Schering Stiftung

Project 

Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari: The 3D Additivist Cookbook

Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari: The 3D Additivist Cookbook
Photo: Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari

Projekt Bauhaus

Event series on 100 years of Bauhaus

Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari: The 3D Additivist Cookbook
Photo: Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari

Projekt Bauhaus

Event series on 100 years of Bauhaus

Further information: http://projekt-bauhaus.de/


In 2019, Germany will be celebrating the centenary of the founding of the Bauhaus. The “projekt bauhaus – Vorkurs, Werkstatt, Begräbnis” (Project Bauhaus – Preliminary Course, Workshop, Funeral) of the ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses (Association for the Promotion of the Discourse on Architecture and Urbanism) critically examines the ideas of the Bauhaus and assesses their utopian potential for the present and the future. On October 10, 2017, at 7 p.m., the curators present the planned program as part of the ARCH+ features event series at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, discuss the program’s themes and topics, and introduce the participating artists.

The Bauhaus was both a forward-looking project and a child of its time. Against the background of industrialization and modernization, it defined an anthropocentric philosophy of design which was permeated by a positivist belief in progress, a better future, the emancipatory potential of science and technology, and improvement through renewal. Given the obvious contradictions between ideal, practice, and impact, “projekt bauhaus” critically examines the ideas of the Bauhaus by using its methods: In a preliminary course (2017) and a workshop (2019), it exposes the internal contradictions of the Western idea of progress and discusses alternative approaches. How can we decolonize our understanding of technology? How can we develop and disseminate other ideas of progress and renewal? And how can design change society and everyday life?

The transdisciplinary, international expert team – Jesko Fezer, Christian Hiller, Anh-Linh Ngo, Philipp Oswalt, Joanne Pouzenc, and Jan Wenzel – conceived “projekt bauhaus” as a five-year working process, from 2015 until 2019, the year of the Bauhaus centenary. Together with the co-curators Armen Avanessian, Chris Dercon, Karin Harrasser, and Claudia Mareis, they invite the audience to join in the experimental search for a renewal of art, design, and architecture in relation to contemporary society. As part of the project, the artists Morehshin Allahyari, Bianca Elzenbaumer & Fabio Franz (Brave New Alps), and Olaf Nicolai will create commissioned works that are made possible with support from the Schering Stiftung.

Read more

projekt bauhaus – Ein rettendes Requiem

Concert — June 20 – June 22, 2019

Following a critical inventory of the Bauhaus ideas, the "projekt bauhaus" celebrates its conclusion in the anniversary year with an aggressive farewell party in the form of a large, concertante funeral.

Learn more

projekt bauhaus – Ciao Bauhaus!

Conference — May 29 – May 29, 2019

As part of the "projekt bauhaus", the symposium "Ciao Bauhaus!" brings together contributions by a.o. Beatriz Colomina, Jan Kage, Schorsch Kamerun, Alexander Kluge (film contribution), Marion von Osten and Mark Wigley.

Learn more

Werkstatt Technik-Fortschritt

Workshop — August 30 – September 02, 2018

“Projekt Bauhaus” holds a four-day workshop during which teams will develop positions on what progress means today.

Learn more

Preliminary Course

Conference — December 02, 2017

As part of the "projekt bauhaus" the symposium "Preliminar Course: From Bauhaus to Silicon Valley gathers contributions by (among others) Armen Avanessian, Shaina Anand, Brave New Alps und Claudia Mareis.

Learn more

Project Bauhaus

Conference — October 10, 2017

The "projekt bauhaus" of the ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses critically examines the ideas of the Bauhaus and assesses their utopian potential for the present and the future.

Learn more

Contributing Artists 

By combining design research methods with radical pedagogy, conflict mediation, and do-it-yourself approaches, the Italian artist collective produces, among other things, pedagogical rooms, publications, websites, photographs, videos, hiking tours, and urban interventions. It intensively deals with the social, political, economic, and ecological conditions. Ideally, this results in an answer in the form of designed objects or situations that actively propose an alternative way of thinking and acting. “COMUNfARE” in the Vallagarina district in the Italian Alps is a long-term, practice-based and theoretically reflective project by Brave New Alps that aims to develop a globally adaptable model for the collective use of the commons – hence a contribution to social and economic change.

Close

*1985, Iran/USA, is an artist, activist, and curator. Her work deals with the political, social, and cultural contradictions of the present day and uses technology as a philosophical toolset to reflect on objects and as a poetic means to document the personal and collective lives struggles of our time. She is co-author of the “3D Additivist Cookbook” featuring speculative projects of over one hundred artists, activists, and theorists. Her 3D-printed sculptural reconstructions of artefacts destroyed by ISIS, “Material Speculation: ISIS,” have been shown and discussed worldwide. In 2016-2017, she was Research Resident of the Eyebeam Residency in New York, working on “Digital Colonialism and ‘re-Figuring’” as a feminist and decolonialist practice.

Close

*1962, Germany, develops interdisciplinary projects in the tradition of conceptual art, which challenge fundamental experiences of space, time, and corporeality. He makes theories and insights from the natural sciences and humanities tangible in aesthetic-artistic ways, works with mathematical models and universal algorithms, and combines art with observations on markets and materialism. His wall work “Le pigment de la lumière” for the interiors of the new Gropius and Moholy-Nagy Masters’ Houses in Dessau, which re-opened in 2014, refers to light studies by the Bauhaus teacher Moholy-Nagy. Nicolai is Professor for Sculpture and Fundamentals of Three-Dimensional Design at the Munich Academy of Fine Arts. His work has been shown internationally in numerous solo shows and garnered numerous awards.

Close

Partners 

projekt bauhaus is supported through the “Bauhaus Today Fund” of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) as well as by the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education) and the Schering Stiftung. A project of the ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses e. V., it is held in cooperation with the Volksbühne Berlin.

100 Jahre Bauhaus
ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses
Projekt Bauhaus
Kulturstiftung des Bundes
Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
Floating University Berlin
raumlabor berlin
Volksbühne Berlin
KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Volkswagen Stiftung

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Veranstaltungsreihe 

Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari: The 3D Additivist Cookbook

Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari: The 3D Additivist Cookbook
Foto: Morehshin Allahyari & Daniel Rourke

Projekt Bauhaus

Veranstaltungsreihe 100 Jahre Bauhaus

Daniel Rourke & Morehshin Allahyari: The 3D Additivist Cookbook
Foto: Morehshin Allahyari & Daniel Rourke

Projekt Bauhaus

Veranstaltungsreihe 100 Jahre Bauhaus

Weitere Informationen: http://projekt-bauhaus.de/


Im Jahr 2019 wird in Deutschland das 100-jährige Gründungsjubiläum des Bauhaus‘ begangen. Das „projekt bauhaus – Vorkurs, Werkstatt, Begräbnis“ des ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses unternimmt eine kritische Inventur der Bauhaus-Ideen und prüft deren utopisches Potenzial für die Gegenwart und Zukunft.

Das Bauhaus war ein vorausschauendes Projekt, und dennoch in seiner Zeit verhaftet. Es hat vor dem Hintergrund der Industrialisierung und Modernisierung einen anthropozentrischen Gestaltungsbegriff geprägt, der von dem positivistischen Glauben an den Fortschritt, an eine bessere Zukunft, an das emanzipative Potential von Wissenschaft und Technik und an Verbesserung durch Erneuerung durchdrungen war. Weil die Widersprüche zwischen Anspruch, Praxis und Wirkung des Bauhaus offenkundig sind, unternimmt das projekt bauhaus bis 2019 eine kritische Inventur der Bauhaus-Ideen und wendet dabei dessen Methoden an: In einem Vorkurs (2017) und einer Werkstatt (2018) legt es die inneren Widersprüche der westlichen Fortschrittsidee offen und diskutiert alternative Ansätze. Wie lässt sich unser Verständnis von Technik dekolonisieren? Wie können wir eine andere Vorstellung von Fortschritt und Erneuerung entwickeln und propagieren? Und wie kann mit Gestaltung Gesellschaft und Alltag verändert werden?

Das transdisziplinäre, internationale Expertenteam: Jesko Fezer, Christian Hiller, Anh-Linh Ngo, Philipp Oswalt, Joanne Pouzenc und Jan Wenzel hat das projekt bauhaus für einen auf fünf Jahre angelegten Arbeitsprozess bis zum Bauhaus-Jubiläum, von 2015 bis 2019, konzipiert. Zusammen mit den Ko-Kurator/innen Armen Avanessian, Chris Dercon, Karin Harrasser und Claudia Mareis laden sie ein, sich der experimentellen Suche nach einer Erneuerung von Kunst, Design und Architektur im Verhältnis zur zeitgenössischen Gesellschaft anzuschließen. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden die Künstler/innen Morehshin Allahyari, Bianca Elzenbaumer & Fabio Franz (Brave New Alps) und Olaf Nicolai Auftragsarbeiten entwickeln, die durch die Förderung der Schering Stiftung ermöglicht werden.

Weiterlesen

Veranstaltungen dieser Reihe

Werkstatt Technik-Fortschritt

Workshop — 30.08. – 02.09.2018
Das „projekt bauhaus“ veranstaltet einen viertägigen Workshop, in dessen Rahmen Teams Positionen zur Frage des Fortschritts entwickeln werden.

Mehr erfahren

projekt bauhaus - Vorkurs

Konferenz — 02.12.2017
Im Rahmen des "projekt bauhaus" versammelt das Symposium "Vorkurs: Vom Bauhaus zum Silicon Valley" Beiträge von unter anderen Armen Avanessian, Shaina Anand, Brave New Alps und Claudia Mareis.

Mehr erfahren

projekt bauhaus - Auftaktveranstaltung

Konferenz — 10.10.2017
Das "projekt bauhaus" des ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses unternimmt eine kritische Inventur der Bauhaus-Ideen und prüft deren utopisches Potenzial für die Gegenwart und Zukunft.

Mehr erfahren

Beteiligte Künstler 

Das italienische Künstlerkollektiv realisiert durch die Kombination von Design-Research-Methoden mit Ansätzen radikaler Pädagogik, Konfliktmediation und do it yourself u. a. pädagogische Räume, Publikationen, Webseiten, Fotografien, Videos, Wanderungen, urbane Interventionen. Sie beschäftigen sich intensiv mit den sozialen, politischen, ökonomischen als auch ökologischen Bedingungen. Daraus resultiert im Idealfall eine Antwort in der Form von designten Objekten oder Situationen, die aktiv eine alternative Denk- und Handelsweise vorschlagen. „COMUNfARE“ in Vallagarina, einer Talgemeinschaft in den italienischen Alpen, ist ein langfristig angelegtes, praxisorientiertes und theoretisch reflektiertes Projekt von Brave New Alps zur Entwicklung eines global übertragbaren Modells für die gemeinschaftliche Nutzung lokaler Güter, mithin ein Beitrag zu einem sozialen und ökonomischen Wandel.

Schliessen

*1985, Iran/USA, ist Künstlerin, Aktivistin und Kuratorin. Sie thematisiert die politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Widersprüche der Gegenwart und nutzt Technologie philosophisch, um Objekte zu befragen, und poetisch, um die persönlichen wie kollektiven Kämpfe unserer Zeit zu dokumentieren. Sie ist Ko-Autorin des „3D Additivist Cookbook“ mit spekulativen Projekten von über hundert KünstlerInnen, AktivistInnen und TheoretikerInnen. Ihre im 3D-Druck hergestellten skulpturalen Rekonstruktionen von durch ISIS zerstörte Artefakte, „Material Speculation: ISIS“, wurden weltweit ausgestellt und diskutiert. 2016-2017 arbeitete sie als Research Resident der Eyebeam Residency in New York über „Digital Colonialism and ‘re-Figuring’“ als feministische und dekoloniale Praxis.

Schliessen

*1962, Deutschland, entwickelt interdisziplinäre Projekte in der Tradition der Konzeptkunst, die elementare Erfahrungen von Raum, Zeit und Körperlichkeit hinterfragen. Er macht Theorien und Erkenntnisse aus Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften ästhetisch-künstlerisch erfahrbar, arbeitet mit mathematischen Modellen und universellen Algorithmen und verknüpft Kunst mit Betrachtungen zu Märkten und Materialismus. Seine Wandarbeit „Le pigment de la lumière“ für die Innenräume der 2014 eröffneten neuen Meisterhäuser Gropius und Moholy-Nagy in Dessau verweist auf Lichtstudien des Bauhauslehrers Moholy-Nagy. Nicolai ist Professor für Bildhauerei und Grundlagen des dreidimensionalen Gestaltens an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München. Seine Werke wurden international in zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen gezeigt und vielfach ausgezeichnet.

Schliessen

Partner 

projekt bauhaus wird gefördert im „Fonds Bauhaus heute“ der Kulturstiftung des Bundes sowie durch die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung und die Schering Stiftung. Es ist eine Kooperation mit der Volksbühne Berlin und wird vom ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses e. V. getragen.

100 Jahre Bauhaus
ARCH+ Verein zur Förderung des Architektur- und Stadtdiskurses
Projekt Bauhaus
Kulturstiftung des Bundes
Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
Floating University Berlin
raumlabor berlin
Volksbühne Berlin
KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Volkswagen Stiftung

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

20.09. – 23.09.2018

BAM!

Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater

17.11.2018, Berlin

SERGE

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop & Luigi De Angelis / Fanny & Alexander

12.12. – 16.12.2018, Berlin

Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18

Future Continuous Present(s) –
“Video Art” through Time

Kooperation mit MitOst e.V.

Kulturprojekte in Mittel- und Osteuropa

29.06. – 01.07.2018

Brecht in der Autowerkstatt

Ein performatives Theaterstück von Olaf Nicolai

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube