Schering Stiftung

Opera 

The Snow Queen | Fairy-Tale Opera for Children

The Snow Queen | Fairy-Tale Opera for Children

Date:

October 24, 2010, 4–6 p.m.


18.10.2010, Berlin | On October 24, 2010, the Große Bühne (Big Stage) of the Komische Oper Berlin once again opens its doors to children: The premiere of the fairy-tale opera “The Snow Queen” takes children from the age of 6 on a long and arduous yet exciting journey with little Gerda who sets out to find her best friend Kay. At an artistically high level, it gets children excited about musical theater and introduces them to contemporary classical music: The Komische Oper Berlin commissioned composer Pierangelo Valtinoni and librettist Paolo Madron to create a new composition.

The music composed by Pierangelo Valtinoni is as colorful and varied as Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tale: Fascinated by a track of ice crystals – people frozen to ice after they wandered into the empire of the mysterious Snow Queen – Little Kay disappears. His friend Gerda goes looking for him. Along the way, she meets helpful and not so helpful people, talking animals, and all kinds of strange creatures, and gets herself into both nice and scary situations until she manages to rescue Kay from the power of the Snow Queen. Thoroughly tonal and distinguished by much melodic creativity, Valtinoni’s composition has both touching effects and humorous ideas that emphasize the macabre and bizarre situations. In a suspenseful yet entertaining manner, the piece thus reflects on the difficulties, fears, and insecurities that children and young people confront during their development.

By supporting “The Snow Queen,” the Schering Stiftung recognizes the long-standing commitment of the Komische Oper Berlin to help children and youth gain a deeper understanding of contemporary musical theater through the means of experimental music drama. Most of the funding went into the development of the new composition. The Komische Oper’s program of about 250 workshops and a new children’s production a year as well as its children’s choir, which promotes young talents, have become important and strong pillars of arts education in Berlin. Like with its other productions, the Opera offers school groups free introductory workshops on the children’s opera “The Snow Queen.” After the premiere, educational material is available for download from the website of the Komische Oper Berlin or can be obtained upon request

The Snow Queen
Fairy-Tale Opera in Two Acts by Pierangelo Valtinoni
Libretto by Paolo Madron
A work commissioned by the Komische Oper Berlin

Premiere: October 24, 2010, at 4 p.m.

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55 | 10117 Berlin

Additional Performances:
October 31 and November 21, at 4 p.m.
November 1, 8, 22 and December 2, 7, 15, 21, 25, at 11 a.m.
December 3, at 6 p.m.

Tickets (from €8 to €18) can be ordered by phone by calling the ticket office of the Komische Oper Berlin (Phone: +49.30.47 99 74 00; Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m., Sunday and holidays, 2 p.m. to 8 p.m.) or by sending an email to karten@komische-oper-berlin.de.

Further information is available at:
www.komische-oper-berlin.de

Photos:

1. Elisabeth Starzinger (The Flower Woman/Woman from Lapland), Children’s Choir of the Komische Oper Berlin, Photographer: Iko Freese

2. Anna Borchers (Gerda), Photographer: Iko Freese

 

 

 

You might also be interested in

October 18, 2018

Art Workshop “Bunte Spinne”

Art Workshops for Children and Youth at the SOS Children’s Village Berlin-Moabit

January 01 – December 31, 2020

Max – Artists in Residence at Schools

Art encounters at schools

April 01, 2021 – April 01, 2022

The amazing Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt

A theater project of the Komödie am Kurfürstendamm

March 01 – June 30, 2019, Berlin

Copykids

An Outreach Project in Connection with the Exhibition “Mantegna and Bellini: Masters of the Renaissance”

January 01, 2019 – December 31, 2020, 10969 Berlin

Standortwechsel

Open Art Studio

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Oper 

Die Schneekönigin | Märchenoper für Kinder

Die Schneekönigin | Märchenoper für Kinder

Termin:

24.10.2010, 16–18 Uhr


18.10.2010, Berlin | Am 24. Oktober 2010 öffnet die Große Bühne der Komischen Oper Berlin wieder für die Kleinen: Die Märchenoper „Die Schneekönigin“ feiert Premiere und nimmt Kinder ab 6 Jahre mit auf die lange und beschwerliche, dabei immer spannende Reise, die das Mädchen Gerda unternimmt, um ihren besten Freund Kay wiederzufinden. Auf künstlerisch hohem Niveau werden hier bereits die Jüngsten für das Musiktheater begeistert und dabei gleichzeitig an die Neue Musik herangeführt: Für die Oper wurden der Komponist Pierangelo Valtinoni und der Librettist Paolo Madron beauftragt, eine Neukomposition zu schaffen.

Pierangelo Valtinoni hat eine Musik komponiert, die ebenso farben- und abwechslungsreich ist wie Hans Christian Andersens Märchen: Der kleine Kay folgt fasziniert einer Spur von Eiskristallen – zu Eis erstarrte Menschen, die in das Reich der geheimnisvollen Schneekönigen wanderten – und verschwindet. Seine Freundin Gerda macht sich auf die Suche nach ihm. Auf ihrem Weg trifft sie hilfsbereite und weniger hilfsbereite Menschen, sprechende Tiere und alle möglichen skurrilen Gestalten, erlebt schöne und gruslige Situationen, bis sie ihren Kay schließlich aus der Macht der Schneekönigin retten kann. Die von Valtinoni durchgehend tonale, durch großen melodischen Einfallsreichtum gekennzeichnete Komposition spart weder mit rührenden Effekten noch mit witzigen Einfällen, die die makaber-skurrilen Situationen unterstreichen. Entstanden ist ein Werk, das die Schwierigkeiten, Ängste und Unsicherheiten, mit denen sich Kinder und Jugendliche in ihrer Entwicklung konfrontiert sehen, auf eine spannende und trotz allem leichte Art reflektiert.

Mit der Förderung von „Die Schneekönigin“ zeichnet die Schering Stiftung das jahrelange professionelle Engagement der Komischen Oper Berlin aus, Kinder und Jugendliche mit experimentellen musikdramatischen Mitteln an ein zeitgemäßes, vertieftes Musiktheaterverständnis heranzuführen. Die Fördermittel galten insbesondere der Entstehung der Neukomposition. Das Angebot der Komischen Oper von jährlich rund 250 Workshops und einer Neuproduktion für Kinder sowie die Nachwuchsförderung in ihrem Kinderchor sind zu einem wichtigen und nachhaltigen Pfeiler der kulturellen Bildung in Berlin geworden. Für die Kinderoper „Die Schneekönigin“ können Schulklassen – wie bei anderen Inszenierungen auch – an kostenlosen Einführungsworkshops teilnehmen. Pädagogisches Begleitmaterial lässt sich ab der Premiere von der Homepage der Komischen Oper Berlin  herunterladen oder wird auf Anfrage zugeschickt.

Die Schneekönigin
Märchenoper in zwei Akten von Pierangelo Valtinoni
Libretto von Paolo Madron
Auftragswerk der Komischen Oper Berlin

Premiere: 24.10.2010, 16.00 Uhr

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55 | 10117 Berlin

Fotos:

1. Elisabeth Starzinger (Die Blumenfrau/Die Frau aus Lappland), Kinderchor der Komischen Oper Berlin, Fotograf: Iko Freese

2. Anna Borchers (Gerda), Fotograf: Iko Freese

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

18.10.2018

Kunstwerkstatt Bunte Spinne

Kunstworkshops für Kinder und Jugendliche im SOS-Kinderdorf Berlin-Moabit

01.01.2020

Max – Artists in Residence

Kunstbegegnungen in der Schule

01.03. – 30.06.2019, Berlin

Copykids

Ein Vermittlungsprojekt zur Ausstellung „Mantegna und Bellini. Meister der Renaissance“

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram