Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Tara Shears

Tara Shears
Photo: © Wynne McCoy

Pandit Ranajit Sengupta,

Pandit Ranajit Sengupta, "Within You Without You"
Photo: © Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

The Unseen Universe

Lecture by Tara Shears and music by Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

The Unseen Universe

Lecture by Tara Shears and music by Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the DELPHI particle detector at CERN in Geneva. DELPHI was one of four large detectors on the Large Electron-Positron Collider (LEP), the world’s largest particle accelerator. The LEP began operation in August 1989, opening a new chapter in the history of particle physics. As part of the exhibition DELPHI Rationale, the Schering Stiftung has invited the physicist Tara Shears (University of Liverpool) to give an introduction to particle physics at the foundation’s Project Space on May 29, 2018, at 6 p.m. The evening will also feature a musical performance by the Indian sarod player Pandit Ranajit Sengupta, who will be accompanied by Sandip Ghosh on the tabla.

The video work DELPHI Rationale is Philipp Lachenmann’s most ambitious film production to date, for which the artist was allowed to film in the decommissioned DELPHI particle detector only for a few hours. The DELPHI experiments were discontinued around the turn of the millennium to make way for the particle accelerator Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and a new experiment, Large Hadron Collider beauty (LHCb).

Tara Shears (*1969) was one of the physicists who joined the Large Hadron Collider beauty LHCb experiment, in 2004. Shears is a Professor of Particle Physics at the University of Liverpool, with an interest in electroweak physics. Following her PhD in Particle Physics, she received many fellowships and grants, including the Royal Society Research Fellowship with the University of Liverpool in 2000 to continue her studies at the Collider Detector at Fermilab (CDF), USA. Her current research at CERN, as part of the LHCb experiment, includes testing the limits of the Standard Model. In her lecture “The Unseen Universe” at the Schering Stiftung, she will give insight into the work done at LHCb and provide an introduction to particle physics.

One of Tara Shears’s main concerns is how to communicate highly complex scietific concerns to the public. She therefore gives numerous talks covering subjects such as general information on particle physics, experimental systems such as the Large Hadron Collider, the CERN laboratory, as well as latest discoveries and highly complex research subjects such as the Higgs boson, antimatter or dark matter. Furthermore, she writes and collaborates with artists (including Christoph Keller and Yunchul Kim) and novelists to explore different ways of understanding concepts related to particle physics. She is also involved in creating exhibits about these subjects. More detailed information about her projects can be obtained from her website.

The film DELPHI Rationale by Philipp Lachenmann stages the DELPHI particle detector as a “backdrop” for the Indian sarod player Ranajit Sengupta, who improvises a morning raga.

Pandit Ranajit Sengupta is one of the most renowned Indian sarod players and composers and has been an internationally sought-after performer for more than 20 years. In addition to directing several ensembles, Sengupta is a composer and is regularly invited as a guest conductor and guest lecturer. He has received numerous awards and fellowships, including Fellow of the Ministry of Culture of the Government of India. During the lecture evening, he will improvize an evening raga, accompanied by the tabla player Sandip Ghosh.

Read more

DAS REALE DENKEN 

Philipp Lachenmann 

Lecture — June 12, 2018

Ambiguously titled “DAS REALE DENKEN” (THINKING THE REAL/REAL THINKING), the lecture by philosopher Marcus Steinweg will look at Philipp Lachenmann’s exhibition "DELPHI Rationale" from a philosophical point of view.

Learn more
Exhibition — April 13 – June 24, 2018

The latest video installation of the Berlin-based conceptual artist is his most ambitious film production to date and filmed inside the DELPHI particle detector at CERN in Geneva.

Learn more

You might also be interested in

June 12, 2018

DAS REALE DENKEN

Lecture by Marcus Steinweg

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Tara Shears

Tara Shears
Foto: © Wynne McCoy

Pandit Ranajit Sengupta,

Pandit Ranajit Sengupta, "Within You Without You"
Foto: © Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

The Unseen Universe

Vortrag von Tara Shears und Musik von Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

The Unseen Universe

Vortrag von Tara Shears und Musik von Pandit Ranajit Sengupta

Für seine Videoarbeit DELPHI Rationale filmte der Künstler Philipp Lachenmann im DELPHI-Teilchendetektor am Europäischen Kernforschungszentrum CERN in Genf. DELPHI war einer von vier Hauptdetektoren des Large Electron-Positron Collider (LEP), des weltweit größten Teilchenbeschleunigers. Mit der Inbetriebnahme des LEP im August 1989 eröffnete sich ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte der Teilchenphysik. Als Rahmenprogramm zur Ausstellung DELPHI Rationale in ihrem Projektraum hat die Schering Stiftung die Physikerin Tara Shears (Universität Liverpool) eingeladen, am 29. Mai 2018, um 18 Uhr, eine Einführung in die Teilchenphysik zu geben. Der Abend wird musikalisch gestaltet durch den indischen Sarod-Spieler Pandit Ranajit Sengupta, begleitet von Sandip Ghosh auf der Tabla.

Die Videoarbeit DELPHI Rationale ist die bislang aufwendigste Filmproduktion von Philipp Lachenmann, für die der Künstler nur wenige Stunden im stillgelegten DELPHI-Partikeldetektor drehen konnte. Nachdem die Versuche im DELPHI Detektor um die Jahrtausendwende eingestellt wurden, musste dieser Platz machen für den Teilchenbeschleuniger Large Hadron Collider (LHC) und ein neues Experiment, Large Hadron Collider beauty (LHCb).

Tara Shears (*1969) ist seit 2004 eine der an dem LHCb-Experiment beteiligten PhysikerInnen. Sie ist Professorin für Teilchenphysik an der Universität Liverpool; ihr besonderes Interesse gilt der elektroschwachen Physik. Nach Abschluss ihrer Promotion in Teilchenphysik erhielt sie zahlreiche Stipendien und Forschungsförderungen, u. a. ein Royal Society Research Fellowship an der Universität Liverpool (2000), um ihre Studien am Collider Detector at Fermilab (CDF), USA, fortzusetzen. Aktuell erforscht sie im Rahmen des LHCb-Experiments am CERN unter anderem die Grenzen des Standardmodells der Teilchenphysik. In ihrem Vortrag „The Unseen Universe“ (Das unsichtbare Universum) in der Schering Stiftung gibt sie Einblicke in die Arbeit des LHCb und eine Einführung in die Teilchenphysik.

Ein Hauptanliegen von Tara Shears ist es, hochkomplexe wissenschaftliche Zusammenhänge einem breiteren Publikum zu vermitteln. Aus diesem Grund hält sie zahlreiche Vorträge zu diversen Themen, darunter allgemeine Einführungen in die Teilchenphysik sowie Vorträge über experimentelle Systeme wie der Large Hadron Collider, das CERN-Labor oder neueste Entdeckungen bzw. hochkomplexe Forschungsthemen wie das Higgs-Boson, Antimaterie oder dunkle Materie. Darüber hinaus publiziert und kooperiert sie mit Schriftstellern und bildenden Künstlern (u. a. Christoph Keller und Yunchul Kim), um verschiedene Wege zum Verständnis von Konzepten der Teilchenphysik auszuloten. Sie beteiligt sich auch an der Konzeption von Ausstellungen zu diesen Themen. Mehr Informationen über ihre Projekte finden sich auf ihrer Website.

Der Film DELPHI Rationale von Philipp Lachenmann inszeniert den DELPHI Partikeldetektor als „Kulisse“ für den indischen Sarod-Spieler Ranajit Sengupta, der dort einen Morgen-Raga improvisiert.

Pandit Ranajit Sengupta ist einer der renommiertesten indischen Sarod-Spieler und Komponisten und seit mehr als 20 Jahren ein weltweit gefragter Interpret. Neben seiner Leitung mehrerer Ensembles ist Sengupta Komponist und wird regelmäßig international als Gastdirigent und -dozent eingeladen. Er wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen und Stipendien ausgezeichnet, u. a. war er Fellow des indischen Kultusministeriums. Für den Vortragsabend wird er, begleitet von dem Tabla-Spieler Sandip Ghosh, einen Abendraga improvisieren.

Weiterlesen

DAS REALE DENKEN 

Philipp Lachenmann 

Vortrag — 12.06.2018

Unter dem ambivalenten Vortragstitel „DAS REALE DENKEN“ wird der Philosoph Marcus Steinweg in der Schering Stiftung Philipp Lachenmanns Ausstellung "DELPHI Rationale" unter philosophischen Gesichtspunkten beleuchten.

Mehr erfahren
Ausstellung — 13.04. – 24.06.2018

Die bislang aufwendigste Filmproduktion, des in Berlin lebenden Konzeptkünstlers, wurde im DELPHI Partikeldetektor am CERN in Genf gedreht.

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.06.2018

DAS REALE DENKEN

Vortrag von Marcus Steinweg

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram