Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Bonnie L. Bassler - Ernst Schering Prize 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler - Ernst Schering Prize 2018
Photo: Zach Donnell

Photo: Bonnie L. Bassler

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018


Professor Bonnie L. Bassler, PhD, has paved the way for a new, important research field in microbiology: intercellular bacterial communication, or so-called quorum sensing. Professor Bassler is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and the Chair of the Department of Molecular Biology at Princeton University, New Jersey, USA. She described the universal use of chemical communication among bacteria leading to a new paradigm of bacteria as interacting organisms.

For her outstanding research, Prof. Bonnie L. Bassler is awarded this year’s Ernst Schering Prize. She was nominated for the Ernst Schering Prize by Prof. Dr. Ned Wingreen, a professor in the Department of Molecular Biology and the Lewis-Sigler Institute at Princeton University. “Bonnie Bassler‘s groundbreaking basic research on bacterial communication spans biology, chemistry, and medicine – establishing a paradigm for brilliantly integrated science. She has been a leader throughout her career in establishing a dialogue between scientists and the greater society, and she does all this with a contagious enthusiasm for the rigorous practice and communication of science that spreads to all those around her. As one who has benefited from the energy and inspiration that radiates from her, I am personally thrilled and gratified that Bonnie Bassler is the newest recipient of the Ernst Schering Prize,” says Wingreen.

Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort, head of the RNA-Microbiology group at LMU Munich and former postdoc of Bonnie Bassler, who will give the presentation speech at the award ceremony, says about Professor Bassler: “Bonnie Bassler’s research has revolutionized the study of microbiology and transformed the way in which we consider bacteria and the profound importance of their interactions in nature. Her discoveries pave the way to biological solutions to the world’s most pressing problems: food, health, energy, and the environment.”

Read more

Side events 

Lecture to high-school students: How Bacteria Talk to Each Other

September 27, 2018
Bonnie L. Bassler

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (not open to the public)

Scientific lecture: Bacterial Quorum Sensing and Its Control

September 27, 2018, 4–5:30 p.m.
Bonnie L. Bassler

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Campus North | Building 4 (Ostertaghaus)
Philippstr. 13 | 10115 Berlin
This public lecture is aimed at scientists and students and will be in English. | Registration is not required.

Laudation 

“Bonnie Bassler’s research has revolutionized the study of microbiology and transformed the way in which we consider bacteria and the profound importance of their interactions in nature. Her discoveries pave the way to biological solutions to the world’s most pressing problems: food, health, energy, and the environment.”

Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort, head of the RNA-Microbiology group at LMU Munich

Media library

Gallery — September 24, 2018

Ernst Schering and Friedmund Neumann Prize

Award Ceremony 2018

Go to images
Publication — September 12, 2018

The Language of Bacteria

Quorum Sensing

Go to publication

Award Ceremony 2018 

Award ceremony — September 26, 2018

Schering Stiftung awards Ernst Schering Prize to Bonnie Bassler for her pioneering work on quorum sensing. Alexander Bartelt will be awarded with the Friedmund Neumann Prize for his research work on brown adipose tissue.

Learn more

Downloads 

Invitation Card Award Ceremony

Download File

Flyer Public Lecture

Download File

CV Bonnie L. Bassler

Download File

Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann is founding director and director of the Department of Immunology of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin and Professor for Microbiology and Immunology at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin. He received his Ph.D. in biology (“summa cum laude”) from Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and completed his habilitation in the field of immunology and microbiology at the Freie Universität Berlin in 1981. From 1987 until 1991, he was Professor for Medical Microbiology and Immunology, and from 1991 until 1998, he was Full Professor for Immunology at Ulm University.

Close

Günter Stock is a german physiologist. He was Professor of Vegetative Physiology in Heidelberg from 1980 to 1983. From 1983 to 2005 he has worked at the Schering AG, from 1989 to 2005 as board member, with responsibility for research and development. From 2006 to 2015 he was the President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Since 2012 he has been serving as All European Academies (ALLEA) President since 2012. Since 2015 he is the chair of the Executive Board of the Einstein Foundation Berlin.

Close

Hartmut Michel studied Biochemistry at the Universities of Tübingen and Munich. He completed his doctoral degree at the University of Würzburg in 1977 and habilitated in 1988 at the University of Munich. Since 1987 he is Director at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysics at Frankfurt/Main, where he leads the Department for Molecular Membrane Biology. In 1988, Hartmut Michel was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, together with Johannes Deisenhöfer and Robert Huber, for their investigation of the molecular structure of the photosynthesis reaction center in the rhodopseudomonas viridis bacterium.

Close

Bernard Meunier is currently Emeritus Director of Research at the Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination du CNRS, Toulouse, and Distinguished Professor at the Chemistry Department of Guangdong University of Technology, Guangzhou, P. R. China (since 2012). He has been Chair in Technological Innovation Liliane Bettencourt at the Collège de France, Paris (2014–2015), President of the French Academy of Sciences (2015–2016), and President of the CNRS (2004–2006). His main interests in the field of bioinorganic and medicinal chemistry is the design and development of hybrid molecules as antimalarial or anti-schistosomiasis drugs and of new copper-specific chelating agents as potential therapeutic agents for Alzheimer’s disease.

Close

Fiona Doetsch investigates stem cells in the adult mammalian brain. Elucidating the molecular and cellular pathways underlying their regulation may provide insight into brain repair.

Close

Carl-Henrik Heldin has, since 1992, been professor in Molecular Cell Biology at Uppsala University, Sweden. Between 1986 and 2017, he was the Branch Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin is the chair of the Boards of the Nobel Foundation, the Science for Life Laboratory, and the European Molecular Biology Organization. His research interest is related to the mechanisms of signal transduction by growth regulatory factors, as well as their normal function and role in disease. An important goal is to explore the possible clinical utility of signal transduction antagonists.

Close

Petra Knaus received her Ph.D. at the Center for Molecular Biology in Heidelberg in 1991. As a Research Fellow and Associate, she did her Postdoctoral Training at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA, until 1996. After her return to Germany, she was Junior Group Leader at the Biocenter in Würzburg. There she established her own lab with a focus on BMP receptor biology and signal transduction. In 2004 she became Full Professor for Biochemistry – Signaltransduction at the Institute for Chemistry and Biochemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin. In 2010 she received a W3 Professorship for Biochemistry – Signaltransduction and Regeneration at the Freie Universität Berlin and Charité. The interest of the Knaus lab is to understand the molecular mechanism of BMP signal transduction, and to identify common and distinct mechanistic concepts in different cell and tissue environments.

Close

You might also be interested in

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

September 28, 2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Prize 2015

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Prof. Bonnie L. Bassler, PhD

Prof. Bonnie L. Bassler, PhD
Foto: Zach Donnell

Foto: Bonnie L. Bassler

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018


Professor Bonnie L. Bassler, PhD gilt als Wegbereiterin eines neuen, bedeutenden Forschungszweigs der Mikrobiologie, der Kommunikation zwischen Bakterien – dem sogenannten Quorum Sensing. Professor Bassler ist Forscherin am Howard Hughes Medical Institute und Leiterin des Instituts für Molekularbiologie der Universität Princeton in New Jersey, USA. Sie beschrieb die chemische Kommunikation zwischen Bakterien und begründete damit ein neues Paradigma von Bakterien als interagierende Organismen.

Für ihre herausragenden Forschungsarbeiten erhält Prof. Bonnie L. Bassler den Ernst Schering Preis 2018. Sie wurde für den Ernst Schering Preis von Prof. Dr. Ned Wingreen, Professor am Department für Molekularbiologie und am Lewis-Sigler Institut der Universität Princeton, vorgeschlagen. „Bonnie Basslers bahnbrechende Grundlagenforschung zur bakteriellen Kommunikation umfasst die Bereiche Biologie, Chemie und Medizin – und etabliert damit ein Paradigma für herausragende transdisziplinäre Forschung. Im Laufe ihrer Karriere hat sie sich maßgeblich für den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft eingesetzt, und ihre Begeisterung für rigorose Forschung und Wissenschaftskommunikation ist ansteckend. Als jemand, der von ihrer Energie und Inspiration profitiert hat, freue mich ganz besonders, dass Bonnie Bassler dieses Jahr mit dem Ernst Schering Preis ausgezeichnet wird,“ so Wingreen.

Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe RNA-Mikrobiologie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und ehemaliger Postdoktorand von Frau Bassler, wird die Laudatio anlässlich der Preisverleihung halten. Über Frau Professor Bassler sagt er: „Bonnie Basslers Forschungen haben die mikrobiologische Forschung revolutioniert und unsere Sichtweise auf Bakterien und die zentrale Bedeutung ihrer Interaktionen in der Natur verändert. Ihre Entdeckungen eröffnen neue biologische Lösungsmöglichkeiten für die drängendsten Probleme der Welt: Nahrung, Gesundheit, Energie und Umwelt.“

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Schülervortrag: How Bacteria Talk to Each Other?

27.09.2018
Bonnie L. Bassler

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (nicht öffentlich)

Öffentliche wissenschaftliche Vorlesung: Bacterial Quorum Sensing and Its Control

27.09.2018, 16–17:30 Uhr
Bonnie L. Bassler

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Campus Nord | Haus 4 (Ostertaghaus)
Philippstr. 13 | 10115 Berlin
in Englisch | ohne Anmeldung

Laudatio 

„Bonnie Basslers Forschungen haben die mikrobiologische Forschung revolutioniert und unsere Sichtweise auf Bakterien und die zentrale Bedeutung ihrer Interaktionen in der Natur verändert. Ihre Entdeckungen eröffnen neue biologische Lösungsmöglichkeiten für die drängendsten Probleme der Welt: Nahrung, Gesundheit, Energie und Umwelt.“

Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe RNA-Mikrobiologie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Mediathek

Galerie — 24.09.2018

Ernst Schering und Friedmund Neumann Preis

Preisverleihung 2018

Zu den Bildern
Publikation — 12.09.2018

Die Sprache der Bakterien

Quorum Sensing

Zur Publikation

Preisverleihung 2018 

Preisverleihung — 26.09.2018

Bonnie L. Bassler erhält für ihre Forschung über das Quorum Sensing den Ernst Schering Preis. Alexander Bartelt wird für seine Arbeiten zum braunen Fettgewebe mit dem Friedmund Neumann Preis ausgezeichnet.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Einladungskarte zur Preisverleihung

Datei laden

Flyer Öffentliche Vorlesung

Datei laden

CV Bonnie L. Bassler

Datei laden

Jury 

Stefan Kaufmann ist Gründungsdirektor und Direktor der Abteilung für Immunologie des Max-Planck-Instituts für Infektionsbiologie in Berlin sowie Professor für Mikrobiologie und Immunologie am Charité Universitätsklinikum Berlin. Er studierte Biologie an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz, wo er mit summa cum laude promovierte. Die Habilitation im Fach Immunologie und Mikrobiologie folgte 1981 an der Freien Universität Berlin. Von 1987 bis 1991 war er Professor für medizinische Mikrobiologie und Immunologie und von 1991 bis 1998 Ordinarius für Immunologie an der Universität Ulm.

Schliessen

Günter Stock ist ein deutscher Physiologe. Von 1980 bis 1983 war Professor für Vegetative Physiologie an der Universität Heidelberg. Anschließend war er bis 2005 in der Schering AG tätig, von 1989 bis 2005 als Mitglied des Vorstandes der Schering AG, wo er für die Unternehmensfunktion Forschung und Entwicklung zuständig war. Von 2006 bis 2015 war Günter Stock Präsident der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, von 2008 bis 2015 Präsident der Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften. Seit April 2012 ist er Präsident der All European Academies (ALLEA) und seit Oktober 2015 Vorstandsvorsitzender der Einstein-Stiftung Berlin.

Schliessen

Hartmut Michel studierte Biochemie an der Universität Tübingen und München und wurde 1977 an der Universität Würzburg promoviert. 1986 folgte seine Habilitation an der Universität München. Seit 1987 ist er Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik in Frankfurt am Main und leitet dort die Abteilung für Molekulare Membranbiologie. Für die Aufklärung der dreidimensionalen Struktur des photosynthetischen Reaktionszentrums eines Purpurbakteriums erhielt er 1988 den Nobelpreis für Chemie – zusammen mit Johann Deisenhofer und Robert Huber.

Schliessen

Bernard Meunier ist emeritierter Forschungsdirektor am Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination du CNRS, Toulouse, sowie Distinguished Professor am Institut für Chemie der Guangdong University of Technology, Guangzhou, VR China (seit 2012). Er war Inhaber des Liliane-Bettencourt-Lehrstuhls für technologische Innovation am Collège de France, Paris (2014–2015), Präsident der Französischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (2015–2016) und Präsident des CNRS (2004–2006). Sein Hauptinteresse im Bereich der bioanorganischen und medizinischen Chemie gilt dem Design und der Entwicklung von Hybridmolekülen zur Antimalaria- bzw. Antischistosomiasis-Therapie sowie neuer Kupferchelatbildner als potenzielle therapeutische Wirkstoffe zur Bekämpfung von Alzheimer.

Schliessen

Fiona Doetsch untersucht Stammzellen im Gehirn von erwachsenen Säugetieren. Die Aufklärung der molekularen und zellulären Wege sowie deren Steuerung ermöglicht Einblicke in die Reparaturprozesse des Gehirns.

Schliessen

Carl-Henrik Heldin ist seit 1992 Professor für Molekulare Zellbiologie an der Universität Uppsala, Schweden. Von 1986 bis 2017 war er Direktor des Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin ist Vorsitzender der Nobelstiftung, des Science for Life Laboratory sowie der European Molecular Biology Organization. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt den Mechanismen der Signalübertragung durch Wachstumsregulationsfaktoren sowie ihre Normalfunktion und Rolle bei Erkrankungen. Ein wichtiges Ziel ist die Erforschung des möglichen klinischen Nutzens von Signaltransduktionsantagonisten.

Schliessen

Petra Knaus promovierte 1991 am Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg und wechselte dann für ihren Postdoc-Aufenhalt bis 1996 als Research Fellow und Associate ans Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Deutschland wurde sie Juniorgruppenleiterin am Biozentrum der Universität Würzburg. Dort gründete sie ihre eigene Forschungsgruppe mit dem Schwerpunkt BMP-Rezeption und Signaltransduktion. 2004 wurde sie Professorin für Biochemie – Signaltransduktion am Institut für Chemie und Biochemie der Freien Universität Berlin. 2010 wurde sie zur W3-Professorin für Biochemie – Signaltransduktion und Regeneration an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Charité ernannt. Hauptziel der Knaus-Gruppe ist es, die molekularen Mechanismen der BMP-Signaltransduktion zu verstehen und die gemeinsamen sowie unterschiedlichen mechanistischen Konzepte in verschiedenen Zell- und Gewebetypen zu identifizieren.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

23.09.2013

Frank Kirchhoff

Ernst Schering Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube