Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer

Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer

Dr. Christian Neumann

Dr. Christian Neumann

Caroline von Spee-Mayer and Christian Neumann

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2015

Caroline von Spee-Mayer and Christian Neumann

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2015


This year’s Avrion Mitchison Prize for the best research work in rheumatology is awarded to two scientists: Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer and Dr. Christian Neumann, both working at the German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ). Dr. von Spee-Mayer will talk about “Regulatory T Cells and Interleukin-2 in the Pathogenesis and the Treatment of SLE.” Dr. Neumann will present his work by giving a lecture entitled “Inflammatory Th1 and Th17 cells employ different transcriptional networks to control immune-regulatory IL-10 expression.”

Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer is a researcher in the “Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology” research group of Prof. Dr. Gabriela Riemekasten, a liaison group of the German Rheumatism Research Center and the Charité Berlin. In her lecture on “Regulatory T Cells and Interleukin-2 in the Pathogenesis and the Treatment of SLE,” Spee-Mayer will explain that an Interleukin-2 deficiency is responsible for changes in the regulatory T-cell population, thus playing an important role in the pathogenesis of the autoimmune disease systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE). Spee-Mayer’s work provides the foundation for the clinical translation of an Interleukin-2-based therapy as a new treatment option for SLE patients. Initial promising results suggest that a low-dose Interleukin-2 therapy is an effective and safe way to treat patients with long-term refractory SLE, demonstrating the importance of this work for rheumatology research and the development of urgently needed treatment approaches.

Dr. Christian Neumann is a researcher in the “Cellular Immunology” research group of Prof. Dr. Alexander Scheffold, a liaison group of the German Rheumatism Research Center and the Charité Berlin. In his lecture, “Inflammatory Th1 and Th17 cells employ different transcriptional networks to control immune-regulatory IL-10 expression,” he will talk about inflammatory T cells. These cells have the ability to shut themselves off. A lack of self-control can result in excessive inflammatory reactions and autoimmunity. Neumann was able to describe the molecular factors and regulatory pathways that control this self-limitation. This knowledge could be used to activate the physiological self-healing powers of pathogenous T cells in order to restore the natural balance of the immune response.

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony

December 01, 2015, 5–7:30 p.m.
Avrion-Mitchison-Prize for Rheumatology 2015 and Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte | Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin

Seite des DRFZ

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015 

Lecture — December 01, 2015

On December 1st, 2015 at 6.10 p.m. the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture is hold by Prof. Dustin from the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology in Oxford on „Mechanisms of information transfer at immunological synapses“.

Learn more

Downloads 

Abstract

Caroline von Spee-Mayer

Download File

Curriculum Vitae

Christian Neumann

Download File

Abstract

Christian Neumann

Download File

Programme

Download File

You might also be interested in

December 05, 2017

Rafael Leite Dantas

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2017

December 04, 2018

Quirin Sebastian Hammer

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2018

December 06, 2016

Corinna Wehmeyer

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2016

December 02, 2014

Christine Schauer

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2014

December 03, 2013

Dirk Baumjohann

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2013

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer

Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer

Dr. Christian Neumann

Dr. Christian Neumann

Caroline von Spee-Mayer und Christian Neumann

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2015

Caroline von Spee-Mayer und Christian Neumann

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2015


Der Avrion Mitchison Preis für die beste Forschungsarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Rheumatologie geht in diesem Jahr gleich an zwei Wissenschaftler: Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer und Dr. Christian Neumann, beide vom DRFZ. Beide Preisträger werden ihre Forschungsarbeiten anlässlich der Preisverleihung am 01. Dezember 2015 im DRFZ vorstellen.

Dr. Caroline von Spee-Mayer forscht in der Arbeitsgruppe „Rheumatologie und Klinische Immunologie“ von Prof. Dr. Gabriela Riemekasten, eine Liaison-Gruppe des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums und der Charité Berlin. In ihrem Vortrag „Regulatory T cells and Interleukin-2 in the pathogenesis and the treatment of SLE” erläutert Spee-Mayer, dass ein Interleukin-2 Defizit für Veränderungen in der regulatorischen T Zell Population verantwortlich ist und somit eine wichtige Rolle in der Pathogenese der Autoimmunerkrankung Systemischer Lupus Erythematodes (SLE) spielt. Spee-Mayers Arbeit  liefert die Grundlagen für die klinische Translation einer interleukin-2-basierten Therapie als neue Behandlungsmöglichkeit für Patienten mit SLE. Erste vielversprechende Ergebnisse weisen darauf hin, dass niedrig dosiertes Interleukin-2 eine wirkungsvolle und sichere Therapie für Patienten mit langjährigem refraktären SLE darstellt, und machen somit die Bedeutung dieser Arbeit für die rheumatologische Forschung und die Entwicklung dringend benötigter neuer Therapieansätze deutlich.

Dr. Christian Neumann forscht in der Arbeitsgruppe „Zelluläre Immunologie“ von Prof. Dr. Alexander Scheffold, eine Liaison-Gruppe des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums und der Charité Berlin. In seinem Vortrag „Inflammatory Th1 and Th17 cells employ different transcriptional networks to control immune-regulatory IL-10 expression“ spricht er über entzündungsfördernde T-Zellen. Diese besitzen die Fähigkeit sich selbst abzuschalten. Fehlende Selbstkontrolle kann zu überschießenden Entzündungsreaktionen und Autoimmunität beitragen. Neumann konnte die molekularen Faktoren und Regulationswege beschreiben, die diese Selbstlimitierung kontrollieren. Dieses Wissen könnte zu einer gezielten Aktivierung der physiologischen Selbstheilungskräfte von pathogenen T-Zellen eingesetzt werden, um die natürliche Balance der Immunantwort wieder herzustellen.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung

01.12.2015, 17–19:30 Uhr
Avrion-Mitchison-Preis für Rheumatologie 2015 und Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte | Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin

Seite des DRFZ

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015 

Vortrag — 01.12.2015

Am 1. Dezember 2015 um 18:10 Uhr spricht Prof. Dustin vom Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology in Oxford anlässlich der Albrecht Hasinger Lecture zum Thema „Mechanisms of information transfer at immunological synapses“.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Abstract

Caroline von Spee-Mayer

Datei laden

Lebenslauf

Christian Neumann

Datei laden

Abstract

Christian Neumann

Datei laden

Programm

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

05.12.2017

Rafael Leite Dantas

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2017

04.12.2018

Quirin Sebastian Hammer

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2018

06.12.2016

Corinna Wehmeyer

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2016

02.12.2014

Christine Schauer

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2014

03.12.2013

Dirk Baumjohann

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram