Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Ernst Schering Prize 1995

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Ernst Schering Prize 1995


Professor Dr. Yasutomi Nishizuka from the Kobe University in Japan is awarded the Ernst Schering Prize 1995 for his pioneering work on protein kinase C.

 

Cells receive signals from outside and transport these as messages into the cell. Inside the cell an answer will be induced which is specific to the cell type and signal. Signal molecules are, for example, hormones or growth factors. The basic question is how various cell types in different tissues of an organism can specifically recognize the information of signal molecules and process it further. On a cellular level, this involves a highly complex cascade of biochemical reactions. Protein kinase C is one of the key factors in this process.

In the late 1970s, Nishizuka was the first to describe protein kinase C. With his discoveries he initiated an intensive research into cell biology. So far, 11 forms (isoenzymes) of protein kinase C have been identified. Depending on cell type and function, researchers can identify different patterns of these isoenzymes. This research has led to a better understanding of the information pathways in the body and between cells.

On September 21, 1995, this year’s Ernst Schering Prize was awarded to Professor Yasutomi Nishizuka, Kobe University, Japan, in Prague. Nishizuka receives the DM 75,000 prize for his basic and outstanding work on protein kinase C. This enzyme plays an important role in the communication between cells.

The award ceremony took place under the auspices of the Charles University in Prague. Nishizuka received the prize from the Vice-Chancellor of the Charles University, Professor Pavel Klener. As one of the oldest European university cities, Prague was chosen for the award ceremony by the Ernst Schering Research Foundation as a symbol of research tradition.

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony


Ernst Schering Prize 1995

Prag

Downloads 

Curriculum Vitae

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Download File

You might also be interested in

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

September 28, 2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Prize 2015

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

PreisträgerIn 

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Ernst Schering Preis 1995

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Ernst Schering Preis 1995


Professor Yasutomi Nishizuka von der Kobe Universität in Japan erhält den Ernst Schering Preis 1995 für seine grundlegenden Arbeiten zur Proteinkinase C.

 

Zellen erhalten von außen Signale, leiten diese als Botschaft in die Zelle weiter, und innnerhalb der Zelle kommt es zu einer für Zelltyp und Signal spezifischen Antwort. Signalmoleküle sind zum Beispiel Hormone oder Wachstumsfaktoren. Dabei stellt sich die Grundfrage, wie die unterschiedlichen Zelltypen in den verschiedenen Teilen eines Organismus den für sie bestimmten Informationsgehalt von Signalmolekülen erkennen und verarbeiten. Dies ist auf der Zellebene ein hochkomplizierter Vorgang, der über viele biochemische Reaktionen führt. Die Proteinkinase C ist ein entscheidender Faktor, dass diese Reaktionsfolge geordnet abläuft.

Ende der siebziger Jahre beschrieb Nishizuka erstmals die Proteinkinase C und initiierte damit eine intensive Forschung in dieser Thematik. Bis heute konnten 11 Formen (Isoformen) der Proteinkinase C identifiziert werden. Je nach Zelltyp und Funktion von Zellen können unterschiedliche Muster dieser Isoformen festgestellt werden. Diese Forschungsarbeiten haben dazu beigetragen, die Informationswege im Körper und zwischen Zellen besser zu verstehen.

Der diesjährige Ernst Schering Preis wurde am 21. September 1995 in Prag an Professor Yasutomi Nishizuka von der Kobe Universität in Japan verliehen. Nishizuka erhält den mit DM 75.000 dotierten Preis für seine hervorragenden und grundlegenden Arbeiten zur Proteinkinase C, einem Enzym, das eine zentrale Rolle bei der Kommunikation zwischen Körperzellen spielt.

Die feierliche Verleihung des Preises in Prag fand unter der Schirmherrschaft der Karls-Universität statt. Nishizuka nahm den Preis vor internationalem Publikum vom Prorektor der Karls-Universität, Professor Pavel Klener, in Empfang. Die Verleihung fand in diesem Jahr zum ersten Mal im Ausland statt. Prag als eine der ältesten Universitätsstädte Europas wurde zur Preisverleihung von der Schering Forschungsgesellschaft als Sinnbild für Forschungstradition ausgewählt.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung


Ernst Schering Preis 1995

Prag

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Yasutomi Nishizuka

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

23.09.2013

Frank Kirchhoff

Ernst Schering Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube