Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Dr. Fritz Ulffers‘s Camphor Laboratory

Dr. Fritz Ulffers‘s Camphor Laboratory
Photo: Schering Archives, Bayer AG

Retorts and round-bottomed flasks. The history of Schering AG

Dr. Fritz Ulffers‘s Camphor Laboratory
Photo: Schering Archives, Bayer AG

Retorts and round-bottomed flasks. The history of Schering AG

Date:

May 23, 2019, 6–7:30 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Lectures in German
Registration is required (please see the form below).

Please note:
On May 23, 2019, the exhibition closes already at 4 p.m.


In the exhibition “22 – Molecular Communication” by Sissel Tolaas at the Schering Stiftung the fragrances of Müllerstraße are presented in a staged laboratory environment. The equipment for this comes from the stock of the chemical and pharmaceutical company Schering, which was active in Müllerstraße. The history of Schering AG is explained through the question of how they found their way into the exhibition, and placed in the context of Berlin’s industrial history.

As speakers we welcome Professor Joseph Hoppe, Deputy Director and René Spierling, Head of the Natural Science and Metrology Collection at Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin. In cooperation with the Schering Stiftung, the museum has been presenting the exhibition “Pills and Pipettes. The Chemical-Pharmaceutical Industry, Using the Example of Schering” since 2010 and houses the collection of the former Scheringianum of the Schering AG.

Smell in the Anthropocene

Lecture — May 06, 2019

The lecture and conversation evening focuses on smells and the sense of smell as well as the impact of the Anthropocene on human and animal smell and behavior.

Learn more

Sissel Tolaas: 22 – Molecular Communication

Exhibition — April 11 – June 24, 2019

Sissel Tolaas, smell researcher and artist, maps and collects in an archive smells from all over the world. For the exhibition "22 – Molecular Communication" she investigates the smell of Müllerstraße in Wedding, Berlin.

Learn more

PILLS AND PIPETTES

Exhibition — May 17, 2010

“Our modern civilization comes out of the lab!” – this is the thesis proposed by the curators of the exhibition PILLS AND PIPETTES at the German Museum of Technology.

Learn more

The speakers 

Professor Joseph Hoppe studied history, pedagogy and historical anthropology in Marburg and Berlin. Since 1987 at the Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin; first as curator for communications, printing and paper technology, later as coordinator of the museum's exhibitions. Curator and project manager of numerous exhibitions on the cultural history of technology. Since 2008 deputy director of the Stiftung Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin, since 2014 also head of the scientific service.
Since 2011, in cooperation with the Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft (University of Applied Sciences), foundation and development of the Berlin Centre for Industrial Culture bzi as a centre of excellence for urban history, development and tourism.
Numerous publications and lectures on the history of Berlin industrial culture, media history and general museum practice.

Close

After completing his studies in Oldenburg, René Spierling, who holds a degree in biology, began working as a scientific trainee at the Stiftung Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin in 2011. The aim was to design a new permanent exhibition at the Sugar Museum. It opened in 2015, after moving to the Deutsches Technikmuseum, as "Alles Zucker! Food - Material - Energy". Mr. Spierling then edited a book accompanying the sugar exhibition. Since 2018 he has been in charge of the "Science and Metrology" collection, which includes the exhibition "Pills and Pipettes - The Chemical-Pharmaceutical Industry using the Example of Schering" and the Historical Brewery in addition to "Everything Sugar!

Close

Partners 

Kindly supported by the Stiftung Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin

You might also be interested in

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Dr. Fritz Ulffers Campher-Labor

Dr. Fritz Ulffers Campher-Labor
Foto: Schering Archiv, Bayer AG

Retorten und Rundkolben. Die Geschichte der Schering AG

Dr. Fritz Ulffers Campher-Labor
Foto: Schering Archiv, Bayer AG

Retorten und Rundkolben. Die Geschichte der Schering AG

Termin:

23.05.2019, 18–19:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Vorträge auf Deutsch
Eine Anmeldung ist erforderlich (Formular unten).

Bitte beachten Sie:
Am 23. Mai schließt die Ausstellung vorzeitig bereits um 16 Uhr.


In der Ausstellung „22 – Molecular Communication“ von Sissel Tolaas in der Schering Stiftung werden die Düfte der Müllerstraße in einem inszenierten Laborumfeld präsentiert. Die Gerätschaften dazu stammen aus dem Bestand des Chemie- und Pharmaunternehmens Schering, das in der Müllerstraße tätig war. Über die Frage, wie sie ihren Weg in die Ausstellung fanden, wird die Historie der Schering AG erläutert und in den Kontext der Berliner Industriegeschichte eingeordnet.

Als Sprecher begrüßen wir Professor Joseph Hoppe, Stellvertretender Direktor, sowie René Spierling, Leiter des Sammlungsbereiches Naturwissenschaft und Messtechnik am Deutschen Technikmuseum Berlin. Seit 2010 präsentiert das Museum in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung die Ausstellung „Pillen und Pipetten. Die chemisch-pharmazeutische Industrie am Beispiel Schering“ und beherbergt die Sammlung des ehemaligen Scheringianums der Schering AG.

Geruch im Anthropozän

Vortrag — 06.05.2019

Der Vortrags- und Gesprächsabend widmet sich den Gerüchen und dem Geruchssinn sowie den Konsequenzen des Anthropozäns für das menschliche sowie tierische Riechen und Verhalten.

Mehr erfahren

Sissel Tolaas: 22 – Molecular Communication

Ausstellung — 11.04. – 24.06.2019

Die Geruchsforscherin und Künstlerin Sissel Tolaas kartografiert und archiviert Gerüche auf der ganzen Welt. Für die Ausstellung „22 – Molecular Communication“ ermittelt sie den Duft der Müllerstraße im Wedding.

Mehr erfahren

PILLEN UND PIPETTEN

Ausstellung — 17.05.2010

„Unsere moderne Zivilisation stammt aus dem Labor!“, lautet die These der Kuratoren der Ausstellung PILLEN UND PIPETTEN im Deutschen Technikmuseum.

Mehr erfahren

Die Sprecher 

Professor Joseph Hoppe studierte Geschichte, Pädagogik und Historische Anthropologie in Marburg und Berlin. Seit 1987 am Deutschen Technikmuseum Berlin; zunächst als Kurator für Nachrichten-, Druck- und Papiertechnik, später als Koordinator der Ausstellungen des Museums. Kurator und Projektleiter zahlreicher Ausstellungen zur Kulturgeschichte der Technik. Seit 2008 stellvertretender Direktor der Stiftung Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin, seit 2014 zusätzlich Leiter des wissenschaftlichen Dienstes.
Seit 2011 in Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Gründung und Aufbau des Berliner Zentrum Industriekultur bzi als Kompetenzzentrum für Stadtgeschichte, Stadtentwicklung und Tourismus.
Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen und Vorträge zur Historie von Berliner Industriekultur, Mediengeschichte sowie allgemeiner Museumspraxis.

Schliessen

Nach dem Studium in Oldenburg nahm der Diplom-Biologe René Spierling 2011 als wissenschaftlicher Volontär die Tätigkeit in der Stiftung Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin auf. Zielsetzung war die Gestaltung einer neuen Dauerausstellung des Zucker-Museums. Sie eröffnete 2015, nach dem Umzug ins Haus des Deutschen Technikmuseums, als „Alles Zucker! Nahrung – Werkstoff – Energie“. Im Anschluss war Herr Spierling Herausgeber eines Begleitbandes zur Zucker-Ausstellung. Seit 2018 leitet er den Sammlungsbereich „Naturwissenschaft und Messtechnik“, zu dem neben „Alles Zucker!“ auch die Ausstellung „Pillen und Pipetten – Die chemisch-pharmazeutische Industrie am Beispiel Schering“ und die Historische Brauerei gehören.

Schliessen

Partner 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Stiftung Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube