Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Photo: Ekamelev, unsplash

Smell in the Anthropocene: An Insect Perspective

Lecture and Talk

Photo: Ekamelev, unsplash

Smell in the Anthropocene: An Insect Perspective

Lecture and Talk

Date:

May 06, 2019, 6–7:30 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Lecture and talk will be in English.

Registration is required (please see the form below).

Please note:
On May 6, 2019, the exhibition closes at 4 p.m.


More or less all insects are heavily dependent on their sense of smell to find mates, food and oviposition sites, and to avoid enemies and harmful microbes. This trajectory of evolution has equipped them with an outstanding sense of smell that surpasses most other animals. But today we see a great decline in insect populations. That’s a serious problem also for humankind as we depend heavily on ecosystem services provided by insects, e.g. as pollinators and decomposers or as natural enemies of other, less beneficial insects.

In his lecture Prof. Dr. Bill S. Hansson, Head of the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena, will talk about the highly developed sense of smell of insects and how it allows them to go about their lives but also how they can be exploited. He will also present a study initiated by his department that examines how human activities – in the age of Anthropocene – affect the chemical language of insects. In particular he takes into account the effects of ozone, carbon dioxide and nitric oxides.

The lecture takes place as part of the exhibition “22 – Molecular Communication” by the artist Sissel Tolaas, which will be on view at the Schering Stiftung from April 11 to June 24, 2019.

For years, Sissel Tolaas has increasingly focused on ecological themes. How do smell landscapes change in the Anthropocene? How do the ubiquitous dirt and debris affect our individual and social lives in the big metropolises? In their conversation, Sissel Tolaas and Bill Hansson will discuss the impact of the Anthropocene on human and animal smell and behavior.

Read more

Sissel Tolaas: 22 – Molecular Communication 

Interdisciplinary Workshop on the subject of smell 

Exhibition — April 11 – June 24, 2019

Sissel Tolaas, smell researcher and artist, maps and collects in an archive smells from all over the world. For the exhibition "22 – Molecular Communication" she investigates the smell of Müllerstraße in Wedding, Berlin.

Learn more
Workshop — February 08, 2019

The Schering Stiftung took the shared interest of scientists, artists, and creatives in smell as an opportunity for an interdisciplinary workshop.

Learn more

The speakers 

Bill S. Hansson is a Swedish neuroethologist. He studied biology at the University of Lund. After his PhD in ecology and a postdoctoral stay in the United States, he became Professor for Chemical Ecology, first in Lund and, beginning in 2001, at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences in Alnarp. In 2006, he was appointed Director at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena, and Scientific Member of the Max Planck Society. Head of the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology, Bill Hansson focuses on neurophysiological and behavioral aspects of interactions between insects and their host plants. His main research interest is insect olfaction: How do insects detect odors, how is semiochemical information processed in the insect brain, and how does olfaction affect insect behavior?
In 2010 the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena appointed him Honorary Professor. Since 2014, he is the Vice President of the Max Planck Society.

Close

Sissel Tolaas studied chemistry, art, linguistics, and mathematics in Oslo, Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Oxford. Since the 1990s, she has developed various smell archives and for seven years underwent an intensive smell training. One of her first urban olfactory research projects was presented at the 3rd Berlin Biennale in 2004. For that, Tolaas systematically researched and recreated the smells of the Mitte, Kreuzberg, Neukölln, Reinickendorf, and Charlottenburg neighborhoods of Berlin.
Shortly afterwards, she founded the Smell Re_search Lab, which is still located in Berlin-Wilmersdorf and is supported by the international company IFF (International Flavors and Fragrances).
Tolaas calls herself a “professional in-betweener” and is at home both in science and in art. She took part in the Art & Science project “Synthetic Aesthetics,” worked with scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics to develop a vocabulary to give precise verbal expression to smells, and has shown her work worldwide, including most recently at the Riga Biennale (2018), the Museum of Modern Art (2016/2010), the Hamburger Bahnhof (2017/2004), the Museum Tinguely (2015) and the Stiftung Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary in Vienna (2017–19).

Close

You might also be interested in

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Foto: Yegor Kamelev @ unplash

Geruch im Anthropozän: aus dem Blickwinkel von Insekten

Vortrag und Gespräch

Foto: Yegor Kamelev @ unplash

Geruch im Anthropozän: aus dem Blickwinkel von Insekten

Vortrag und Gespräch

Termin:

06.05.2019, 18–19:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Vortrag und Gespräch finden in englischer Sprache statt.

Eine Anmeldung ist erforderlich (Formular unten).

Bitte beachten Sie:
Am 6. Mai 2019 schließt die Ausstellung vorzeitig um 16 Uhr.


So gut wie alle Insekten sind stark von ihrem Geruchssinn abhängig, um Geschlechtspartner, Nahrung und Eiablageplätze zu finden und um Feinden und schädlichen Mikroben aus dem Weg zu gehen. Die Evolution hat sie mit einem herausragenden Geruchssinn ausgestattet, der dem der meisten anderen Tiere überlegen ist. Heute haben wir es allerdings mit einem starken Rückgang der Insektenpopulationen zu tun. Das stellt auch ein ernsthaftes Problem für die Menschheit dar, da wir stark von den Ökosystemdienstleistungen abhängig sind, die Insekten als Bestäuber oder Zersetzer sowie als natürliche Feinde anderer, weniger nützlicher Insekten erbringen.

In seinem Vortrag wird Prof. Dr. Bill S. Hansson, Leiter der Abteilung für Evolutionäre Neuroethologie am Max-Planck-Institut für chemische Ökologie in Jena, über den hochentwickelten Geruchssinn von Insekten sprechen und darüber, wie dieser ihr Leben bestimmt, sie aber auch verwundbar macht. Er wird zudem eine von seiner Abteilung initiierte Studie vorstellen, die untersucht, inwiefern menschliche Aktivitäten – im Zeitalter des Anthropozän – die chemische Sprache der Insekten beeinflussen. Dabei geht es v.a. um die Auswirkungen von Ozon, CO2 und Stickoxiden.

Der Vortrag findet anlässlich der Ausstellung „22 – Molecular Communication“ der Künstlerin Sissel Tolaas statt, die vom 11. April bis 24. Juni 2019 in der Schering Stiftung zu sehen ist.

Seit Jahren widmet sich Sissel Tolaas verstärkt ökologischen Themen. Wie verändern sich Geruchslandschaften im Anthropozän? Wie wirken sich allgegenwärtiger Schmutz und Unrat auf das Leben und soziale Miteinander in den großen Metropolen aus? In einem gemeinsamen Gespräch diskutieren Sissel Tolaas und Bill Hansson die Konsequenzen des Anthropozän für das menschliche sowie tierische Riechen und Verhalten.

Weiterlesen

Online-Anmeldung

Reservieren Sie sich einen Platz

Senden Sie uns mit wenigen Klicks ihre Reservierung und erhalten Sie alle relevanten Informationen zur Veranstaltung.

 

Es wurden leider nicht alle notwendigen Felder ausgefüllt.

Vielen Dank, Ihre Anmeldung wurde erfolgreich versendet!

Beim Absenden des Formulars ist ein Fehler aufgetreten.

Platz reservieren

Sissel Tolaas: 22 – Molecular Communication 

Interdisziplinärer Workshop zum Thema Geruch 

Ausstellung — 11.04. – 24.06.2019

Die Geruchsforscherin und Künstlerin Sissel Tolaas kartografiert und archiviert Gerüche auf der ganzen Welt. Für die Ausstellung „22 – Molecular Communication“ ermittelt sie den Duft der Müllerstraße im Wedding.

Mehr erfahren
Workshop — 08.02.2019

Das gemeinsame Interesse von Wissenschaftler*innen und Kulturschaffenden am Geruch nahm die Schering Stiftung zum Anlass für einen interdisziplinären Workshop.

Mehr erfahren

Die Sprecher*innen 

Bill S. Hansson ist ein schwedischer Neuroethologe. Er studierte Biologie an der Universität Lund. Nach der Promotion in Ökologie und einem Postdoc-Aufenthalt in den USA wurde er Professor für chemische Ökologie, zuerst in Lund und ab 2001 an der Schwedischen Landwirtschaftlichen Universität in Alnarp. 2006 wurde er als Wissenschaftliches Mitglied der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft an das Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Ökologie in Jena berufen. Als Direktor der Abteilung Evolutionäre Neuroethologie untersucht er die neurophysiologischen und verhaltensrelevanten Aspekte der Wechselwirkungen zwischen Insekten und ihren Wirtspflanzen. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Fragen, wie Insekten Düfte aufspüren und in ihrem Gehirn weiterverarbeiten und wie die Geruchswahrnehmung ihr Verhalten steuert.
Seit 2010 ist Bill S. Hansson zudem Honorarprofessor an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena und seit 2014 Vizepräsident der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft.

Schliessen

Sissel Tolaas studierte Chemie, Bildende Kunst, Linguistik und Mathematik in Oslo, Moskau, St. Petersburg und Oxford. Seit den 1990er Jahren baute sie diverse Geruchsarchive auf und unterzog sich sieben Jahre lang einem intensiven Geruchstraining. Eines ihrer ersten urbanen olfaktorischen Forschungsprojekte wurde im Jahr 2004 auf der 3. Berlin Biennale ausgestellt. Tolaas hatte dafür systematisch die Gerüche der Berliner Stadtteile Mitte, Kreuzberg, Neukölln, Reinickendorf und Charlottenburg erforscht und nachgebaut.
Kurze Zeit später gründete sie das Smell Re_search Lab, das sich bis heute in Berlin-Wilmersdorf befindet und von dem internationalen Konzern IFF (International Flavors and Fragrances) unterstützt wird.
Tolaas bezeichnet sich als „professional in-betweener“ und ist in der Wissenschaft ebenso Zuhause wie in der Kunst. Sie war Teil des Art & Science-Projektes „Synthetic Aesthetics“, arbeitete mit Wissenschaftler*innen des Max-Planck-Instituts für Psycholinguistik an einem Vokabular zur präzisen Verbalisierung von Gerüchen und zeigte ihre Arbeit weltweit, darunter zuletzt auf der Riga Biennale (2018), im Museum of Modern Art (2016 / 2010), im Hamburger Bahnhof (2017 / 2004), im Museum Tinguely (2015) oder in der Stiftung Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary in Wien (2017-19).

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube