Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Gisbert Schneider is Professor of Computer-Assisted Drug Design at the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at ETH Zurich. He is considered a pioneer in the field of targeted molecule design using machine learning methods.

Gisbert Schneider is Professor of Computer-Assisted Drug Design at the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at ETH Zurich. He is considered a pioneer in the field of targeted molecule design using machine learning methods.
Photo: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Petra and Gisbert Schneider with a 3D model of a protein for which potential active ingredients were designed with the aid of artificial intelligence. The researcher couple has been working together for over thirty years on the development and practical application of innovative computer methods for pharmaceutical research.

Petra and Gisbert Schneider with a 3D model of a protein for which potential active ingredients were designed with the aid of artificial intelligence. The researcher couple has been working together for over thirty years on the development and practical application of innovative computer methods for pharmaceutical research.
Photo: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Gisbert Schneider in conversation with a lab member and their “colleague computer.” The AI software developed by Schneider’s MODLAB team provides valuable suggestions for drug research. The intensive scientific discussions are an important precondition for gaining knowledge.

Gisbert Schneider in conversation with a lab member and their “colleague computer.” The AI software developed by Schneider’s MODLAB team provides valuable suggestions for drug research. The intensive scientific discussions are an important precondition for gaining knowledge.
Photo: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Gisbert Schneider with lab members at the Molecular Design Laboratory (MODLAB) at ETH Zurich. MODLAB develops new computer methods for medicinal chemistry and translates them into immediate practical application.

Gisbert Schneider with lab members at the Molecular Design Laboratory (MODLAB) at ETH Zurich. MODLAB develops new computer methods for medicinal chemistry and translates them into immediate practical application.
Photo: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Gisbert Schneider’s interdisciplinary working group at ETH Zurich brings together researchers from the computer sciences and the engineering and natural sciences.

Gisbert Schneider’s interdisciplinary working group at ETH Zurich brings together researchers from the computer sciences and the engineering and natural sciences.
Photo: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Gisbert Schneider

Ernst Schering Prize 2022

Gisbert Schneider

Ernst Schering Prize 2022


Gisbert Schneider is considered a pioneer in the field of targeted molecule design using machine learning methods. The biochemist and bioinformatician has broken new ground and advanced artificial intelligence (AI) to the point that it is now possible to reliably predict the efficacy of drugs. His method builds on the knowledge about known active ingredients, natural products, and their effects, and uses AI to develop new drug candidates with desired properties. Through his excellent research and his unflagging commitment to technology transfer, he was able to gain the trust of industry and thus lay the foundations for the use of these methods in modern biomedical practice. Already today, this technology enables a much more efficient identification of potential active ingredients, thus significantly increasing the chances of success when it comes to the development of new drugs.

Prof. Dr. Gisbert Schneider is Professor of Computer-​Assisted Drug Design at the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at ETH Zurich and director of the Singapore-ETH Center. For his outstanding research in the field of molecular design, especially the development of machine learning methods to predict drug activity, Gisbert Schneider receives the Ernst Schering Prize 2022. The transfer of this innovative concept into medicinal chemistry and chemical biology is recognized as an important contribution to the theory and practice of modern biomedicine.

Gisbert Schneider was nominated for the Ernst Schering Prize by the Office of the President of ETH Zurich. The head of the Strategic Foresight Hub at ETH Zurich, Dr. Chris Luebkeman, who will lead a conversation with the awardee about his research at the award ceremony, said: “Drug discovery is a long and laborious process. Gisbert Schneider recognized the potential of machine learning to accelerate the discovery of new medicinal agents and increase selection efficiency. His deep belief in and unwavering commitment to this new approach has led, on a sometimes unpopular path, to a paradigm shift in drug research. I am therefore very pleased that Schneider’s extraordinary achievements will be honored with the Ernst Schering Prize 2022.”

Read more

Side events 

Lecture to high-school students: Artificial intelligence in modern drug research

September 30, 2022

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (not open to the public)

Public Scientific Lecture

Lecture — September 29, 2022

This year's Ernst Schering Prize Laureate, Prof. Gisbert Schneider, will present his latest research results to a scientific audience.

Learn more

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture 2022

Lecture — September 29, 2022

Prof. Dr. Gisbert Schneider presents his research in the field of molecule design and the development of machine learning methods to predict drug activity.

Learn more

Award Ceremony 2022

Award ceremony — September 29, 2022

The Schering Stiftung awards the Ernst Schering Prize to the biochemist and bioinformatician Gisbert Schneider. The physician and research group leader Sarah Kim-Hellmuth will be awarded with the Friedmund Neumann Prize.

Learn more

Downloads 

Curriculum vitae

Prof. Dr. Gisbert Schneider

Download File

Ernst Schering Prize Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann is founding director and director of the Department of Immunology of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin and Professor for Microbiology and Immunology at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin. He received his Ph.D. in biology (“summa cum laude”) from Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and completed his habilitation in the field of immunology and microbiology at the Freie Universität Berlin in 1981. From 1987 until 1991, he was Professor for Medical Microbiology and Immunology, and from 1991 until 1998, he was Full Professor for Immunology at Ulm University.

Close

Pico Caroni has been a senior group leader at the Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) for Biomedical Research and a professor of neurobiology at the Biozentrum/The Center for Molecular Life Sciences at the University of Basel since 1995. He studied biochemistry at ETH Zürich and subsequently worked on regeneration in the central nervous system in Martin Schwab’s lab at the Brain Research Institute of the University of Zurich. Since 1989, Caroni has been a researcher at the FMI – first as a junior group leader – studying the plasticity of defined neuronal circuits and systems. He is interested not only in the fundamentals of learning and memory but also in the impact of gene mutations on the circuits and the resulting mental disorders.

Close

Carl-Henrik Heldin has, since 1992, been professor in Molecular Cell Biology at Uppsala University, Sweden. Between 1986 and 2017, he was the Branch Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin is the chair of the Boards of the Nobel Foundation, the Science for Life Laboratory, and the European Molecular Biology Organization. His research interest is related to the mechanisms of signal transduction by growth regulatory factors, as well as their normal function and role in disease. An important goal is to explore the possible clinical utility of signal transduction antagonists.

Close

Britta Eickholt has been Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry at the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin since 2011. She received her doctorate in 1998 at Guy's Hospital in London. In 2001, she received a lectureship at King's College London and started her own research group at the MRC Center for Developmental Neurobiology. She was appointed Professor of Molecular Neurobiology at King's College in 2010, before her move to Berlin in 2011. Her research focusses on the signaling mechanisms that regulate dynamic processes of the cytoskeleton in neuronal cells.

Close

Martin Oestreich has been Professor of Organic Chemistry (Synthesis & Catalysis) at TU Berlin since 2011. His appoitment was supported through an Einstein professorship by the Einstein Foundation Berlin. He studied chemistry at the Universities of Düsseldorf, Manchester, and Marburg (1991–1996) and received his doctoral degree at the University of Münster (1996–1999). After a postdoctoral stint at the University of California at Irvine (1999–2001), he completed his habilitation at the University of Freiburg (2001–2005). Martin Oestreich was Professor of Organic Chemistry at the University of Münster from 2006 until 2011. Visiting professorships took him to Cardiff (2005), Canberra (2010), and Kyoto (2018). His research interest range from homogeneous catalysis with main-group elements to elucidation of reaction mechanisms.

Close

Simone Schürle is researching in the field of biomedical engineering and Assistant Professor for Responsive Biomedical Systems at ETH Zurich. She graduated in 2009 from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Industrial Engineering and Management with specialization in micro/nanosystems. She then joined the Institute of Robotics and Intelligent Systems at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ) where she focused on magnetic manipulation techniques for biomedical applications. She was awarded with the ETH medal for her doctoral thesis and with fellowships from the SNSF, DAAD and the Society in Science for her postdoctoral studies at the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where she was researching as postdoctoral fellow from 2014-​2017. Besides activities in public outreach work and education, she is serving as Global Future Council for the World Economic Forum. She is also co-​founder of MagnebotiX, a young spin-​off from ETHZ.

Close

You might also be interested in

July 07, 2021

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Prize 2021

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Gisbert Schneider ist Professor für Computer-Assisted Drug Design am Institut für Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften der ETH Zürich. Er gilt als Pionier auf dem Gebiet des zielgerichteten Moleküldesigns mit maschinellen Lernmethoden.

Gisbert Schneider ist Professor für Computer-Assisted Drug Design am Institut für Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften der ETH Zürich. Er gilt als Pionier auf dem Gebiet des zielgerichteten Moleküldesigns mit maschinellen Lernmethoden.
Foto: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Petra und Gisbert Schneider mit dem dreidimensionalen Modell eines Proteins, für das potenzielle Arzneistoffe mittels künstlicher Intelligenz entworfen wurden. Das Forscherpaar arbeitet seit über 30 Jahren gemeinsam an der Entwicklung und praktischen Anwendung von innovativen Computermethoden für die pharmazeutische Forschung.

Petra und Gisbert Schneider mit dem dreidimensionalen Modell eines Proteins, für das potenzielle Arzneistoffe mittels künstlicher Intelligenz entworfen wurden. Das Forscherpaar arbeitet seit über 30 Jahren gemeinsam an der Entwicklung und praktischen Anwendung von innovativen Computermethoden für die pharmazeutische Forschung.
Foto: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Gisbert Schneider im Gespräch mit einem Mitarbeiter und dem „Kollegen Computer“. Die von Schneiders MODLAB Team entwickelte KI-Software liefert wertvolle Vorschläge für die Wirkstoffforschung. Die intensive wissenschaftliche Diskussion ist dabei eine wichtige Voraussetzung für den Erkenntnisgewinn.

Gisbert Schneider im Gespräch mit einem Mitarbeiter und dem „Kollegen Computer“. Die von Schneiders MODLAB Team entwickelte KI-Software liefert wertvolle Vorschläge für die Wirkstoffforschung. Die intensive wissenschaftliche Diskussion ist dabei eine wichtige Voraussetzung für den Erkenntnisgewinn.
Foto: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Gisbert Schneider mit Mitarbeiter:innen im Molecular Design Laboratory (MODLAB) an der ETH Zürich. Im MODLAB werden neue Computerverfahren für die medizinische Chemie entwickelt und in die unmittelbare praktische Anwendung überführt.

Gisbert Schneider mit Mitarbeiter:innen im Molecular Design Laboratory (MODLAB) an der ETH Zürich. Im MODLAB werden neue Computerverfahren für die medizinische Chemie entwickelt und in die unmittelbare praktische Anwendung überführt.
Foto: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

In Gisbert Schneiders interdisziplinärer Arbeitsgruppe an der ETH Zürich kommen Wissenschaftler:innen aus der Informatik und den Ingenieurs- und Naturwissenschaften zusammen.

In Gisbert Schneiders interdisziplinärer Arbeitsgruppe an der ETH Zürich kommen Wissenschaftler:innen aus der Informatik und den Ingenieurs- und Naturwissenschaften zusammen.
Foto: Daniel Winkler / ETH Zurich

Gisbert Schneider

Ernst Schering Preis 2022

Gisbert Schneider

Ernst Schering Preis 2022


Gisbert Schneider gilt als Vorreiter auf dem Gebiet des zielgerichteten Moleküldesigns mit maschinellen Lernmethoden. Der Biochemiker und Bioinformatiker hat neue Wege beschritten und die Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) so weit vorangetrieben, um heute zuverlässig die Wirksamkeit von Arzneistoffen vorherzusagen. Seine Methode baut dabei auf dem Wissen über bekannte Wirkstoffe, Naturstoffe und deren Wirkungen auf und entwirft mittels KI neue Arzneimittelkandidaten mit gewünschten Eigenschaften. Durch seine exzellente Forschungsleistung und seinen unermüdlichen Einsatz für den Technologietransfer konnte er erfolgreich das Vertrauen der Industrie gewinnen und so die Grundlage für den Einsatz dieser Methoden in der Praxis der modernen Biomedizin schaffen. Heute ermöglicht diese Technologie bereits eine vielfach effizientere Identifikation potenzieller Arzneistoffe und erhöht damit deutlich die Erfolgschancen bei der Entwicklung neuer Medikamente.

Gisbert Schneider ist Professor für Computer-​Assisted Drug Design am Institut für Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften der ETH Zürich und Direktor des Singapore-ETH Centre. Für seine herausragende Forschungsarbeiten auf dem Gebiet des Moleküldesigns, insbesondere der Entwicklung maschineller Lernmethoden zur Vorhersage der Aktivität pharmakologischer Wirkstoffe, erhält Gisbert Schneider den Ernst Schering Preis 2022. Der Transfer dieses innovativen Konzepts in die medizinische Chemie und chemische Biologie wird als ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Theorie und Praxis der modernen Biomedizin gewürdigt.

Gisbert Schneider wurde vom Stab des Präsidenten der ETH Zürich für den Ernst Schering Preis nominiert. Dr. Chris Luebkeman, Leiter des Strategic Foresight Hub im Präsidialstab der ETH Zürich, der bei der Verleihung mit dem Preisträger ein Gespräch zu seiner Forschungsleistung führen wird, sagt: „Die Entdeckung von Medikamenten ist ein langwieriger und mühsamer Prozess. Gisbert Schneider erkannte das Potenzial des maschinellen Lernens, um die Entdeckung neuer medizinischer Wirkstoffe zu beschleunigen und deren Auswahl effizienter zu gestalten. Seine tiefe Überzeugung und konsequent vorangetriebene Umsetzung dieses neuen Ansatzes führten auf einem bisweilen unpopulären Weg zu einem Paradigmenwechsel in der Arzneistoffforschung. Ich freue mich daher sehr, dass Schneiders außergewöhnliche Leistungen mit dem Ernst Schering Preis 2022 gewürdigt werden.“

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Schüler*innenvortrag: Künstliche Intelligenz in der modernen Arzneimittelforschung

30.09.2022

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (nicht öffentlich)

Public Scientific Lecture

Vortrag — 29.09.2022

This year's Ernst Schering Prize Laureate, Prof. Gisbert Schneider, will present his latest research results to a scientific audience.

Mehr erfahren

Ernst Schering Prize Lecture 2022

Vortrag — 29.09.2022

Prof. Dr. Gisbert Schneider präsentiert seine Forschung auf dem Gebiet des Moleküldesigns und der Entwicklung maschineller Lernmethoden zur Vorhersage der Aktivität pharmakologischer Wirkstoffe.

Mehr erfahren

Preisverleihung 2022

Preisverleihung — 29.09.2022

Die Schering Stiftung verleiht dem Biochemiker und Bioinformatiker Gisbert Schneider den Ernst Schering Preis. Die Ärztin und Forschungsgruppenleiterin Sarah Kim-Hellmuth erhält den Friedmund Neumann Preis.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Prof. Dr. Gisbert Schneider

Datei laden

Ernst Schering Preis Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann ist Gründungsdirektor und Direktor der Abteilung für Immunologie des Max-Planck-Instituts für Infektionsbiologie in Berlin sowie Professor für Mikrobiologie und Immunologie am Charité Universitätsklinikum Berlin. Er studierte Biologie an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz, wo er mit summa cum laude promovierte. Die Habilitation im Fach Immunologie und Mikrobiologie folgte 1981 an der Freien Universität Berlin. Von 1987 bis 1991 war er Professor für medizinische Mikrobiologie und Immunologie und von 1991 bis 1998 Ordinarius für Immunologie an der Universität Ulm.

Schliessen

Pico Caroni ist seit 1995 Senior-Gruppenleiter am Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) for Biomedical Research und Professor für Neurobiologie am Biozentrum der Universität Basel. Er studierte Biochemie an der ETH Zürich und forschte anschließend über die Regeneration im Zentralnervensystem in der Arbeitsgruppe von Martin Schwab am Institut für Hirnforschung der Universität Zürich. Seit 1989 forscht er am FMI – zunächst als Junior-Gruppenleiter – über die Plastizität in definierten neuronalen Schaltkreisen und Systemen. Dabei interessieren ihn neben den Grundlagen von Lernen und Gedächtnis auch die Einflüsse von Genmutationen auf die Schaltkreise und die daraus resultierenden psychischen Störungen.

Schliessen

Carl-Henrik Heldin ist seit 1992 Professor für Molekulare Zellbiologie an der Universität Uppsala, Schweden. Von 1986 bis 2017 war er Direktor des Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin ist Vorsitzender der Nobelstiftung, des Science for Life Laboratory sowie der European Molecular Biology Organization. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt den Mechanismen der Signalübertragung durch Wachstumsregulationsfaktoren sowie ihre Normalfunktion und Rolle bei Erkrankungen. Ein wichtiges Ziel ist die Erforschung des möglichen klinischen Nutzens von Signaltransduktionsantagonisten.

Schliessen

Britta Eickholt ist seit 2011 Professorin für Molekulare und Zelluläre Biochemie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Sie promovierte 1998 am Guy’s Hospital in London. In 2001 erhielt sie eine Lecturship am King’s College London und startete ihre eigene Forschungsgruppe am ‚MRC Centre for Developmental Neurobiology‘. Sie wurde 2010 zur Professorin für Molecular Neurobiology am King’s College ernannt, bevor sie ihrem Ruf in 2011 nach Berlin folgte. In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sich Britta Eickholt mit Mechanismen der Signaltranduktion, die dynamische Prozesse des Zytoskelett in neuronalen Zellen regulieren.

Schliessen

Martin Oestreich ist seit 2011 Professor für Organische Chemie (Synthese & Katalyse) an der TU Berlin. Seine Berufung wurde durch eine Einstein-Professur der Einstein Stiftung Berlin unterstützt. Er studierte Chemie an den Universitäten Düsseldorf, Manchester und Marburg (1991–1996) und wurde an der Universität Münster promoviert (1996–1999). Nach einem Postdoktorat an der University of California at Irvine (1999–2001) habilitierte er sich an der Universität Freiburg (2001–2005). Von 2006 bis 2011 war Martin Oestreich Professor für Organische Chemie an der Universität Münster. Gastprofessuren führten ihn nach Cardiff (2005), Canberra (2010) und Kyoto (2018). Seine Forschungsinteressen reichen von homogener Katalyse mit Hauptgruppenelementen bis hin zur Aufklärung von Reaktionsmechanismen.

Schliessen

Simone Schürle forscht auf dem Gebiet der Biomedizintechnik und ist Assistenzprofessorin für Responsive Biomedizinische Systeme an der ETH Zürich. Sie schloss ihr Studium 2009 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie in Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit dem Schwerpunkt Mikro/Nanosysteme ab. Danach wechselte sie an die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ), wo sie sich mit magnetischen Manipulationstechniken für biomedizinische Anwendungen beschäftigte. Für ihre Doktorarbeit erhielt sie die ETH-Medaille und für ihre Postdocs am Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research am Massachusetts Institute of Technology, wo sie von 2014-2017 als Postdoc forschte, Stipendien vom SNF, DAAD und der Society in Science. Neben Aktivitäten in der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Bildung ist sie als Global Future Council für das Weltwirtschaftsforum tätig. Sie ist auch Mitbegründerin von MagnebotiX, einem jungen Spin-off der ETHZ.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

07.07.2021

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Preis 2021

30.09.2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Preis 2020

24.09.2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Preis 2019

26.09.2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram