Schering Stiftung

Artist talk 

Opening

Opening "PushMi PullYu"on 11/9/2020, curator Christina Landbrecht, Carmen Aguilar y Wedge (Hyphen-Labs), Prof. John-Dylan Haynes
Photo: Ink Agop

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Epsiode 2: Hyphen-Labs in conversation with John-Dylan Haynes on "PushMi PullYu"

Opening "PushMi PullYu"on 11/9/2020, curator Christina Landbrecht, Carmen Aguilar y Wedge (Hyphen-Labs), Prof. John-Dylan Haynes
Photo: Ink Agop

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Epsiode 2: Hyphen-Labs in conversation with John-Dylan Haynes on "PushMi PullYu"

Date:

December 10, 2020

Find the Podcast in our media library and here:

Spotify

Apple Podcasts

Deezer

Google Podcasts

Soundcloud


The episode provides insights into the year-long exchange between art and design studio Hyphen-Labs and neuroscientist John-Dylan Haynes. Working in his lab and with his team was crucial in developing the installation “PushMi PullYu,” which mediates between the fields of neuroscience, philosophy, and lay people’s understanding of neuronal processes.

In this episode, Haynes and Hyphen-Labs’ Carmen Aguilar y Wedge and Ece Tankal accessibly discuss complex topics such as swarm behavior (and whether machines can be programmed to do this too), the impact an individual can have on a collective, and the challenges presented by neuroscientific research.

Audio

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 2: How far is the distance between yourself and your thoughts? Hyphen-Labs in conversation with John-Dylan Haynes

Visit the media library

The Speakers 

Hyphen-Labs is an international team of women of color working at the intersection of technology, art, and science. Its focus is on engaging with current societal discourses and scientific issues as well as technological developments. Founded in 2014 by the Mexican-American engineer Carmen Aguilar y Wedge and the Turkish architect Ece Tankal, the studio has collaborated with psychologists, programmers, artists, and scientists ever since. For PushMi PullYu, the artists collaborated with Dr. Mary Katherine Heinrich, swarm researcher and expert on artificial intelligence systems, who was responsible for the programming, and the IT studio Kai Lab, which hacked the Roombas using their own homemade hardware that sits on the machines like a crown.

Close

Professor John-Dylan Haynes is the director of the Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging (BCAN) and professor at the Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience (BCCN) at Charité Berlin. With his research, the psychologist and neuroscientist contributes, among other things, to our understanding of mental states such as consciousness and intuition.

Close

You might also be interested in

November 25, 2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 1: Making of "PushMi PullYu"

February 12, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 3: The Studio and the Classroom: Max – Artists in Residence at Schools

June 25, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the scenes

September 10, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 5: Zheng Bo and Tom Crowther

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Künstlergespräch 

Eröffnung

Eröffnung "PushMi PullYu" am 11.9.2020, Kuratorin Christina Landbrecht, Carmen Aguilar y Wedge (Hyphen-Labs), Prof. John-Dylan Haynes
Foto: Ink Agop

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 2: Hyphen-Labs im Gespräch mit John-Dylan Haynes über "PushMi PullYu"

Eröffnung "PushMi PullYu" am 11.9.2020, Kuratorin Christina Landbrecht, Carmen Aguilar y Wedge (Hyphen-Labs), Prof. John-Dylan Haynes
Foto: Ink Agop

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 2: Hyphen-Labs im Gespräch mit John-Dylan Haynes über "PushMi PullYu"

Termin:

10.12.2020

Sie finden den Podcast in unserer Mediathek und hier:

Spotify

Apple Podcasts

Deezer

Google Podcasts

Soundcloud


In Folge zwei des Schering Stiftung Podcasts gewähren Hyphen-Labs Einblick in ihren über ein Jahr andauernden Dialog mit dem Neurowissenschaftler Prof. John-Dylan Haynes. Der Aufenthalt in seinem Labor und die Arbeit mit seinem Team waren für die Entwicklung der Installation „PushMi PullYu“, die Neurowissenschaft, Philosophie und das allgemeine Verständnis neuronaler Prozesse in ein Spannungsfeld setzt, von zentraler Bedeutung.

Unterhaltsam diskutieren die Künstlerinnen und Haynes komplexe Themen wie etwa Schwarmverhalten und die Frage, ob sich dieses auf Maschinen übertragen lässt, den Einfluss des Einzelnen auf das Kollektiv sowie die Herausforderungen neurowissenschaftlicher Forschung.In Folge zwei des Schering Stiftung Podcasts gewähren Hyphen-Labs Einblick in ihren über ein Jahr andauernden Dialog mit dem Neurowissenschaftler Prof. John-Dylan Haynes. Der Aufenthalt in seinem Labor und die Arbeit mit seinem Team waren für die Entwicklung der Installation „PushMi PullYu“, die Neurowissenschaft, Philosophie und das allgemeine Verständnis neuronaler Prozesse in ein Spannungsfeld setzt, von zentraler Bedeutung.

Unterhaltsam diskutieren die Künstlerinnen und Haynes komplexe Themen wie etwa Schwarmverhalten und die Frage, ob sich dieses auf Maschinen übertragen lässt, den Einfluss des Einzelnen auf das Kollektiv sowie die Herausforderungen neurowissenschaftlicher Forschung.

Audio

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 2: How far is the distance between yourself and your thoughts? Hyphen-Labs im Gespräch mit John-Dylan Haynes

Mediathek besuchen

Die Sprecher*innen 

Hyphen-Labs arbeiten an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie. Die Auseinandersetzung mit aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Diskursen und wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen sowie technologischen Entwicklungen steht im Zentrum der Arbeit. Das Studio wurde 2014 von der mexikanisch-amerikanischen Ingenieurin Carmen Aguilar y Wedge und der türkischen Architektin Ece Tankal gegründet. Seither haben sie mit Psycholog*innen, Programmie-rer*innen, Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen zusammengearbeitet. Im Falle von PushMi PullYu arbeiteten die Künstlerinnen mit der Schwarmforscherin und Expertin für künstlich intelligente Systeme, Dr. Mary Katherine Heinrich, die für die Programmierung verantwortlich war sowie dem IT Studio Kai Lab, das die Roombas mittels einer selbst entwickelten Hardware, die nun wie eine Krone auf den Maschinen sitzt, gehackt hat.

Schliessen

Prof. John-Dylan Haynes ist Direktor des Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging (BCAN) und Professor am Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience (BCCN) der Charité Berlin. In seiner Forschung beschäftigt sich der Psychologe und Neurowissenschaftler unter anderem mit der Entschlüsselung mentaler Zustände wie Bewusstsein oder Intuition.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

25.11.2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 1: Making-of der Ausstellung "PushMi PullYu"

12.02.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 3: Kunst und Klassenzimmer: Max – Artists in Residence an Schulen

25.06.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the scenes

10.09.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 5: Zheng Bo und Tom Crowther

19.10.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 6: Aviv Regev und Judith Feucht

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram