Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Marcus Steinweg

Marcus Steinweg
Photo: Schering Stiftung

Marcus Steinweg holding a lecture at Schering Stiftung

Marcus Steinweg holding a lecture at Schering Stiftung
Photo: Schering Stiftung

DAS REALE DENKEN

Lecture by Marcus Steinweg

DAS REALE DENKEN

Lecture by Marcus Steinweg

Date:

June 12, 2018, 6 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

The lecture will be held in German.


Asked about his motivation for his new exhibition DELPHI Rationale, Philipp Lachenmann told Inge Pett from art-in-berlin: “My goal is to break open science and add an irrational moment.” But what does irrationality mean? Is there even a counterpart to reality which is associated with supposed certainties? Ambiguously titled “DAS REALE DENKEN” (THINKING THE REAL/REAL THINKING), the lecture by philosopher and artist Marcus Steinweg at the Schering Stiftung will look at Philipp Lachenmann’s exhibition from a philosophical point of view.

The Real is Jacques Lacan’s name for the inconsistency point of reality. It marks a hole that cannot be closed. All thinking that starts to mistrust the promise of consistency, which we call reality, circles around this hole. Scientific as well as artistic and philosophical thinking consent to this circling dynamics. They know that knowledge is not everything. To actually or really think, one needs to embrace the Real that indicates the flawed nature of all systems of knowledge.

Marcus Steinweg is one of the most renowned philosophers in Germany. He teaches art and theory at the State Academy of Fine Arts Karlsruhe and has lectured at prestigious institutions both in Germany and abroad. He began to study philosophy in Freiburg in the 1990s but quit his studies to “think for himself” rather than reproduce canonical knowledge. While doing a number of ordinary jobs, he began to write books, including his debut “Frakturen” (Fractures) which was shown as an art object in an exhibition at the Museum Lange in Krefeld. This way, Steinweg found his way into the art world. He wrote texts for exhibitions and finally studied art. For many years, he has collaborated with the artists Thomas Hirschhorn and Rosemarie Trockel. In December 2017, he completed his dissertation on the topic of “Subjekt und Wahrheit” (Subject and Truth) at the HFBK University of Fine Arts Hamburg. Marcus Steinweg is co-editor, with Wilfried Dickhoff, of the journal “Inaesthetics” (Merve Verlag, Berlin), which focuses on topics at the intersection of art and philosophy.

Read more

Philipp Lachenmann 

Exhibition — April 13 – June 24, 2018

The latest video installation of the Berlin-based conceptual artist is his most ambitious film production to date and filmed inside the DELPHI particle detector at CERN in Geneva.

Learn more

You might also be interested in

May 29, 2018

The Unseen Universe

Lecture by Tara Shears and music by Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Marcus Steinweg

Marcus Steinweg
Foto: Schering Stiftung

Marcus Steinweg zu Gast in der Schering Stiftung

Marcus Steinweg zu Gast in der Schering Stiftung
Foto: Schering Stiftung

DAS REALE DENKEN

Vortrag von Marcus Steinweg

DAS REALE DENKEN

Vortrag von Marcus Steinweg

Termin:

12.06.2018, 18 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

Der Vortrag findet in deutscher Sprache statt.


Zur Motivation für seine neue Ausstellung DELPHI Rationale befragt, antwortet Philipp Lachenmann in einem Beitrag von Inge Pett auf art-in-berlin: „Mein Ziel ist es, die Wissenschaft aufzubrechen und ihr ein irrationales Moment hinzuzufügen.“ Was aber bedeutet Irrationalität? Gibt es überhaupt ein Gegenstück zur Realität, die mit vermeintlichen Gewissheiten assoziiert wird? Unter dem ambivalenten Vortragstitel „DAS REALE DENKEN“ wird der Philosoph und Künstler Marcus Steinweg in der Schering Stiftung sprechen und Philipp Lachenmanns Ausstellung unter philosophischen Gesichtspunkten beleuchten.

Das Reale ist Jacques Lacans Name für den Inkonsistenzpunkt der Realität. Es markiert ein Loch, das sich nicht schließen lässt. Um dieses Loch kreist alles Denken, das dem Konsistenzversprechen, das wir Wirklichkeit nennen, zu misstrauen beginnt. Sowohl das wissenschaftliche wie das künstlerische und philosophische Denken willigen in diese Umkreisungsdynamik ein. Sie wissen, dass Wissen nicht alles ist. Um wirklich oder real zu denken, geht es darum, sich dem Realen zuzuwenden, das die Rissigkeit sämtlicher Wissenssysteme indiziert.

Marcus Steinweg gehört zu den anerkanntesten deutschen Philosophen. Er unterrichtet Kunst und Theorie an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Karlsruhe und hält Vorträge an renommierten Institutionen im In- und Ausland. In den 1990-er Jahren begann er ein Philosophiestudium in Freiburg, das er jedoch aufgab, um „selbst zu denken“ statt anerkanntes Wissen zu reproduzieren. Parallel zu einfachen Jobs begann er Bücher zu schreiben, darunter sein Debüt „Frakturen“, das als Kunstobjekt auf einer Ausstellung im Museum Lange in Krefeld gezeigt wurde. Dies ebnete Steinweg den Weg in den Kunstbetrieb: Er schrieb Texte für Ausstellungen und studierte schließlich selbst Kunst. Seit vielen Jahren arbeitet er mit dem Künstler Thomas Hirschhorn und der Künstlerin Rosemarie Trockel zusammen. Im Dezember 2017 promovierte er zum Thema „Subjekt und Wahrheit“ an der HFBK Hamburg. Marcus Steinweg gibt gemeinsam mit Wilfried Dickhoff im Berliner Merve Verlag die Zeitschrift „Inaesthetics“ heraus, die sich Themen an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Philosophie widmet.

Weiterlesen

Philipp Lachenmann 

Ausstellung — 13.04. – 24.06.2018

Die bislang aufwendigste Filmproduktion, des in Berlin lebenden Konzeptkünstlers, wurde im DELPHI Partikeldetektor am CERN in Genf gedreht.

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

29.05.2018

The Unseen Universe

Vortrag von Tara Shears und Musik von Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube