Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Dr. Christine Schauer

Dr. Christine Schauer

Christine Schauer

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2014

Dr. Christine Schauer

Christine Schauer

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2014


Dr. Christine Schauer is the recipient of the 2014 Avrion Mitchison Prize for Rheumatology for her work “Aggregated neutrophil extracellular traps limit inflammation by degrading cytokines and chemokines,” published in Nature Medicine.

Schauer (born 1982) studied biology at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg from 2002 to 2008. In 2013, she completed her doctorate at the university’s Institute for Clinical Immunology on ”Mechanisms of monosodium urate induced inflammation“ under the supervision of Prof. Martin Herrmann. Schauer is currently project head of a junior project on “Neutrophil-induced resolution of inflammation in gouty arthritis” at the Interdisciplinary Center for Clinical Research (IZKF) in Erlangen.

Christine Schauer about her research work

“Gouty arthritis is triggered by depositions of monosodium urate (MSU) crystals in joints and tissues. This inflammatory process leads to painful gouty attacks. Interestingly, an acute gouty attack is a self-limiting process despite the presence of residual MSU crystals during remission. The mechanism of this big enigma of gouty arthritis was still elusive.

In our article “Aggregated neutrophil extracellular traps limit inflammation by degrading cytokines and chemokines” (Nat Med. 2014 May;20(5):511-7), we present a new concept of resolving inflammation in gouty arthritis: neutrophil granulocytes, cells of the immune system, which were attracted by MSU crystals, form neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs). These NETs form networks which are composed of DNA and proteolytic proteins. In inflamed tissues the density of neutrophils is very high and the NETs clump together and form aggregated NETs. These aggregates degrade and inactivate inflammatory mediators (cytokines and chemokines), which contribute to the acute inflammation. Aggregated NETs can also be found in patients with gouty attacks as deposited gouty tophi. Furthermore, in our article we show that in individuals who cannot form aggregated NETs, MSU crystals induce an uncontrolled production of proinflammatory mediators which leads to a chronic inflammation without self-limiting character.

Our described mechanism of self-limiting resolution of inflammation may also play a role in other neutrophil-driven inflammatory processes. In addition, therapeutic intervention exploiting the mechanisms described in our article might involve shifting the balance toward the resolution of inflammation by promoting aggregation of NETs.”

As part of the award ceremony, Professor Martin Herrmann, from the Institute for Clinical Immunology at the Erlangen University Hospital, will speak on behalf of the prize recipient. He will present her research by giving a talk entitled “Kamikaze cells stop inflammation in gouty arthritis.” The lecture will be given in English.

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony

December 02, 2014, 5–7:30 p.m.
Avrion-Mitchison-Prize for Rheumatology 2014 and Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte | Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin

Seite des DRFZ

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014 

Lecture — December 01, 2014

On December 2nd, 2014 at 6.10 p.m. the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture is hold by Prof. Luyten Division of Rheumatology, University Hospitals Leuven on "Reconstruction of the Joint: from Development to Engineering”.

Learn more

Downloads 

Curriculum Vitae

Christine Schauer

Download File

Programme

Download File

You might also be interested in

December 05, 2017

Rafael Leite Dantas

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2017

December 04, 2018

Quirin Sebastian Hammer

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2018

December 06, 2016

Corinna Wehmeyer

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2016

December 01, 2015

Caroline von Spee-Mayer and Christian Neumann

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2015

December 03, 2013

Dirk Baumjohann

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2013

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Dr. Christine Schauer

Dr. Christine Schauer

Christine Schauer

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2014

Dr. Christine Schauer

Christine Schauer

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2014


Dr. Christine Schauer, wird mit dem Avrion Mitchison Preis für Rheumatologie 2014 für ihre Arbeit „Aggregated neutrophil extracellular traps limit inflammation by degrading cytokines and chemokines“ in Nature Medicine ausgezeichnet.

Christine Schauer (Jg. 1982), studierte von 2002 bis 2008 an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg das Fach Biologie. Am dortigen Institut für klinische Immunologie promovierte sie im Jahre 2013 zum Thema „Mechanisms of monosodium urate induced inflammation“ bei Prof. Martin Herrmann. Aktuell ist Schauer Projektleiterin des Erstantragstellerprojekt „Neutrophilen-induzierte Limitation der Entzündung in der Gichtarthritis“ am Interdisziplinäre Zentrum für Klinische Forschung Erlangen (IZKF).

Christine Schauer über ihre Forschungsarbeit

„Bei Patienten mit akuter Gicht kommt es durch Ablagerungen von Uratkristallen in Gelenken und Geweben zu berüchtigt schmerzhaften Entzündungen. Interessanterweise klingt ein akuter Gichtanfall nach ein paar Tagen auch unbehandelt selbständig ab, obwohl die Ursache der Entzündung, die nadelförmigen Uratkristalle, nach wie vor im Gewebe zu finden sind. Die Mechanismen und Ursachen dieser Selbstheilung der Entzündung waren bisher nicht bekannt.
In unserer aktuellen Publikation “Aggregated neutrophil extracellular traps limit inflammation by degrading cytokines and chemokines” (Nat Med. 2014 May;20(5):511-7) präsentieren wir ein neues Konzept, welches die schnelle Selbstbegrenzung der akuten Entzündung bei der Gicht erklärt: Neutrophile Granulozyten produzieren sog. „Neutrophil extracellular traps“ (NETs), weite Netze, die sich aus DNS und proteolytischen Proteinen zusammensetzen. Wenn die Dichte der neutrophilen Granulozyten sehr hoch ist, wie es z.B. in entzündetem Gewebe der Fall ist, bilden diese Netze größere Aggregate (sog. aggNETs). In diesen aggNETs werden entzündliche Botenstoffe (Zytokine), die für die Aufrechterhaltung einer Entzündung vonnöten sind, inaktiviert und abgebaut. Bei den im Patienten vorkommenden Tophi handelt es sich um über Jahre gereifte aggNETs.
Wir zeigen, dass es in Individuen, die aufgrund genetischer Mutationen keine aggNETs bilden können, als Reaktion auf Uratkristalle zu einer unkontrollierten Produktion von Zytokinen und damit zu chronischer Entzündung im betroffenen Gewebe kommt. Der von uns beschriebene Mechanismus der selbständigen Limitation der Inflammation ist potenziell auch bei anderen Entzündungsreaktionen, bei denen neutrophile Granulozyten eine Rolle spielen, von Bedeutung. Durch die Aufklärung dieses wichtigen Aspekts der Pathogenese der Gicht sind in der Zukunft neue Therapieoptionen denkbar.“

Im Rahmen der Preisverleihung spricht stellvertretend für die Preisträgerin Professor Martin Herrmann, Institut für klinische Immunologie am Universitätsklinikum Erlangen. Er stellt die Forschungsarbeit unter dem Vortragstitel „Kamikaze cells stop inflammation in gouty arthritis“ vor. Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung

02.12.2014, 17–19:30 Uhr
Avrion-Mitchison-Preis für Rheumatologie 2014 und Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte | Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin

Seite des DRFZ

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014 

Vortrag — 01.12.2014

Am 2.12.2014 um 18:10 Uhr spricht Prof. Luyten von der Abteilung für Rheumatologie, Universitätskliniken Leuven im Rahmen der Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture über „Gelenkrekonstruktionen: von der Entwicklung zum Engineering“.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Christine Schauer

Datei laden

Programm

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

05.12.2017

Rafael Leite Dantas

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2017

04.12.2018

Quirin Sebastian Hammer

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2018

06.12.2016

Corinna Wehmeyer

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2016

01.12.2015

Caroline von Spee-Mayer und Christian Neumann

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2015

03.12.2013

Dirk Baumjohann

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram