Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Ernst Schering Prize 1995

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Ernst Schering Prize 1995

Professor Dr. Yasutomi Nishizuka from the Kobe University in Japan is awarded the Ernst Schering Prize 1995 for his pioneering work on protein kinase C.


Cells receive signals from outside and transport these as messages into the cell. Inside the cell an answer will be induced which is specific to the cell type and signal. Signal molecules are, for example, hormones or growth factors. The basic question is how various cell types in different tissues of an organism can specifically recognize the information of signal molecules and process it further. On a cellular level, this involves a highly complex cascade of biochemical reactions. Protein kinase C is one of the key factors in this process.

In the late 1970s, Nishizuka was the first to describe protein kinase C. With his discoveries he initiated an intensive research into cell biology. So far, 11 forms (isoenzymes) of protein kinase C have been identified. Depending on cell type and function, researchers can identify different patterns of these isoenzymes. This research has led to a better understanding of the information pathways in the body and between cells.

On September 21, 1995, this year’s Ernst Schering Prize was awarded to Professor Yasutomi Nishizuka, Kobe University, Japan, in Prague. Nishizuka receives the DM 75,000 prize for his basic and outstanding work on protein kinase C. This enzyme plays an important role in the communication between cells.

The award ceremony took place under the auspices of the Charles University in Prague. Nishizuka received the prize from the Vice-Chancellor of the Charles University, Professor Pavel Klener. As one of the oldest European university cities, Prague was chosen for the award ceremony by the Ernst Schering Research Foundation as a symbol of research tradition.

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony

Ernst Schering Prize 1995



You might also be interested in

September 05, 2023

Matthias Tschöp

Ernst Schering Prize 2023

September 29, 2022

Gisbert Schneider

Ernst Schering Prize 2022

July 07, 2021

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Prize 2021

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018


Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49.30.20 62 29 62

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram