Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Prof. Frank P. Luyten

Prof. Frank P. Luyten
Photo: SA Karott’ NV, Brussels

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

Prof. Frank P. Luyten
Photo: SA Karott’ NV, Brussels

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

Professor Frank P. Luyten – Division of Rheumatology, University Hospitals Leuven & Skeletal Biology and Engineering Research Center, KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium on “Reconstruction of the Joint: from Development to Engineering”

Frank P. Luyten obtained his MD (1980), PhD and board certification in Rheumatology (1986) from the University of Ghent, Belgium. He spent his postdoctoral training at the National Institute of Dental Research (NIDR), National Institutes of Health, in Bethesda, Maryland (USA) between 1986 and 1991. Subsequently, he became a group leader at the Developmental Biology Unit at the Bone Research Branch of the NIDR until 1997. In the fall of 1997, Luyten accepted the position of head of the Division of Rheumatology at the University Hospitals Leuven and was appointed professor at the KU Leuven.

Professor Luyten about his lecture on “Reconstruction of the Joint: from Development to Engineering”

“When we seek to repair damaged joints, two major approaches are possible, i.e. enhancing endogenous repair mechanisms and/or extrinsic repair. Endogenous (intrinsic) repair may be targeted in different phases of tissue healing including the use of methods/surgical procedures or compounds affecting inflammation, debris removal and cell recruitment, followed by stimulation of cell proliferation, differentiation and tissue formation. When intrinsic repair is insufficient or inappropriate, in the latter case leading to scar tissue formation, extrinsic repair, i.e. tissue engineering approaches, needs to be considered. These include growth factor formulations, smart biomaterials, cell populations and more powerful combination products that drive tissue repair and support and guide locally the tissue regeneration processes. Much of the success of these strategies is also dependent on the microenvironment, and thus on the understanding of the local cellular and molecular processes in the affected joint.

An overview will be presented of the existing and evolving strategies seeking to repair damaged joints. They include cell-based treatments such as autologous chondrocyte implantation, and variations thereof, and the use of stem cell populations. Major challenges are encountered in the case of deeper osteochondral defects and the reconstruction of full joints, triggering novel avenues for tissue engineered solutions. We still lack understanding of the developmental, cell and molecular biology of the diarthrodal joint, preventing us to take a scientifically sound developmental engineering approach. New enabling technologies are required to translate this into robust manufacturing processes of these 3D products classified as Advanced Therapeutic Medicinal Products (ATMP). The lecture will also discuss some future trends, including ongoing efforts to make biological joints.”

Read more

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2014 

Prize winner

Dr. Schauer from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg is awarded the Avrion Mitchison Prize 2014 for her work “Aggregated neutrophil extracellular traps limit inflammation by degrading cytokines and chemokines”.

Learn more

Downloads 

Programme

Download File

You might also be interested in

December 05, 2017

Stefan Rose-John

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2017

December 04, 2018

Richard Burt

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2018

December 06, 2016

Mary B. Goldring

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2016

December 01, 2015

Michael L. Dustin

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

December 03, 2013

Tom W. J. Huizinga

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2013

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Prof. Frank P. Luyten

Prof. Frank P. Luyten
Foto: SA Karott’ NV, Brussels

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

Prof. Frank P. Luyten
Foto: SA Karott’ NV, Brussels

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

Professor Frank P. Luyten – Abteilung für Rheumatologie, Universitätskliniken Leuven und Forschungszentrum für Skelettbiologie und Engineering, KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgien über „Gelenkrekonstruktionen: von der Entwicklung zum Engineering“

Frank P. Luyten erwarb 1980 seinen MD und 1986 seinen PhD und die Zulassung als Rheumatologe an der Universität Ghent, Belgien. Zwischen 1986 und 1991 absolvierte er einen Postdoc-Aufenthalt am National Institute of Dental Research (NIDR) der National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland (USA). Danach war er bis 1997 Forschungsgruppenleiter in der Abteilung für Entwicklungsbiologie im Fachbereich Knochenforschung des NIDR. Im Herbst 1997 nahm Luyten die Stelle als Leiter der Rheumatologischen Abteilung an den Universitätskliniken Leuven und einen Ruf als Professor an die KU Leuven an.

Professor Luyten über seinen Vortrag zum Thema „Gelenkrekonstruktionen: von der Entwicklung zum Engineering“

„Bei der Wiederherstellung der Funktionsfähigkeit beschädigter Gelenke gibt es zwei mögliche Herangehensweisen: die Förderung der endogenen (intrinsischen) Reparaturmechanismen oder eine extrinsische Reparatur. Endogene Reparaturen eignen sich in verschiedenen Stadien der Gewebeheilung, darunter auch bei der Verwendung von Methoden/chirurgischen Verfahren oder chemischen Verbindungen, welche die Entzündung, Entfernung von Ablagerungen und Zellrekrutierung und im Weiteren die Zellstimulierung und -Differenzierung sowie Gewebebildung beeinflussen. Wenn die intrinsische Reparatur unzureichend oder ungeeignet ist, weil es z.B. zu der Bildung von Narbengewebe kommt, müssen extrinsische Reparaturmechanismen, d.h. Ansätze des Tissue Engineering, in Betracht gezogen werden. Dazu gehören die Entwicklung von Wachstumsfaktoren, intelligente Biomaterialien, Zellpopulationen und wirksamere Kombinationsprodukte, welche die Gewebeheilung vorantreiben und den Geweberegenerationsprozess lokal unterstützen und lenken. Der Erfolg dieser Strategien hängt darüber hinaus großteils vom Mikromilieu und folglich vom Verständnis der lokalen zellulären und molekulären Prozesse in dem betroffenen Gelenk ab.

Der Vortrag liefert einen Überblick über bestehende und in der Entwicklung befindliche Strategien zur Wiederherstellung beschädigter Gelenke. Dazu gehören zellbasierte Therapien wie autologe Knorpelzelltransplantationen (ACT) und deren Varianten sowie die Verwendung von Stammzellen. Die größten Herausforderungen sind dabei tiefergehende osteochondrale (d.h. Knochen-Knorpel-) Defekte und die Rekonstruktion vollständiger Gelenke, welche neue Ansätze im Tissue Engineering erforderlich machen. Da die Entwicklungsbiologie sowie die zelluläre und molekulare Biologe des diarthrodialen Gelenks nach wie vor weitgehend unbekannt sind, ist der Entwicklungs-Engineering-Ansatz noch nicht ausreichend wissenschaftlich fundiert. Es bedarf neuer Grundlagentechnologien, damit die Herstellung von diesen 3D-Produkten, die als Arzneimittel für neuartige Therapien (Advanced Therapeutic Medicinal Products, ATMP) klassifiziert sind, gelingt. Der Vortrag wird darüber hinaus auch einige Zukunftstrends erörtern, darunter zum Beispiel die Herstellung biologischer Gelenke.“

Weiterlesen

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2014 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Schauer von der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg erhält den Avrion Mitchison Preis 2014 für ihre Forschungsarbeit „Aggregated neutrophil extracellular traps limit inflammation by degrading cytokines and chemokines“.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Programm

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

05.12.2017

Stefan Rose-John

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2017

04.12.2018

Richard Burt

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2018

06.12.2016

Mary B. Goldring

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2016

01.12.2015

Michael L. Dustin

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

03.12.2013

Tom W. J. Huizinga

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram