give a keynote lecture on the occasion of the award of the Ernst Schering Prize.

Learn more

Downloads 

CV Aviv Regev

Download File

Public Lecture

at MPI for Melecular Genetics

Download File

Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann is founding director and director of the Department of Immunology of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin and Professor for Microbiology and Immunology at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin. He received his Ph.D. in biology (“summa cum laude”) from Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and completed his habilitation in the field of immunology and microbiology at the Freie Universität Berlin in 1981. From 1987 until 1991, he was Professor for Medical Microbiology and Immunology, and from 1991 until 1998, he was Full Professor for Immunology at Ulm University.

Close

Pico Caroni has been a senior group leader at the Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) for Biomedical Research and a professor of neurobiology at the Biozentrum/The Center for Molecular Life Sciences at the University of Basel since 1995. He studied biochemistry at ETH Zürich and subsequently worked on regeneration in the central nervous system in Martin Schwab’s lab at the Brain Research Institute of the University of Zurich. Since 1989, Caroni has been a researcher at the FMI – first as a junior group leader – studying the plasticity of defined neuronal circuits and systems. He is interested not only in the fundamentals of learning and memory but also in the impact of gene mutations on the circuits and the resulting mental disorders.

Close

Britta Eickholt has been Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry at the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin since 2011. She received her doctorate in 1998 at Guy's Hospital in London. In 2001, she received a lectureship at King's College London and started her own research group at the MRC Center for Developmental Neurobiology. She was appointed Professor of Molecular Neurobiology at King's College in 2010, before her move to Berlin in 2011. Her research focusses on the signaling mechanisms that regulate dynamic processes of the cytoskeleton in neuronal cells.

Close

Carl-Henrik Heldin has, since 1992, been professor in Molecular Cell Biology at Uppsala University, Sweden. Between 1986 and 2017, he was the Branch Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin is the chair of the Boards of the Nobel Foundation, the Science for Life Laboratory, and the European Molecular Biology Organization. His research interest is related to the mechanisms of signal transduction by growth regulatory factors, as well as their normal function and role in disease. An important goal is to explore the possible clinical utility of signal transduction antagonists.

Close

Petra Knaus received her Ph.D. at the Center for Molecular Biology in Heidelberg in 1991. As a Research Fellow and Associate, she did her Postdoctoral Training at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA, until 1996. After her return to Germany, she was Junior Group Leader at the Biocenter in Würzburg. There she established her own lab with a focus on BMP receptor biology and signal transduction. In 2004 she became Full Professor for Biochemistry – Signaltransduction at the Institute for Chemistry and Biochemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin. In 2010 she received a W3 Professorship for Biochemistry – Signaltransduction and Regeneration at the Freie Universität Berlin and Charité. The interest of the Knaus lab is to understand the molecular mechanism of BMP signal transduction, and to identify common and distinct mechanistic concepts in different cell and tissue environments.

Close

Hartmut Michel studied Biochemistry at the Universities of Tübingen and Munich. He completed his doctoral degree at the University of Würzburg in 1977 and habilitated in 1988 at the University of Munich. Since 1987 he is Director at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysics at Frankfurt/Main, where he leads the Department for Molecular Membrane Biology. In 1988, Hartmut Michel was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, together with Johannes Deisenhöfer and Robert Huber, for their investigation of the molecular structure of the photosynthesis reaction center in the rhodopseudomonas viridis bacterium.

Close

Martin Oestreich has been Professor of Organic Chemistry (Synthesis & Catalysis) at TU Berlin since 2011. His appoitment was supported through an Einstein professorship by the Einstein Foundation Berlin. He studied chemistry at the Universities of Düsseldorf, Manchester, and Marburg (1991–1996) and received his doctoral degree at the University of Münster (1996–1999). After a postdoctoral stint at the University of California at Irvine (1999–2001), he completed his habilitation at the University of Freiburg (2001–2005). Martin Oestreich was Professor of Organic Chemistry at the University of Münster from 2006 until 2011. Visiting professorships took him to Cardiff (2005), Canberra (2010), and Kyoto (2018). His research interest range from homogeneous catalysis with main-group elements to elucidation of reaction mechanisms.

Close

You might also be interested in

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann, Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni  - Preisverleihung 2021

Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann, Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni - Preisverleihung 2021
Foto: Julia Zimmermann

Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann   - Award Ceremony 2021Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann   - Preisverleihung 2021

Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann - Award Ceremony 2021Prof. Dr. Genevieve Almouzni, Prof. Aviv Regev, Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaufmann - Preisverleihung 2021

Prof. Aviv Regev, PhD

Prof. Aviv Regev, PhD
Foto: Casey Atkins

Prof. Regev und ein Team-Mitglied

Prof. Regev und ein Team-Mitglied
Foto: Foundation for the National Institutes of Health

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Preis 2021

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Preis 2021


Professor Aviv Regev, PhD, ist geschäftsführende Vizepräsidentin und Leiterin der Abteilung Forschung und Entwicklung des Biotechnologie-Unternehmens Genentech, eine Tochtergesellschaft der Roche AG. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei Genentech war Regev Gründungsdirektorin des Klarman Cell Observatory am Broad Institute sowie Professorin für Biologie am MIT und Investigator am Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des Human Cell Atlas. Aviv Regev leistete Pionierarbeit bei der Entwicklung grundlegender experimenteller und bioinformatischer Methoden in der Einzelzellgenomik und ist führend in der Entschlüsselung molekularer Schaltkreise, die Zellen, Gewebe und Organe in Gesundheit und Krankheit steuern.

Für ihre herausragenden Forschungsarbeiten erhält Prof. Aviv Regev den Ernst Schering Preis 2021. Eine siebenköpfige Jury internationaler Wissenschaftler*innen hat Regevs Forschungsarbeiten unter 27 Nominierungen ausgewählt.

Aviv Regev wurde für den Ernst Schering Preis von Professor Geneviève Almouzni, Ehrendirektorin und Leiterin des Forschungsbereichs Chromatin Dynamics am Research Center des Institut Curie, Paris, vorgeschlagen. Geneviève Almouzni, die bei der Preisverleihung mit Aviv Regev ein Gespräch über ihre Forschungsleistung führen wird, sagt: „Aviv Regev ist eine der führenden Wissenschaftlerinnen ihrer Generation. Ihre Tatkraft und ihr Interesse sind ansteckend und sie inspiriert junge Generationen dank ihrer ausgeprägten Führungskompetenzen und ihrem Engagement im Mentoring von Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen. Ihre Beiträge im Bereich der Einzelzellgenomik, einschließlich der Gründung und Inspiration der internationalen Human Cell Atlas-Community, machen sie zur idealen Wahl für die Auszeichnung mit dem Ernst Schering Preis.“

 

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Schüler*innenvortrag: The Human Cell Atlas. Google Maps for the Human Body

08.09.2021
Aviv Regev

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (nicht öffentlich)

Public Scientific Lecture

Vortrag — 08.09.2021

This year's Ernst Schering Prize Laureate, Aviv Regev, will present her latest research results to a scientific audience.

Mehr erfahren

Preisverleihung 2021

Preisverleihung — 07.09.2021

Die Schering Stiftung verleiht der Bioinformatikerin Aviv Regev den Ernst Schering Preis. Die Ärztin und Nachwuchsgruppenleiterin Judith Feucht wird mit dem Friedmund Neumann Preis ausgezeichnet.

Mehr erfahren

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture

Vortrag — 07.09.2021

Aviv Regev präsentiert Ihre Forschung in einem Festvortrag anlässlich der Verleihung des Ernst Schering Preises.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

CV Aviv Regev

Datei laden

Public Lecture

im MPI für Molekulare Genetik

Datei laden

Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann ist Gründungsdirektor und Direktor der Abteilung für Immunologie des Max-Planck-Instituts für Infektionsbiologie in Berlin sowie Professor für Mikrobiologie und Immunologie am Charité Universitätsklinikum Berlin. Er studierte Biologie an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz, wo er mit summa cum laude promovierte. Die Habilitation im Fach Immunologie und Mikrobiologie folgte 1981 an der Freien Universität Berlin. Von 1987 bis 1991 war er Professor für medizinische Mikrobiologie und Immunologie und von 1991 bis 1998 Ordinarius für Immunologie an der Universität Ulm.

Schliessen

Pico Caroni ist seit 1995 Senior-Gruppenleiter am Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) for Biomedical Research und Professor für Neurobiologie am Biozentrum der Universität Basel. Er studierte Biochemie an der ETH Zürich und forschte anschließend über die Regeneration im Zentralnervensystem in der Arbeitsgruppe von Martin Schwab am Institut für Hirnforschung der Universität Zürich. Seit 1989 forscht er am FMI – zunächst als Junior-Gruppenleiter – über die Plastizität in definierten neuronalen Schaltkreisen und Systemen. Dabei interessieren ihn neben den Grundlagen von Lernen und Gedächtnis auch die Einflüsse von Genmutationen auf die Schaltkreise und die daraus resultierenden psychischen Störungen.

Schliessen

Britta Eickholt ist seit 2011 Professorin für Molekulare und Zelluläre Biochemie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Sie promovierte 1998 am Guy’s Hospital in London. In 2001 erhielt sie eine Lecturship am King’s College London und startete ihre eigene Forschungsgruppe am ‚MRC Centre for Developmental Neurobiology‘. Sie wurde 2010 zur Professorin für Molecular Neurobiology am King’s College ernannt, bevor sie ihrem Ruf in 2011 nach Berlin folgte. In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sich Britta Eickholt mit Mechanismen der Signaltranduktion, die dynamische Prozesse des Zytoskelett in neuronalen Zellen regulieren.

Schliessen

Carl-Henrik Heldin ist seit 1992 Professor für Molekulare Zellbiologie an der Universität Uppsala, Schweden. Von 1986 bis 2017 war er Direktor des Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin ist Vorsitzender der Nobelstiftung, des Science for Life Laboratory sowie der European Molecular Biology Organization. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt den Mechanismen der Signalübertragung durch Wachstumsregulationsfaktoren sowie ihre Normalfunktion und Rolle bei Erkrankungen. Ein wichtiges Ziel ist die Erforschung des möglichen klinischen Nutzens von Signaltransduktionsantagonisten.

Schliessen

Petra Knaus promovierte 1991 am Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg und wechselte dann für ihren Postdoc-Aufenhalt bis 1996 als Research Fellow und Associate ans Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Deutschland wurde sie Juniorgruppenleiterin am Biozentrum der Universität Würzburg. Dort gründete sie ihre eigene Forschungsgruppe mit dem Schwerpunkt BMP-Rezeption und Signaltransduktion. 2004 wurde sie Professorin für Biochemie – Signaltransduktion am Institut für Chemie und Biochemie der Freien Universität Berlin. 2010 wurde sie zur W3-Professorin für Biochemie – Signaltransduktion und Regeneration an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Charité ernannt. Hauptziel der Knaus-Gruppe ist es, die molekularen Mechanismen der BMP-Signaltransduktion zu verstehen und die gemeinsamen sowie unterschiedlichen mechanistischen Konzepte in verschiedenen Zell- und Gewebetypen zu identifizieren.

Schliessen

Hartmut Michel studierte Biochemie an der Universität Tübingen und München und wurde 1977 an der Universität Würzburg promoviert. 1986 folgte seine Habilitation an der Universität München. Seit 1987 ist er Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik in Frankfurt am Main und leitet dort die Abteilung für Molekulare Membranbiologie. Für die Aufklärung der dreidimensionalen Struktur des photosynthetischen Reaktionszentrums eines Purpurbakteriums erhielt er 1988 den Nobelpreis für Chemie – zusammen mit Johann Deisenhofer und Robert Huber.

Schliessen

Martin Oestreich ist seit 2011 Professor für Organische Chemie (Synthese & Katalyse) an der TU Berlin. Seine Berufung wurde durch eine Einstein-Professur der Einstein Stiftung Berlin unterstützt. Er studierte Chemie an den Universitäten Düsseldorf, Manchester und Marburg (1991–1996) und wurde an der Universität Münster promoviert (1996–1999). Nach einem Postdoktorat an der University of California at Irvine (1999–2001) habilitierte er sich an der Universität Freiburg (2001–2005). Von 2006 bis 2011 war Martin Oestreich Professor für Organische Chemie an der Universität Münster. Gastprofessuren führten ihn nach Cardiff (2005), Canberra (2010) und Kyoto (2018). Seine Forschungsinteressen reichen von homogener Katalyse mit Hauptgruppenelementen bis hin zur Aufklärung von Reaktionsmechanismen.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

30.09.2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Preis 2020

24.09.2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Preis 2019

26.09.2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram