Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

Manic VR

Manic VR
Photo: Kalina Bertin

Manic VR

Manic VR
Photo: Kalina Bertin

Manic VR

Manic VR
Photo: Kalina Bertin

Kalina Bertin

Kalina Bertin
Photo: Diana Le Nézet

Manic VR

A Virtual Journey through the Phases of Bipolar Disorder

Manic VR

A Virtual Journey through the Phases of Bipolar Disorder

Duration:

March 11 – March 17, 2019

Opening hours:

Monday through Sunday, 1–7 p.m.
Free entrance

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

The VR project can be experienced only by one visitor at a time (duration about 15 min). As a result, there may be waiting times.
The presentation is in English.

Related events of interest:
March 11, 2019, 5:30 p.m., Psychiatric University Hospital of the Charité in St. Hedwig Hospital
Public lecture evening on bipolar disorders


Bipolar affectiv disorder is a serious mood disorder characterized by manic and depressive mood swings. The Canadian filmmaker Kalina Bertin has drawn on the illness of her sister Felicia and her brother François to develop a documentary film as well as a virtual reality project, which provides viewers with insights into the experiential world of those affected by the disorder. At the invitation of the Schering Stiftung, Kalina Bertin presents the virtual reality project at the Foundation’s Project Space.

Guided by Felicia’s and François’s voices, the visitors set out on a journey through the always same phases of bipolar disorder: mania, psychosis, and depression. They get an intimate insight into the constantly changing realities and states that are part of the typical symptoms of manic depression.

The multi-platform project “Manic” comprises feature-length documentary and the presented virtual reality project. For more information about the project and the award-winning documentary (available as “video on demand”), please visit: www.kalinabertin.com

Credits
Original title: Manic VR
Country: Canada
Year: 2018
Language: English
Runtime: 11 min
Technique: VR-Experience
Color: Colour
Director: Kalina Bertin
Producer: Sandra Rodriguez, EyeSteelFilm_Creative Reality, Dpt.
Concept: Kalina Bertin, Sandra Rodriguez, Fred Casia, Nicolas S. Roy (Dpt.)
Music: David Drury
Sound: David Drury, Cory Rizos
Coding: Josquin Zabka (Dpt.), Alexandre Bordereau (Dpt.), Paul Georges (Dpt.)
3D artist: Hugo Forget

Read more

Bipolar 

Lecture — March 11, 2019

Bipolar disorder is a mental illness characterized by manic and depressive mood swings. What are the symptoms? What can modern-day psychotherapy achieve? And how can we better understand those affected?

Learn more

Video

Trailer "Manic VR" by Kalina Bertin

Visit the media library

Video

Manic VR Walkthrough

Visit the media library

Guests about Manic VR 

"I have been living with bipolar II and this film captured all my anxieties. Thank you for making this film."

"Manic is the most effective use of VR as a medium I’ve seen."

"Wow, as someone who has multiple family members who suffer from bipolar disorders this was a beautiful and deeply emotional experience. I can’t believe what you have been able to create! The audience really feels the highs and lows of the journey."

Partners 

A cooperation of the Schering Stiftung, the Psychiatric University Hospital of the Charité in St. Hedwig Hospital and the International Psychoanalytic University Berlin on the occassion of the Brain Awareness Week Berlin 2019

Psychiatric University Hospital of the Charité in St. Hedwig Hospital
International Psychoanalytic University Berlin
Brain Awareness Week Berlin

About the filmmaker 

Kalina Bertin is a filmmaker based in Montreal. After completing her degree in film production at the Université du Québec à Montréal, she quickly realized that if she didn’t set out to understand the mental illness in her family it would destroy her. This process gave birth to her award-winning documentary film “Manic,” which explores the legacy of bipolar disorder in her family and had its world premiere in 2017. “Manic” has been acclaimed by audiences across the world, from the Moscow International Film Festival to the Montreal International Documentary Film Festival.
Aiming to build empathy and awareness toward bipolar disorder, Kalina then went on to direct “ManicVR,” a virtual reality experience which enables the viewer to explore the world of manic depression from within. Kalina is currently working on her next documentary film.

Close

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

Manic VR

Manic VR
Foto: Kalina Bertin

Manic VR

Manic VR
Foto: Kalina Bertin

Manic VR

Manic VR
Foto: Kalina Bertin

Kalina Bertin

Kalina Bertin
Foto: Diana Le Nézet

Manic VR

Eine virtuelle Reise durch die Phasen einer bipolaren Störung

Manic VR

Eine virtuelle Reise durch die Phasen einer bipolaren Störung

Laufzeit:

11.03. – 17.03.2019

Öffnungszeiten:

Montag bis Sonntag, 13–19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

Das VR-Projekt kann immer nur von einem Besucher erlebt werden (Dauer ca. 15 min). Daher kann es leider zu Wartezeiten kommen.

Die Präsentation ist in englischer Sprache.

Beitrag im DeutschlandFunk Kultur vom 16.03.2019


Die bipolare affektive Störung ist eine schwere psychische Erkrankung, die durch manische und depressive Stimmungsschwankungen charakterisiert ist. Die kanadische Filmemacherin Kalina Bertin hat die Erkrankung ihrer beiden Geschwister Felicia und François zum Anlass genommen und neben einem Dokumentarfilm ein Virtual Reality-Projekt entwickelt, das den Zuschauer*innen einen Einblick in die Erlebniswelt von Erkrankten bietet. Auf Einladung der Schering Stiftung präsentiert Kalina Bertin das Virtual Reality-Projekt nun im stiftungseigenen Projektraum.

Begleitet von den Stimmen von Felicia und François, begibt sich der Besucher darin auf eine Reise durch die immer gleichen Phasen einer bipolaren Störung: Manie, Psychose und Depression. Er erhält einen intimen Einblick in die sich ständig verändernden Realitäten und Zustände, die zum typischen Krankheitsbild einer manischen Depression gehören.

Das Projekt ermöglicht es den Besuchern, die erhöhte Sinneswahrnehmung, die poetischen Halluzinationen und die schönen, aber beängstigenden Fantasien, welche manische Depressionen begleiten können, zu sehen und zu erleben. Diese immersive Erfahrung zielt darauf ab, das Bewusstsein zu schärfen und Empathie für die realen, gelebten Bedingungen der bipolaren Störung aufzubauen. „Manic VR“ erzählt eine nichtfiktionale Geschichte – mithilfe von 3-D-Animationen, poetischer Visualisierung und Room-Scale-Interaktion.

Das Multi-Plattform-Projekt „Manic“ umfasst einen abendfüllenden Dokumentarfilm und das hier gezeigte Virtual-Reality-Projekt. Ausführliche Informationen über das Projekt und den international mehrfach ausgezeichneten Dokumentarfilm (erhältlich als „video on demand“) sind hier erhältlich: www.kalinabertin.com/

Credits
Originaltitel: Manic VR
Land: Kanada
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: englisch
Laufzeit: 11 min
Technik: VR-Experience
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Kalina Bertin
Produktion: Sandra Rodriguez, EyeSteelFilm_Creative Reality, Dpt.
Konzept: Kalina Bertin, Sandra Rodriguez, Fred Casia, Nicolas S. Roy (Dpt.)
Musik: David Drury
Ton: David Drury, Cory Rizos
Coding: Josquin Zabka (Dpt.), Alexandre Bordereau (Dpt.), Paul Georges (Dpt.)
3D Artist: Hugo Forget

Weiterlesen

Bipolar 

Vortrag — 11.03.2019

Die bipolare Störung ist eine psychische Erkrankung mit manischen und depressiven Stimmungsschwankungen. Welche Symptome gibt es? Was leistet die moderne Psychotherapie? Und wie können wir Erkrankte besser verstehen?

Mehr erfahren

Video

Trailer "Manic VR" von Kalina Bertin

Mediathek besuchen

Video

Manic VR Walkthrough

Mediathek besuchen

Gäste über Manic VR 

"I have been living with bipolar II and this film captured all my anxieties. Thank you for making this film."

"Manic is the most effective use of VR as a medium I’ve seen."

"Wow, as someone who has multiple family members who suffer from bipolar disorders this was a beautiful and deeply emotional experience. I can’t believe what you have been able to create! The audience really feels the highs and lows of the journey."

Partner 

Eine Kooperation der Schering Stiftung, der Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig-Krankenhaus und der International Psychoanalytic University Berlin im Rahmen der Brain Awareness Week Berlin 2019

Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik der Charité im St. Hedwig-Krankenhaus
International Psychoanalytic University Berlin
Brain Awareness Week Berlin

Die Filmemacherin 

Kalina Bertin lebt als Filmemacherin in Montreal. Nach Abschluss ihres Studiums der Filmproduktion an der Université du Québec à Montréal wurde ihr schnell bewusst, dass sie entweder mehr über die psychische Erkrankung in ihrer Familie herausfinden musste oder daran kaputtgehen würde. Aus diesem Prozess heraus entstand ihr mehrfach ausgezeichneter Dokumentarfilm „Manic“, in dem sie die Auswirkungen der bipolaren Störung auf ihre Familie beleuchtet. Der 2017 uraufgeführte Film wurde u.a. auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival Moskau und dem Internationalen Dokumentarfilmfestival in Montreal gezeigt und stieß weltweit auf große Zustimmung.
Mit dem Ziel, Empathie und Bewusstsein für bipolare Störungen aufzubauen, drehte Kalina daraufhin „ManicVR“, ein Virtual-Reality-Projekt, das es dem Zuschauer ermöglicht, die Welt der manischen Depression von innen heraus zu erfahren. Kalina arbeitet aktuell an ihrem nächsten Dokumentarfilm.

Schliessen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram