Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Manic VR

Manic VR
Photo: Kalina Bertin

Bipolar

An Evening of Lectures on Manic-Depressive Disorders

Manic VR
Photo: Kalina Bertin

Bipolar

An Evening of Lectures on Manic-Depressive Disorders

Date:

March 11, 2019, 5:30–7:15 p.m.

Venue:

Psychiatrische Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig Krankenhaus (Kesselhaus)
Große Hamburger Straße 5–11
10115 Berlin

The event is open to the public.
Specialized prior knowledge is not required.
Without registration | No admission

Recommended event: Presentation of “Manic VR”
March 11–17, 2019
Daily from 1 to 7 p.m.
at the Project Space of the Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32- 34, 10117 Berlin


Bipolar affective disorder is a serious mood disorder characterized by manic and depressive mood swings. Generally, it is not just the ill persons themselves who are affected by the disorder, but also their families and their social environment. Many relatives, friends or colleagues do not comprehend the experiental world of the ill person and do not know how best to deal with those affected by the disorder. And yet it is this very knowledge that helps maintain the relationship to the ill person throughout all phases of the disease.

The Schering Stiftung, in cooperation with the Psychiatric University Hospital Charité at St. Hedwig Hospital and the International Psychoanalytical University Berlin, thus organizes an evening of public lectures on bipolar disorders.

Prof. Dr. Med. Dorothea von Haebler, attending physician at the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the Charité Berlin and a professor at the International Psychoanalytic University Berlin, will give an introduction to the symptoms and progress of the disorder and provide insights into the causes and treatment options from a psycho-dynamic perspective.

Professor von Haebler about her lecture: Researchers assume that in addition to biological factors, social and pyschological factors also play a role in causing bipolar disorder. Seen from a psychodynamic perspective, the patients often have great difficulty processing insults, disappointments and sometimes also successes in adequate ways. Regulating one’s self-esteem is thus the basic difficulty, which is also called self-worth dilemma.
Psychodynamic psychotherapy improves the patients’ ability to cognitively process disappointing and humiliating experiences and helps them develop new tools for processing difficult situations emotionally. The roller-coaster ride between heaven and hell thus can develop into a self-directed ride with familiar traffic rules for both the patients and those around them.

The lecture by Professor von Haebler will be in German.

The second speaker will be the Canadian filmmaker Kalina Bertin. She has drawn on her sister Felicia and her brother François’s experiences with bipolar disorder to develop a documentary film as well as a virtual reality experience which provides insight into the complex world of mental illness. As a story-teller, how does one transition from working with a linear narrative to an interactive narrative in VR? How does embodiment and interactivity impact a user’s take-away from a story? What are the ethics of representing mental illness? What is the potential of VR in the field of psychiatric treatment? Kalina Bertin will be discussing the creative process of crafting “ManicVR” as well as addressing VR as an emerging tool to treat mental illness.

The lecture by Kalina Bertin will be in English.

Read more

Manic VR 

Exhibition — March 11 – March 17, 2019

Kalina Bertin presents her virtual reality project “Manic VR” at the Project Space of the Schering Stiftung. The project enables viewers to explore the world of manic depression from within.

Learn more

Download 

Flyer: Lecture Evening on Bipolar Disorders

Download File

The speakers 

Kalina Bertin is a filmmaker based in Montreal. After completing her degree in film production at the Université du Québec à Montréal, she quickly realized that if she didn’t set out to understand the mental illness in her family it would destroy her. This process gave birth to her award-winning documentary film “Manic,” which explores the legacy of bipolar disorder in her family and had its world premiere in 2017. “Manic” has been acclaimed by audiences across the world, from the Moscow International Film Festival to the Montreal International Documentary Film Festival.
Aiming to build empathy and awareness toward bipolar disorder, Kalina then went on to direct “ManicVR,” a virtual reality experience which enables the viewer to explore the world of manic depression from within. Kalina is currently working on her next documentary film.

Close

Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the Charité Berlin, a professor at the International Psychoanalytic University Berlin where she also directs the Master’s program in “Interdisciplinary Psychosis Therapy,” and she has her own psychotherapeutic practice.
Her teaching focus is on needs-based, interprofessional and open-process psychosis therapy, psychodynamic psychotherapy of psychosis, and the theoretical and neuroscientific foundations of the phenomenon of psychosis.
Professor von Haebler’s current researchfocuses on the development of a manual on modified psychodynamic psychotherapy in people with psychoses. In addition, she conducts, in cooperation with the Charité, a randomized-controlled impact study on modified psychodynamic psychotherapy in patients with schizophrenia (MPP-S study).

Close

Partners 

A cooperation of the Schering Stiftung, the Psychiatric University Hospital of the Charité in St. Hedwig Hospital and the International Psychoanalytic University Berlin on the occassion of the Brain Awareness Week Berlin 2019

Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig-Krankenhaus
International Psychoanalytic University Berlin
Brain Awareness Week Berlin

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Manic VR

Manic VR
Foto: Kalina Bertin

Bipolar

Ein Vortragsabend über manisch-depressive Störungen

Manic VR
Foto: Kalina Bertin

Bipolar

Ein Vortragsabend über manisch-depressive Störungen

Termin:

11.03.2019, 17:30–19:15 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Psychiatrische Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig Krankenhaus (Kesselhaus)
Große Hamburger Straße 5–11
10115 Berlin

Die Veranstaltung ist öffentlich.
Ein spezialisiertes Vorwissen ist nicht erforderlich.
Ohne Anmeldung | Eintritt frei

Tipp: Präsentation von „Manic VR“
11.–17. März 2019
täglich von 13 bis 19 Uhr
im Projektraum der Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32- 34, 10117 Berlin


Die bipolare affektive Störung ist eine schwere psychische Erkrankung, die durch manische und depressive Stimmungsschwankungen charakterisiert ist. Meist ist nicht nur die erkrankte Person selbst von der Störung beeinträchtigt, sondern auch ihr familiäres und soziales Umfeld. Vielen Angehörigen, Freunden oder Arbeitskollegen fehlt das Verständnis für die Erlebniswelt der Erkrankten und sie wissen nicht, wie sie am besten mit den Betroffenen umgehen sollen. Doch gerade dieses Wissen hilft, die Beziehung zu dem oder der Betroffenen über alle Krankheitsphasen hinweg aufrecht zu halten.

Die Schering Stiftung veranstaltet deshalb in Kooperation mit der Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig-Krankenhaus und der International Psychoanalytic University Berlin einen öffentlichen Vortragsabend über bipolare Störungen.

Frau Prof. Dr. med. Dorothea von Haebler, Oberärztin an der Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie der Charité Berlin und Professorin an der International Psychoanalytic University Berlin, gibt eine Einführung in die Symptome und den Verlauf der Erkrankung und öffnet unseren Blick für die Ursachen und Behandlungsmöglichkeiten aus psychodynamischer Perspektive.

Frau Professor von Haebler über ihren Vortrag: In der Forschung wird davon ausgegangen, dass bei der Verursachung der bipolaren Störung neben biologischen auch soziale und psychologische Faktoren eine Rolle spielen. Bei den von der Erkrankung betroffenen Menschen bestehen aus psychodynamischer Sicht meist große Schwierigkeiten, Kränkungen, Enttäuschungen und manchmal auch Erfolge adäquat zu verarbeiten. Die Regulation des Selbstwertgefühls ist damit die grundsätzliche Schwierigkeit, welche auch als Selbstwertdilemma bezeichnet wird.
In der psychodynamischen Psychotherapie wird die eigene Wahrnehmungsfähigkeit von Enttäuschungen und Kränkungen verbessert und die Betroffenen werden dabei unterstützt, neue Werkzeuge zur emotionalen Verarbeitung von schwierigen Situationen zu entwickeln. Die Achterbahnfahrt zwischen Himmel und Hölle vor allem für die Betroffenen, aber auch für ihr Umfeld, kann sich dann zum selbstgesteuerten Fahren mit bekannten Verkehrsregeln entwickeln.

Der Vortrag von Frau Professor von Haebler findet in deutscher Sprache statt.

Anschließend ist die kanadische Filmemacherin Kalina Bertin zu Gast. Bertin hat die Erfahrungen ihrer Schwester Felicia und ihres Bruders François mit der bipolaren Störung zum Anlass genommen, neben einem Dokumentarfilm auch ein Virtual-Reality-Projekt zu entwickeln, welches Einblicke in die komplexe Welt dieser psychischen Erkrankung bietet. Wie schafft man als Geschichtenerzählerin den Sprung von einer linearen Erzählweise zu einer interaktiven VR-Erzählung? Wie beeinflussen Verkörperung und Interaktivität das Lernerlebnis der Nutzer? Welche ethischen Grundsätze gelten bei der Darstellung einer psychischen Erkrankung? Welches Potential hat VR für die psychiatrische Behandlung? Kalina Bertin spricht über den kreativen Prozess bei der Entwicklung von „ManicVR“ und über VR als angehendes Instrument bei der Behandlung von psychischen Erkrankungen.

Der Vortrag von Kalina Bertin findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Weiterlesen

Manic VR 

Ausstellung — 11.03. – 17.03.2019

Kalina Bertin präsentiert im Projektraum der Schering Stiftung ihr Virtual Reality-Projekt „Manic VR“ und ermöglicht den ZuschauerInnen, die Welt der manischen Depression von innen heraus zu erforschen.

Mehr erfahren

Download 

Flyer zum Vortragsabend über Bipolare Störungen

Datei laden

Die Sprecherinnen 

Kalina Bertin lebt als Filmemacherin in Montreal. Nach Abschluss ihres Studiums der Filmproduktion an der Université du Québec à Montréal wurde ihr schnell bewusst, dass sie entweder mehr über die psychische Erkrankung in ihrer Familie herausfinden musste oder daran kaputtgehen würde. Aus diesem Prozess heraus entstand ihr mehrfach ausgezeichneter Dokumentarfilm „Manic“, in dem sie die Auswirkungen der bipolaren Störung auf ihre Familie beleuchtet. Der 2017 uraufgeführte Film wurde u.a. auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival Moskau und dem Internationalen Dokumentarfilmfestival in Montreal gezeigt und stieß weltweit auf große Zustimmung.
Mit dem Ziel, Empathie und Bewusstsein für bipolare Störungen aufzubauen, drehte Kalina daraufhin „ManicVR“, ein Virtual-Reality-Projekt, das es dem Zuschauer ermöglicht, die Welt der manischen Depression von innen heraus zu erfahren. Kalina arbeitet aktuell an ihrem nächsten Dokumentarfilm.

Schliessen

Dorothea von Haebler ist Oberärztin an der Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie der Chariteì Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Professorin und Leiterin des weiterbildenden Masterstudienganges „Interdisziplinäre Psychosentherapie“ der International Psychoanalytic University Berlin sowie Psychotherapeutin in eigener Praxis.

In der Lehre liegen ihre Schwerpunkte in der bedarfsgerechten, berufsgruppenübergreifenden und verfahrensoffenen Psychosentherapie, der psychodynamischen Psychosenpsychotherapie sowie der Vermittlung theoretischer und neurowissenschaftlicher Grundlagen des Phänomens Psychose.

In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sich Frau Professor von Haebler aktuell mit der  Entwicklung eines Manuals zur modifizierten psychodynamischen Psychotherapie von Menschen mit Psychosen. Zudem führt sie die randomisiert-kontrollierte Wirksamkeitsstudie über die modifizierte psychodynamische Psychotherapie bei Patient*innen mit Schizophrenie (MPP-S Studie) in Kooperation mit der Charité durch.

Schliessen

Partner 

Eine Kooperation der Schering Stiftung, der Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig-Krankenhaus und der International Psychoanalytic University Berlin im Rahmen der Brain Awareness Week Berlin 2019

Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig-Krankenhaus
International Psychoanalytic University Berlin
Brain Awareness Week Berlin

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram