Schering Stiftung

Event 

Eddie Flitzefuß in the Hospital

Eddie Flitzefuß in the Hospital


27.04.2012, Berlin | Nobody likes to stay in the hospital. Especially not children who often don’t even understand why they have to remain in the hospital and what happens to them there. The doctors and nurses are strangers, the medical examination equipment often seems scary, and, after all, nothing beats being at home with one’s family.
With that in mind, Milly Orthen and Ursula Meisinger, the photographers of the Children’s Hospital in Munich-Schwabing, have designed a children’s book with the goal of helping children be more relaxed during their hospital stay and taking away their fear of medical examination equipment and therapies. The book will be published on May 3, 2012.

For the book, photographs were taken of all the wards of the Children’s Hospital. papan, a Munich-based artist, then used these photographs as a basis for his illustrations of the story of Eddie Flitzefuß – a sick squirrel that is taken to the hospital by his friends Lenni and Rosina so that he will get well again. Milly Orthen and Ursula Meisinger have come up with the story to explain, in a child-focused and sensitive way, what happens in the different hospital wards.

Starting on May 4, 2012, the photographs that form the basis for the book’s illustrations will be on display as part of a long-term exhibition on the ground floor of the Children’s Hospital.

The Schering Stiftung has gladly supported the project, because it offers a unique way to help children find their bearings in the foreign world that is the hospital. The book gives them courage and brings a little bit of joy into their hospital stay.

Photo Exhibition

As of May 4, 2012
Children’s Hospital Munich-Schwabing
Clinic for Child and Adolescent Medicine
Ground floor, to the right
Parzivalstrasse 16
D-80804 Munich

 

Photo: copyright papan, from “Eddie Flitzefuß im Krankenhaus” (Eddie Flitzefuß in the Hospital), by papan, Milly Orthen, and Ursula Meisinger.

You might also be interested in

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Veranstaltung 

Eddie Flitzefuß im Krankenhaus

Eddie Flitzefuß im Krankenhaus


Ein Krankenhausaufenthalt ist für niemanden schön. Erst recht nicht für Kinder, die häufig noch gar nicht verstehen, warum sie im Krankenhaus bleiben müssen und was da alles mit ihnen geschieht. Die Ärzte und Schwestern sind fremd, die Untersuchungsgeräte sehen oftmals fast beängstigend aus und überhaupt ist es doch zuhause bei der Familie am schönsten.
Aus diesem Wissen heraus haben die Fotografinnen der Kinderklinik München-Schwabing, Milly Orthen und Ursula Meisinger, nun ein Kinderbuch gestaltet, das Kindern ihren Krankenhausaufenthalt ein klein wenig erleichtern und ihnen die Angst vor Untersuchungsgeräten und Therapien nehmen soll. Das Buch wurde erstmals im Mai 2012 veröffentlicht, mittlerweile ist es in der 6. Auflage erschienen.
Der Text des Kinderbuches wurde bisher in 20 Sprachen übersetzt.

 

Zur Erstellung des Buches wurden sämtliche Stationen der Kinderklinik fotografiert. Der Münchener Künstler papan nahm diese Bilder als Grundlage und illustrierte die Geschichte von Eddie Flitzefuß – dem kranken Eichhörnchen, das von seinen Freunden Lenni und Rosina ins Krankenhaus gebracht wird, damit es wieder gesund wird. Die Geschichte haben sich Milly Orthen und Ursula Meisinger selbst ausgedacht, um das, was auf den verschiedenen Stationen eines Krankenhauses geschieht, kindgerecht und einfühlsam zu erklären.

Die Fotografien, die die Grundlage für die Illustrationen in dem Buch waren, in dem Buch waren, sind seit Mai 2012 in einer Langzeitausstellung im Erdgeschoß der Kinderklinik zu sehen.

Kinderklinik München-Schwabing
Poliklinik für Kinder- und Jugendmedizin
Parzivalstraße 16
80804 München

Die Schering Stiftung hat das Projekt gern unterstützt, da es Kindern auf einzigartige Weise hilft, sich in einer so fremden Welt wie einem Krankenhaus zurecht zu finden. Das Buch macht ihnen Mut und gestaltet den Klinikalltag ein wenig fröhlicher.

Bestellmöglichkeit:

ISBN 978-3-86371-071-2, Zuckschwerdtverlag München oder über die Kinderklinik München-Schwabing

 

Foto: copyright papan aus „Eddie Flitzefuß im Krankenhaus“, Hrsg. Meisinger, Orthen, papan

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram