Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Dr. Peter E. Lipsky

Dr. Peter E. Lipsky

Peter E. Lipsky

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2011

Dr. Peter E. Lipsky

Peter E. Lipsky

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2011

This year’s lecture will be given by Dr. Peter E. Lipsky (Charlottesville, VA, USA).

After receiving his medical degree from the New York University School of Medicine and completing residency training at the StrongMemorialHospital in Rochester, New York, Lipsky became a Clinical Associate at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH in 1971. For the next four years, Lipsky received clinical training in rheumatology, allergy and infectious diseases and carried out research on the role of antigen presenting cells in initiating and regulating immune responses. In 1975, Lipsky moved to the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, initially as an Instructor in Internal Medicine and progressing to the rank of Professor of Internal Medicine and Microbiology in 1983.

Later appointments at SouthwesternMedicalCenter included Director of the HaroldCSimmonsArthritisResearchCenter, Co-Director of the Immunology Graduate Program, and Director of the Rheumatic Disease Division of the Department of Internal Medicine. Lipsky was named the Harold C Simmons Professor in Arthritis Research in 1995. From 1999-2004, he served as the Director of the Intramural Research Program at the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases and also as the founder and the Chief of the Autoimmunity Branch in NIAMS.

Delivering the Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2011 at the German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin Dr. Peter E. Lipsky will talk about „Development of New Therapeutics for Rheumatic Diseases“:

“Despite recent advances in the treatment of rheumatic diseases, current therapy remains imperfect. Biologic agents are not available to all because of cost, and in those receiving these products, remissions are uncommon, adverse events are too frequent and loss of efficacy because of immunogenicity is a progressive problem. Deductive science aimed at identifying new targets of therapy has produced new candidate treatments that are in development. Another source of new therapies is the large numbers of herbal products that have been used for years in traditional medicine. One of these is an extract of the deciduous vine Tripterygium wilfordii Hook F(TwHF, thundergod vine, Lei gong teng), which has been used in traditional Chinese medicine for more than 500 years. Although clinical experience suggests efficacy in a number of inflammatory conditions, the mechanism of action of this material as well as its impact on specific diseases have not been well documented. A research program was, therefore, undertaken to: 1. Identify the mechanism of action of extracts of TwHF; 2. Determine the active components; 3. Standardize growth and extraction procedures; and 4. Confirm efficacy in rheumatoid arthritis by controlled clinical trials. Through a series of in vitro and in vivo experiments, the mechanism of action of extracts of TwHF was demonstrated to involve the inhibition of transcription of a number of pro-inflammatory genes by interference with the activity of the transcription factors AP-1, NFAT and NF-KB. Although the extract contained more than 300 components, its activity could be ascribed to a small group of diterpenoid triepoxides, of which triptolide and tripdiolide were the major contributors. Standardization of the extraction procedure using sequential ethanol and ethyl acetate as well as controlled cultivation of single cultivar plants yielded a highly reproducible extract. Finally, to document efficacy in rheumatoid arthritis, controlled trials comparing the extract to placebo as well as an active comparator demonstrated significant clinical benefit and protection against radiographic progression. Benefit paralleled a significant decline in IL-6 levels. The efficacy of extracts of TwHF suggests that this material might be a useful therapy for rheumatoid arthritis and other rheumatic diseases and definitive trials are planned to test this possibility.”

Read more

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2011 

Prize winner

Dr. Anna-Barbara Stittrich from the German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin is awarded the Avrion Mitchison Prize 2011 for her work on „MicroRNA as new therapeutic target to treat rheumatoid arthritis“.

Learn more

Downloads 

Programme

Download File

You might also be interested in

December 05, 2017

Stefan Rose-John

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2017

December 04, 2018

Richard Burt

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2018

December 06, 2016

Mary B. Goldring

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2016

December 01, 2015

Michael L. Dustin

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

December 03, 2013

Tom W. J. Huizinga

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2013

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Dr. Peter E. Lipsky

Dr. Peter E. Lipsky

Peter E. Lipsky

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2011

Dr. Peter E. Lipsky

Peter E. Lipsky

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2011

„Development of New Therapeutics for Rheumatic Diseases“ – Die Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2011 hält Dr. Peter E. Lipsky (Charlottesville, VA, USA).

Nach Abschluss seines Medizinstudiums an der New York University School of Medicine und seiner Assistenzarztausbildung am Strong Memorial Hospital in Rochester, New York, war Lipsky von 1971 bis 1975 Clinical Associate am National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH, wo er neben seiner klinischen Ausbildung in Rheumatologie, Allergie- und Infektionskrankheiten auch zur Rolle der antigenpräsentierenden Zellen bei der Einleitung und Regulierung von Immunantworten forschte. 1975 wechselte Lipsky an das University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, wo er anfangs als Dozent für Innere Medizin und ab 1983 als Professor für Innere Medizin und Mikrobiologie tätig war.

In der Folge fungierte er dort unter anderem auch als Direktor des Harold C. Simmons-Forschungszentrums für Arthritis, als Kodirektor des Graduiertenprogramms in Immunologie sowie als Direktor der Abteilung für rheumatische Erkrankungen im Fachbereich für Innere Medizin. 1995 wurde Lipsky auf den Harold C. Simmons-Lehrstuhl für Arthritisforschung berufen. Von 1999 bis 2004 war er Direktor des Inneruniversitären Forschungsprogramms des National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases sowie Leiter der von ihm gegründeten Autoimmunity Branch des NIAMS.

Anlässlich der Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2011 im Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrum Berlin spricht Dr. Peter E. Lipsky zum Thema „Development of New Therapeutics for Rheumatic Diseases“:

“Trotz jüngster Fortschritte bei der Behandlung von rheumatischen Erkrankungen sind die derzeitigen Behandlungsmethoden nach wie vor mangelhaft. Biologika sind aus Kostengründen nicht jedem zugänglich, und wo sie verabreicht werden, tritt kaum eine Besserung des Krankheitsbildes ein, unerwünschte Zwischenfälle sind häufig, und auf Grund von Immunogenität kommt es im Laufe der Zeit zu nachlassender Wirksamkeit. Die deduktive Wissenschaft, welche die Identifizierung neuer Therapieangriffspunkte zum Ziel hat, hat mögliche neue Behandlungsansätze hervorgebracht, die derzeit in der Entwicklungsphase sind. Eine weitere Quelle neuer Therapien ist die große Anzahl von pflanzlichen Produkten, die seit langem in der traditionellen Medizin eingesetzt werden. Dazu gehört ein Extrakt der Kletterpflanze Tripterygium wilfordii Hook F (TwHF, Wilfords Dreiflügelfrucht, Donnerfürst-Ranke, Lei Gong Teng), das seit über 500 Jahren in der traditionellen chinesischen Medizin Verwendung findet. Obwohl ihre Wirksamkeit bei einer Reihe von Entzündungserkrankungen durch klinische Erfahrungen gestützt wird, sind die Wirkmechanismen der Pflanze sowie ihre Wirkung bei spezifischen Erkrankungen noch nicht ausreichend dokumentiert. Zu diesem Zweck wurde ein Forschungsprogramm durchgeführt, um 1. den Wirkmechanismus von TwHF-Extrakten zu identifizieren; 2. die aktiven Komponenten zu bestimmen; 3. die Wachstums- und Extraktionsverfahren zu standardisieren; und 4. die Wirksamkeit bei rheumatoider Arthritis durch kontrollierte klinische Studien zu bestätigen. Mit Hilfe mehrerer In-vitro- und In-vivo-Experimente zum Wirkmechanismus der TwHF-Extrakte konnte gezeigt werden, dass es zu einer Hemmung der Transkription einer Reihe von entzündungsfördernden Genen kommt, indem die Aktivität der Transkriptionsfaktoren AP-1, NFAT und NF-KB beeinträchtigt wird. Obwohl der Extrakt über 300 Komponenten enthält, konnte diese Aktivität einer kleinen Gruppe von diterpenoiden Triepoxiden zugeschrieben werden, wobei Triptolide und Tripdiolide die Hauptfaktoren sind. Die Standardisierung des Extraktionsverfahrens mit Hilfe von sequenziellem Ethanol und Ethylacetat sowie die kontrollierte Züchtung von einzelnen Kultivaren förderte ein Extrakt mit hoher Reproduzierbarkeit zutage. Schließlich konnte bei kontrollierten Versuchen zur Dokumentation der Wirksamkeit bei rheumatoider Arthritis in Vergleichen mit einem Placebo als auch einem aktiven Komparator ein deutlicher klinischer Nutzen und Schutz vor röntgenografischer Progression nachgewiesen werden. Ein deutlicher Abfall des IL-6-Spiegels war zu beobachten. Die Wirksamkeit von TwHF-Extrakten legt nahe, dass es sich dabei um eine nützliche Therapie bei rheumatoider Arthritis und anderen rheumatischen Erkrankungen handeln kann; endgültige Studien sind in Planung.“

Weiterlesen

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2011 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Stittrich vom Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrum in Berlin erhält den Avrion Mitchison Preis 2011 für ihre Arbeit „MicroRNA as new therapeutic target to treat rheumatoid arthritis“.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Programm

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

05.12.2017

Stefan Rose-John

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2017

04.12.2018

Richard Burt

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2018

06.12.2016

Mary B. Goldring

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2016

01.12.2015

Michael L. Dustin

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

03.12.2013

Tom W. J. Huizinga

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram