Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

"beyond SE(A)nse", 2018, Riga-Biennial: Smells recorded in the Baltic Sea, Latvia, chemistry lab inventory, lab-glass
Photo: RIBOCA/Ivan Erofeev

Sissel Tolaas

22 – Molecular Communication

"beyond SE(A)nse", 2018, Riga-Biennial: Smells recorded in the Baltic Sea, Latvia, chemistry lab inventory, lab-glass
Photo: RIBOCA/Ivan Erofeev

Sissel Tolaas

22 – Molecular Communication

Duration:

April 11 – June 24, 2019

Exhibition opening:

Wednesday, 10. April 2019, 6–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin


The Berlin-based Norwegian smell researcher and artist Sissel Tolaas maps and collects in an archive smells from all over the world. To date, she has developed 52 smell profiles (“smellscapes”) of major international cities and studied the smell landscapes of shores and oceans. For the exhibition “22 – Molecular Communication,” Tolaas investigates the smell of Müllerstrasse in the Wedding neighborhood of Berlin. This place is of particular importance for the history of the Schering Stiftung: In the late 1860s, the trained pharmacist Ernst Schering had moved the entire chemical production from the original headquarters, the Grüne Apotheke (Green Pharmacy) in Chausseestrasse, to a larger production site in Müllerstrasse, thus laying the foundations for a flourishing pharmaceutical business that left its mark on the industrial location of Berlin for more than a century.

The first part of the two-part exhibition, which the Schering Stiftung organizes in cooperation with Galerie Wedding, is subtitled “Molecular Communication.” The exhibition room resembles a historical chemistry lab complete with original lab equipment owned by Schering AG, where the smell compo-nents of the Müllerstrasse can be sniffed out individually or in the form of molecular compounds. This way, the exhibition not only analytically breaks down the smell into its individual components, but also provides an insight into the research activity of the artist and trained chemist Sissel Tolaas.

Curated by Solvej Helweg Ovesen, the second part of the exhibition “22” will open on April 18 at Galerie Wedding. Here, Sissel Tolaas makes the smells of selected places on Müllerstraße perceptible for the exhibition visitors. Via sensors and ventilators, local smells enter the exhibition room, depending on the weather and the wind. This part of the exhibition takes as its central themes not chemistry and molecules but the gallery’s surrounding area – particularly its smells and, entangled with it, the history of the neighborhood.

Read more

Side events 

2 x 22 – Curatorial Tour

April 27, 2019, 2:30–4 p.m.
with Christina Landbrecht und Solvej Ovesen

Venue: Schering Stiftung & Galerie Wedding
Start: Galerie Wedding | Müllerstr. 146/147 | 13353 Berlin

Smell in the Anthropocene – Lecture and conversation

May 06, 2019, 6–9 p.m.
Lecture by Prof. Dr. Bill Hansson, Head of the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology at Max-Planck-Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena, followed by a conversation with Sissel Tolaas

Lecture in English
Venue: Schering Stiftung | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin

Interdisciplinary Workshop on the subject of smell 

Workshop — February 08, 2019

The Schering Stiftung took the shared interest of scientists, artists, and creatives in smell as an opportunity for an interdisciplinary workshop.

Learn more

Artikel über Sissel Tolaas im ExtraBlatt der Berliner Stiftungswoche 

Jan Berndorff: "Gerüche in der Stadt", in: ExtraBlatt der Berliner Stiftungswoche, erscheint am 28. März 2019

Download File

Partners 

Galerie Wedding
Deutsches Technikmuseum

The artist 

Sissel Tolaas studied chemistry, art, linguistics, and mathematics in Oslo, Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Oxford. Since the 1990s, she has developed various smell archives and for seven years underwent an intensive smell training. One of her first urban olfactory research projects was presented at the 3rd Berlin Biennale in 2004. For that, Tolaas systematically researched and recreated the smells of the Mitte, Kreuzberg, Neukölln, Reinickendorf, and Charlottenburg neighborhoods of Berlin.
Shortly afterwards, she founded the Smell Re_search Lab, which is still located in Berlin-Wilmersdorf and is supported by the international company IFF (International Flavors and Fragrances).
Tolaas calls herself a “professional in-betweener” and is at home both in science and in art. She took part in the Art & Science project “Synthetic Aesthetics,” worked with scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics to develop a vocabulary to give precise verbal expression to smells, and has shown her work worldwide, including most recently at the Riga Biennale (2018), the Museum of Modern Art (2016/2010), the Hamburger Bahnhof (2017/2004), the Museum Tinguely (2015) and the Stiftung Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary in Vienna (2017–19).

Close

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

"beyond SE(A)nse", 2018, Riga-Biennale: Gerüche aufgenommen in der Ostsee, Lettland, Chemielaborinventar, Laborglas
Foto: © RIBOCA/Ivan Erofeev

Sissel Tolaas

22 – Molecular Communication (the process), 2019

"beyond SE(A)nse", 2018, Riga-Biennale: Gerüche aufgenommen in der Ostsee, Lettland, Chemielaborinventar, Laborglas
Foto: © RIBOCA/Ivan Erofeev

Sissel Tolaas

22 – Molecular Communication (the process), 2019

Laufzeit:

11.04. – 24.06.2019

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Mittwoch, 10. April 2019, 18–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr, Vormittagsführungen für Schulklassen und Seniorengruppen nach Vereinbarung

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin


Die aus Norwegen stammende und in Berlin lebende Geruchsforscherin und Künstlerin Sissel Tolaas kartografiert und archiviert Gerüche auf der ganzen Welt. Sie hat bislang 52 Geruchsprofile internationaler Metropolen erstellt und erforscht die Geruchslandschaften von Küsten und Ozeanen. Für die Ausstellung „22 – Molecular Communication“ ermittelt Tolaas den Duft der Berliner Müllerstraße im Stadtteil Wedding. Dieser Ort ist für die Geschichte der Schering Stiftung von besonderer Bedeutung: Ende der 1860er Jahre hatte der gelernte Apotheker Ernst Schering die gesamte Chemikalienproduktion vom Stammhaus, der Grünen Apotheke in der Chausseestraße, in eine größere Produktionsstätte in der Müllerstraße verlegt und dort den Grundstein eines florierenden Pharmageschäftes gelegt, das mehr als ein Jahrhundert lang den Industriestandort Berlin prägte.

In der zweiteiligen Ausstellung, die die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit der Galerie Wedding organisiert, trägt der erste Teil den Untertitel „Molecular Communication“. Der Ausstellungsraum ähnelt einem historischen Chemielabor, bestückt mit den originalen Laborgeräten der Schering AG, in dem die Geruchsbausteine der Müllerstraße einzeln oder in Gestalt molekularer Verbindungen erschnuppert werden können. So wird nicht nur der Geruch analytisch in seine einzelnen Bestandteile zerlegt, sondern auch Einblick in die Forschungstätigkeit der Künstlerin und ausgebildeten Chemikerin Sissel Tolaas gewährt.

Weiterlesen

Über das Riechen 

"There is a whole world to smell and a whole world to educate how to smell."

Sissel Tolaas

Partner 

Die Ausstellung wird organisiert in Kooperation mit der Galerie Wedding.

Die Künstlerin 

Sissel Tolaas studierte Chemie, Bildende Kunst, Linguistik und Mathematik in Oslo, Moskau, St. Petersburg und Oxford. Seit den 1990er Jahren baute sie diverse Geruchsarchive auf und unterzog sich sieben Jahre lang einem intensiven Geruchstraining. Eines ihrer ersten urbanen olfaktorischen Forschungsprojekte wurde im Jahr 2004 auf der 3. Berlin Biennale ausgestellt. Tolaas hatte dafür systematisch die Gerüche der Berliner Stadtteile Mitte, Kreuzberg, Neukölln, Reinickendorf und Charlottenburg erforscht und nachgebaut.
Kurze Zeit später gründete sie das Smell Re_search Lab, das sich bis heute in Berlin-Wilmersdorf befindet und von dem internationalen Konzern IFF (International Flavors and Fragrances) unterstützt wird.
Tolaas bezeichnet sich als „professional in-betweener“ und ist in der Wissenschaft ebenso Zuhause wie in der Kunst. Sie war Teil des Art & Science-Projektes „Synthetic Aesthetics“, arbeitete mit Wissenschaftler*innen des Max-Planck-Instituts für Psycholinguistik an einem Vokabular zur präzisen Verbalisierung von Gerüchen und zeigte ihre Arbeit weltweit, darunter zuletzt auf der Riga Biennale (2018), im Museum of Modern Art (2016 / 2010), im Hamburger Bahnhof (2017 / 2004), im Museum Tinguely (2015) oder in der Stiftung Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary in Wien (2017-19).

Schliessen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube