Schering Stiftung

Promotion of young researchers 

Aging and Age

Theme Course 2013-2014

Aging and Age

Theme Course 2013-2014

As part of its efforts to promote young talents, the Schering Stiftung has participated in the “Germany Scholarship” program of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research since the 2012 summer term. Together with Berlin’s Humboldt University (HU Berlin), it is now launching a pilot project: starting in the 2013 summer term, HU Berlin for the first time will offer two Germany Scholarship theme courses. As part of a year-long tutorial, 15 bachelors or masters degree students from different disciplines will work together on an interdisciplinary project. The Schering Stiftung supports the theme course on “Aging and Age.” The Humboldt University Foundation and their sponsors support a theme course on “Sustainability & Global Justice.”

Jan-Hendrik Olbertz, president of Humboldt University, says: “We are particularly proud of our newly developed format. The theme courses take their cue from Humboldt University’s concept for the future. Guided by the idea of ‘Education through Science,’ it focuses on promoting and developing the university’s scientist personalities.”

The theme courses aim to provide Germany Scholarship recipients with insights into current research projects at an early stage of their studies in order to enable them to develop and present their own ideas. Conversely, the participating scholars and scientists hope that the scholarship recipients’ thirst for knowledge and fresh views will stimulate and encourage them to critically examine theories, including their own, and to develop new perspectives.

When it came to selecting the scholarship recipients, it was particularly important for the Schering Stiftung, in keeping with its grant focus, that the students are looking beyond their own discipline and are interested in art or science.

Age – a Matter of Perspective
The topic of aging generally comes up in the context of demographic change. The “Aging and Age” theme course, supported by the Schering Stiftung, looks at the topic from a variety of different perspectives, dealing with issues such as the productive power or beauty of aging matter. For example, what does aging mean at the molecular level, and what does biological aging have to do with psychological aging? How can we explain our obsession with youth, and could there be a functioning alternative model? The participating students from the natural, social, and cultural sciences will make a contribution to a new understanding of the topic.

“We hope that the benefits for the scholarship recipients from the interdisciplinary exchange will be significantly higher than from individual scholarships,” says Dr. Sonja Kießling, Science Director of the Schering Stiftung.

Read more

Age Issues, Images of Age, and Intergenerational Equity 

Symposium — April 05, 2014

The results of the interdisciplinary Themenklasse on “Aging and Age” will be presented to the public during a Symposium in an interactive lab atmosphere.

Learn more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

You might also be interested in

April 01, 2018

Natur der Wahrnehmung – Kunst der Täuschung

Theme Course 2018-2019

April 01, 2017, Berlin

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2017-2018

April 01, 2016, Berlin

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2016-2017

April 01, 2015, Berlin

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2015-2016

April 01, 2014, Berlin

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2014-2015

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Nachwuchsförderung 

Altern und Alter

Themenklasse 2013-2014

Altern und Alter

Themenklasse 2013-2014

Im Rahmen ihrer Nachwuchsförderung beteiligt sich die Schering Stiftung seit dem Sommersemester 2012 an dem Programm „Deutschlandstipendium“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung. Zusammen mit der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin startet sie nun ein Modellprojekt: So bietet die HU Berlin ab Sommersemester 2013 erstmalig zwei Deutschlandstipendium-Themenklassen an. 15 Bachelor- oder Masterstudierende verschiedener Fachrichtungen arbeiten als Klasse im Rahmen eines Tutoriums für ein Jahr gemeinsam an einem interdisziplinären Projekt. Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Themenklasse „Altern und Alter“. Die Stiftung Humboldt-Universität und ihre Förderer ermöglichen die Themenklasse „Nachhaltigkeit & Globale Gerechtigkeit“.

HU-Präsident Jan-Hendrik Olbertz: „Auf unser neu entwickeltes Format sind wir besonders stolz. Die Themenklassen orientieren sich an dem Zukunftskonzept der Humboldt-Universität, das unter der Leitidee, Bildung durch Wissenschaft‘ steht und die Förderung sowie Entfaltung ihrer Wissenschaftlerpersönlichkeiten in den Mittelpunkt stellt.“

Ziel der Themenklassen ist es, den Deutschlandstipendiaten schon zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt ihres Studiums Einblicke in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte zu ermöglichen, um eigene Ideen zu entwickeln und vorzustellen. Umgekehrt hoffen die beteiligten Wissenschaftler, dass der Wissensdrang und unverstellte Blick der Deutschlandstipendiaten sie anspornt, auch eigene Theorien kritisch zu hinterfragen und neue Perspektiven zu entwickeln.

Bei der Auswahl der Stipendiaten für ihre Themenklasse war es der Schering Stiftung entsprechend ihrer Förderschwerpunkte besonders wichtig, dass sich die Studierenden über ihre eigene Disziplin hinaus auch für Kunst bzw. Naturwissenschaft interessieren.

Alter – eine Frage der Perspektive
Das Thema Altern wird allgemein mit dem Stichwort demografischer Wandel verbunden. Die von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Themenklasse „Altern und Alter“ beleuchtet jedoch das Thema aus ganz unterschiedlichen Perspektiven, etwa welche Produktivkraft oder Schönheit in alterndem Material liegt. Was bedeutet Altern beispielsweise auf Molekülebene und wie hängt das biologische mit dem psychologischen Alter zusammen? Wie ist „Jugendwahn“ zu erklären und könnte es ein funktionierendes Gegenmodell dafür geben? In der Themenklasse werden Studierende aus den Natur-, Sozial- sowie Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften einen Beitrag zu einem neuen Verständnis des Themas leisten.

„Wir hoffen, dass die Stipendiaten durch den verstärkten interdisziplinären Austausch deutlich mehr von der Förderung profitieren als durch ein Einzelstipendium“, sagt Dr. Sonja Kießling, Vorstand Wissenschaft der Schering Stiftung.

Weiterlesen

Altersfragen, Altersbilder und Generationengerechtigkeit 

Symposium — 05.04.2014

Die Ergebnisse der Themenklasse "Altern und Alter" werden im Symposium in einer interaktiven Lab-Atmosphäre der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.

Mehr erfahren

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

01.04.2018

Natur der Wahrnehmung – Kunst der Täuschung

Themenklasse 2018-2019

01.04.2017, Berlin

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2017-2018

01.04.2016, Berlin

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2016-2017

01.04.2015, Berlin

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2015-2016

01.04.2014, Berlin

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2014-2015

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram