Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer

Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer

Prof. Cramer and his team

Prof. Cramer and his team
Photo: Irene Böttcher-Gajewski

Prof. Cramer and his team

Prof. Cramer and his team
Photo: Marcus Mueller-Saran

Cramers lab at MPI Göttingen

Cramers lab at MPI Göttingen

Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen

Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen
Photo: pht-airpicture.de/Michael Mehle

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019


Professor Patrick Cramer is Director at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen. Over the last two decades he has studied the atomic structure of RNA polymerase and many of its complexes with partner molecules, contributing to the development of several experimental methods of analysis. In addition to elucidating many detailed structures, he was able to show how our genetic information is regulated and used in cells. It was through his research that many basic principles of the transcription process and its regulation could be understood and made visible, leading to improved research on cancer growth, which involves the deregulated transcription of the genetic material.

For his outstanding research, Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer is awarded the 2019 Ernst Schering Prize. A seven-member selection committee composed of international scientists chose Cramer’s research from among 38 nominations.

He was nominated by Prof. Dr. Thanos Halazonetis from the University of Geneva and Prof. Dr. Peter Rehling from the University Medical Center in Göttingen. “Professor Patrick Cramer has made outstanding contributions to our understanding of transcription. His studies have illuminated how transcription works at the atomic level, so that we can now literally “see” how genes are transcribed,” says Halazonetis.

Professor Rehling, who gives the introductory speech at the award ceremony, says: “Patrick Cramer is an outstanding scientist. I am delighted that his groundbreaking discoveries are honored with the Ernst Schering Prize. Cramer’s laboratory provided unique insights into the transcription process. His research lays the foundations for a better understanding of the molecular mechanisms of gene expression.”

Read more

Side events 

Lecture to high-school students: How Genes Function

September 25, 2019
Patrick Cramer

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (not open to the public)

Scientific public lecture: Mechanisms of transcription regulation

September 25, 2019, 2–3:30 p.m.
Patrick Cramer

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine
Berlin Institute for Medical Systems Biology (BIMSB)
Room R 0.61
Hannoversche Str. 28 | 10115 Berlin
in English | No registration required

Media library

Gallery — September 24, 2019

Ernst Schering Prize and Friedmund Neumann Prize

Award Ceremony 2018

Go to images
Video — September 02, 2019

Patrick Cramer - Portrait

September 2019

Go to video

Award Ceremony 2019 

Award ceremony — September 24, 2019

Schering Stiftung awards Ernst Schering Prize to the molecular biologist Patrick Cramer. The bioinformatician Johannes Köster will be awarded with the Friedmund Neumann Prize.

Learn more

Downloads 

Invitation Card Award Ceremony

Download File

Invitation Card Public Lecture

Download File

CV Patrick Cramer

Download File

Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann is founding director and director of the Department of Immunology of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin and Professor for Microbiology and Immunology at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin. He received his Ph.D. in biology (“summa cum laude”) from Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and completed his habilitation in the field of immunology and microbiology at the Freie Universität Berlin in 1981. From 1987 until 1991, he was Professor for Medical Microbiology and Immunology, and from 1991 until 1998, he was Full Professor for Immunology at Ulm University.

Close

Pico Caroni has been a senior group leader at the Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) for Biomedical Research and a professor of neurobiology at the Biozentrum/The Center for Molecular Life Sciences at the University of Basel since 1995. He studied biochemistry at ETH Zürich and subsequently worked on regeneration in the central nervous system in Martin Schwab’s lab at the Brain Research Institute of the University of Zurich. Since 1989, Caroni has been a researcher at the FMI – first as a junior group leader – studying the plasticity of defined neuronal circuits and systems. He is interested not only in the fundamentals of learning and memory but also in the impact of gene mutations on the circuits and the resulting mental disorders.

Close

Britta Eickholt has been Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry at the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin since 2011. She received her doctorate in 1998 at Guy's Hospital in London. In 2001, she received a lectureship at King's College London and started her own research group at the MRC Center for Developmental Neurobiology. She was appointed Professor of Molecular Neurobiology at King's College in 2010, before her move to Berlin in 2011. Her research focusses on the signaling mechanisms that regulate dynamic processes of the cytoskeleton in neuronal cells.

Close

Carl-Henrik Heldin has, since 1992, been professor in Molecular Cell Biology at Uppsala University, Sweden. Between 1986 and 2017, he was the Branch Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin is the chair of the Boards of the Nobel Foundation, the Science for Life Laboratory, and the European Molecular Biology Organization. His research interest is related to the mechanisms of signal transduction by growth regulatory factors, as well as their normal function and role in disease. An important goal is to explore the possible clinical utility of signal transduction antagonists.

Close

Petra Knaus received her Ph.D. at the Center for Molecular Biology in Heidelberg in 1991. As a Research Fellow and Associate, she did her Postdoctoral Training at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA, until 1996. After her return to Germany, she was Junior Group Leader at the Biocenter in Würzburg. There she established her own lab with a focus on BMP receptor biology and signal transduction. In 2004 she became Full Professor for Biochemistry – Signaltransduction at the Institute for Chemistry and Biochemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin. In 2010 she received a W3 Professorship for Biochemistry – Signaltransduction and Regeneration at the Freie Universität Berlin and Charité. The interest of the Knaus lab is to understand the molecular mechanism of BMP signal transduction, and to identify common and distinct mechanistic concepts in different cell and tissue environments.

Close

Hartmut Michel studied Biochemistry at the Universities of Tübingen and Munich. He completed his doctoral degree at the University of Würzburg in 1977 and habilitated in 1988 at the University of Munich. Since 1987 he is Director at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysics at Frankfurt/Main, where he leads the Department for Molecular Membrane Biology. In 1988, Hartmut Michel was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, together with Johannes Deisenhöfer and Robert Huber, for their investigation of the molecular structure of the photosynthesis reaction center in the rhodopseudomonas viridis bacterium.

Close

Martin Oestreich has been Professor of Organic Chemistry (Synthesis & Catalysis) at TU Berlin since 2011. His appoitment was supported through an Einstein professorship by the Einstein Foundation Berlin. He studied chemistry at the Universities of Düsseldorf, Manchester, and Marburg (1991–1996) and received his doctoral degree at the University of Münster (1996–1999). After a postdoctoral stint at the University of California at Irvine (1999–2001), he completed his habilitation at the University of Freiburg (2001–2005). Martin Oestreich was Professor of Organic Chemistry at the University of Münster from 2006 until 2011. Visiting professorships took him to Cardiff (2005), Canberra (2010), and Kyoto (2018). His research interest range from homogeneous catalysis with main-group elements to elucidation of reaction mechanisms.

Close

You might also be interested in

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

September 28, 2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Prize 2015

September 23, 2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Prize 2014

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer

Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer

Prof. Cramer und sein Team

Prof. Cramer und sein Team
Foto: Irene Böttcher-Gajewski

Prof. Cramer und sein Team

Prof. Cramer und sein Team
Foto: Marcus Mueller-Saran

Patrick Cramers Labor am MPI in Göttingen

Patrick Cramers Labor am MPI in Göttingen

Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen

Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen
Foto: pht-airpicture.de/Michael Mehle

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Preis 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Preis 2019


Professor Patrick Cramer ist Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen. In den letzten zwanzig Jahren hat er den atomaren Aufbau der RNA-Polymerase und vieler ihrer Partnermoleküle erfasst. Dabei trug er zur Entwicklung spezieller Analyseverfahren bei. Neben der Aufklärung vieler detaillierter Strukturen zeigte er, wie unsere genetische Information in Zellen reguliert und genutzt wird. Durch seine Forschung konnten die grundlegenden Prinzipien des Transkriptionsprozesses und seiner Regulation verstanden und sichtbar gemacht werden. So können Krankheiten wie Krebs, bei denen die Transkription des Genmaterials fehlgesteuert ist, besser erforscht werden.

Für seine herausragenden Forschungsarbeiten erhält Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer den Ernst Schering Preis 2019. Eine siebenköpfige Jury internationaler Wissenschaftler*innen hat Cramers Forschungsarbeiten unter 38 Nominierungen herausgestellt.

Professor Cramer wurde für den Ernst Schering Preis von Prof. Dr. Thanos Halazonetis von der Universität Genf und von Prof. Dr. Peter Rehling von der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen vorgeschlagen. „Professor Patrick Cramer hat einen herausragenden Beitrag zu unserem Verständnis von Transkription geleistet. Seine Studien haben gezeigt, wie die Transkription auf atomarer Ebene funktioniert, so dass wir heute buchstäblich ’sehen‘ können, wie Gene transkribiert werden,“ erläutert Professor Halazonetis seine Nominierung.

Professor Rehling, der die Laudatio anlässlich der Preisverleihung hält, sagt: „Patrick Cramer ist ein herausragender Wissenschaftler. Ich freue mich, dass seine bahnbrechenden Entdeckungen mit dem Ernst Schering Preis gewürdigt werden. Wir verdanken Patrick Cramer einzigartige Einblicke in den Prozess der Transkription. Seine Arbeiten stellen die Grundlage für ein besseres Verständnis der molekularen Mechanismen der Genexpression dar.“

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Schülervortrag: Wie Gene funktionieren

25.09.2019
Patrick Cramer

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (nicht öffentlich)

Öffentliche wissenschaftliche Vorlesung: Mechanisms of transcription regulation

25.09.2019, 14–15:30 Uhr
Patrick Cramer

Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin
Berlin Institute for Medical Systems Biology (BIMSB)
Raum R 0.61
Hannoversche Str. 28 | 10115 Berlin
in Englisch | ohne Anmeldung

Video

Patrick Cramer - Portrait

September 2019

Mediathek besuchen

Preisverleihung 2019 

Preisverleihung — 24.09.2019

Die Schering Stiftung verleiht dem Molekularbiologen Patrick Cramer den Ernst Schering Preis. Der Bioinformatiker Johannes Köster wird mit dem Friedmund Neumann Preis ausgezeichnet.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Einladungskarte Preisverleihung

Datei laden

Einladungskarte Öffentliche Vorlesung

Datei laden

CV Patrick Cramer

Datei laden

Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann ist Gründungsdirektor und Direktor der Abteilung für Immunologie des Max-Planck-Instituts für Infektionsbiologie in Berlin sowie Professor für Mikrobiologie und Immunologie am Charité Universitätsklinikum Berlin. Er studierte Biologie an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz, wo er mit summa cum laude promovierte. Die Habilitation im Fach Immunologie und Mikrobiologie folgte 1981 an der Freien Universität Berlin. Von 1987 bis 1991 war er Professor für medizinische Mikrobiologie und Immunologie und von 1991 bis 1998 Ordinarius für Immunologie an der Universität Ulm.

Schliessen

Pico Caroni ist seit 1995 Senior-Gruppenleiter am Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) for Biomedical Research und Professor für Neurobiologie am Biozentrum der Universität Basel. Er studierte Biochemie an der ETH Zürich und forschte anschließend über die Regeneration im Zentralnervensystem in der Arbeitsgruppe von Martin Schwab am Institut für Hirnforschung der Universität Zürich. Seit 1989 forscht er am FMI – zunächst als Junior-Gruppenleiter – über die Plastizität in definierten neuronalen Schaltkreisen und Systemen. Dabei interessieren ihn neben den Grundlagen von Lernen und Gedächtnis auch die Einflüsse von Genmutationen auf die Schaltkreise und die daraus resultierenden psychischen Störungen.

Schliessen

Britta Eickholt ist seit 2011 Professorin für Molekulare und Zelluläre Biochemie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Sie promovierte 1998 am Guy’s Hospital in London. In 2001 erhielt sie eine Lecturship am King’s College London und startete ihre eigene Forschungsgruppe am ‚MRC Centre for Developmental Neurobiology‘. Sie wurde 2010 zur Professorin für Molecular Neurobiology am King’s College ernannt, bevor sie ihrem Ruf in 2011 nach Berlin folgte. In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sich Britta Eickholt mit Mechanismen der Signaltranduktion, die dynamische Prozesse des Zytoskelett in neuronalen Zellen regulieren.

Schliessen

Carl-Henrik Heldin ist seit 1992 Professor für Molekulare Zellbiologie an der Universität Uppsala, Schweden. Von 1986 bis 2017 war er Direktor des Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin ist Vorsitzender der Nobelstiftung, des Science for Life Laboratory sowie der European Molecular Biology Organization. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt den Mechanismen der Signalübertragung durch Wachstumsregulationsfaktoren sowie ihre Normalfunktion und Rolle bei Erkrankungen. Ein wichtiges Ziel ist die Erforschung des möglichen klinischen Nutzens von Signaltransduktionsantagonisten.

Schliessen

Petra Knaus promovierte 1991 am Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg und wechselte dann für ihren Postdoc-Aufenhalt bis 1996 als Research Fellow und Associate ans Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Deutschland wurde sie Juniorgruppenleiterin am Biozentrum der Universität Würzburg. Dort gründete sie ihre eigene Forschungsgruppe mit dem Schwerpunkt BMP-Rezeption und Signaltransduktion. 2004 wurde sie Professorin für Biochemie – Signaltransduktion am Institut für Chemie und Biochemie der Freien Universität Berlin. 2010 wurde sie zur W3-Professorin für Biochemie – Signaltransduktion und Regeneration an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Charité ernannt. Hauptziel der Knaus-Gruppe ist es, die molekularen Mechanismen der BMP-Signaltransduktion zu verstehen und die gemeinsamen sowie unterschiedlichen mechanistischen Konzepte in verschiedenen Zell- und Gewebetypen zu identifizieren.

Schliessen

Hartmut Michel studierte Biochemie an der Universität Tübingen und München und wurde 1977 an der Universität Würzburg promoviert. 1986 folgte seine Habilitation an der Universität München. Seit 1987 ist er Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik in Frankfurt am Main und leitet dort die Abteilung für Molekulare Membranbiologie. Für die Aufklärung der dreidimensionalen Struktur des photosynthetischen Reaktionszentrums eines Purpurbakteriums erhielt er 1988 den Nobelpreis für Chemie – zusammen mit Johann Deisenhofer und Robert Huber.

Schliessen

Martin Oestreich ist seit 2011 Professor für Organische Chemie (Synthese & Katalyse) an der TU Berlin. Seine Berufung wurde durch eine Einstein-Professur der Einstein Stiftung Berlin unterstützt. Er studierte Chemie an den Universitäten Düsseldorf, Manchester und Marburg (1991–1996) und wurde an der Universität Münster promoviert (1996–1999). Nach einem Postdoktorat an der University of California at Irvine (1999–2001) habilitierte er sich an der Universität Freiburg (2001–2005). Von 2006 bis 2011 war Martin Oestreich Professor für Organische Chemie an der Universität Münster. Gastprofessuren führten ihn nach Cardiff (2005), Canberra (2010) und Kyoto (2018). Seine Forschungsinteressen reichen von homogener Katalyse mit Hauptgruppenelementen bis hin zur Aufklärung von Reaktionsmechanismen.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

26.09.2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram