Schering Stiftung

Artist talk 

Simone Schürle and Susanne M. Winterling in conversation

Simone Schürle and Susanne M. Winterling in conversation
Photo: Jan Welchering © ETH Zürich

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the scenes

Simone Schürle and Susanne M. Winterling in conversation
Photo: Jan Welchering © ETH Zürich

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the scenes

Date:

June 25, 2021

Find the Podcast in our media library and here:

Spotify

Apple Podcasts

Deezer

Google Podcasts

Soundcloud


Artist Susanne M. Winterling and nanoengineer Prof. Dr. Simone Schürle talk about their intensive collaboration in the joint development of the exhibition. They provide insight into Schürle’s work in the “Responsive Biomedical Systems Lab” at ETH Zurich and the exchange between the two on the themes of “TEMPERATE”.

They also discuss scientific imaging methods and the technology behind them, and talk about cultivating bacteria as well as about “being in the lab,” which Winterling describes as one of the central experiences in preparation for the exhibition project.

Audio

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the Scenes

Visit the media library

Susanne M. Winterling: TEMPERATE – 

Exhibition — May 20 – September 19, 2021

A fluorescent bacterium is the protagonist of Susanne M. Winterling’s installation “TEMPERATE.” Visitors meet the glowing bacterium in an exhibition room heated to body temperature.

Learn more

The Speakers 

Susanne Winterling works across a range of media to explore the sentient economy, cultures and transformations of elements and materialisations. With an emphasis on enhancing our perceptual and critical consciousness, Winterling undertakes affective and material-based research that highlights interaction between materials, elements and species. Susanne Winterling lives in Berlin.

Close

Simone Schürle is researching in the field of biomedical engineering and Assistant Professor for Responsive Biomedical Systems at ETH Zurich. She graduated in 2009 from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Industrial Engineering and Management with specialization in micro/nanosystems. She then joined the Institute of Robotics and Intelligent Systems at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ) where she focused on magnetic manipulation techniques for biomedical applications. She was awarded with the ETH medal for her doctoral thesis and with fellowships from the SNSF, DAAD and the Society in Science for her postdoctoral studies at the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where she was researching as postdoctoral fellow from 2014-​2017. Besides activities in public outreach work and education, she is serving as Global Future Council for the World Economic Forum. She is also co-​founder of MagnebotiX, a young spin-​off from ETHZ.

Close

You might also be interested in

November 25, 2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 1: Making of "PushMi PullYu"

December 10, 2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Epsiode 2: Hyphen-Labs in conversation with John-Dylan Haynes on "PushMi PullYu"

February 12, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 3: The Studio and the Classroom: Max – Artists in Residence at Schools

September 10, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 5: Zheng Bo and Tom Crowther

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Künstlergespräch 

Simone Schürle und Susanne M. Winterling im Gespräch

Simone Schürle und Susanne M. Winterling im Gespräch
Foto: Jan Welchering © ETH Zürich

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the scenes

Simone Schürle und Susanne M. Winterling im Gespräch
Foto: Jan Welchering © ETH Zürich

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the scenes

Termin:

25.06.2021

Sie finden den Podcast in unserer Mediathek und hier:

Spotify

Apple Podcasts

Deezer

Google Podcasts

Soundcloud


Die Künstlerin Susanne M. Winterling und die Nanoingenieurin Prof. Dr. Simone Schürle sprechen über ihre intensive Zusammenarbeit bei der gemeinsamen Entwicklung der Ausstellung. Sie geben Einblick in Schürles Arbeit im „Responsive Biomedical Systems Lab“ an der ETH Zürich und den Austausch der beiden über die Themen von „TEMPERATE“.

Außerdem diskutieren sie naturwissenschaftliche Bildgebungsverfahren und die Technik dahinter, das Kultivieren von Bakterien und das „im-Labor-sein“, das Winterling als eine der zentralen Erfahrungen in Vorbereitung auf das Ausstellungsprojekt beschreibt.

Audio

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the Scenes

Mediathek besuchen

Susanne M. Winterling: TEMPERATE – 

Ausstellung — 20.05. – 19.09.2021

Ein fluoreszierendes Bakterium ist Protagonist der Installation „TEMPERATE“ von Susanne M. Winterling. In einem auf Körpertemperatur erwärmten Ausstellungsraum begegnen die Besucher*innen dem leuchtenden Mikroorganismus.

Mehr erfahren

Die Sprecher*innen 

Susanne M. Winterling arbeitet medienübergreifend, um die Kulturen und Transformationen von Elementen und Materialien zu erforschen. Ein Schwerpunkt ihrer künstlerischen Praxis und Forschung liegt auf der Erweiterung unserer sinnlichen Wahrnehmung und unseres kritischen Bewusstseins. Winterlings affektive und oftmals immersive Projekte heben die Interaktion zwischen Materialien und Lebensformen hervor. Susanne Winterling lebt in Berlin.

Schliessen

Simone Schürle forscht auf dem Gebiet der Biomedizintechnik und ist Assistenzprofessorin für Responsive Biomedizinische Systeme an der ETH Zürich. Sie schloss ihr Studium 2009 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie in Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit dem Schwerpunkt Mikro/Nanosysteme ab. Danach wechselte sie an die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ), wo sie sich mit magnetischen Manipulationstechniken für biomedizinische Anwendungen beschäftigte. Für ihre Doktorarbeit erhielt sie die ETH-Medaille und für ihre Postdocs am Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research am Massachusetts Institute of Technology, wo sie von 2014-2017 als Postdoc forschte, Stipendien vom SNF, DAAD und der Society in Science. Neben Aktivitäten in der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Bildung ist sie als Global Future Council für das Weltwirtschaftsforum tätig. Sie ist auch Mitbegründerin von MagnebotiX, einem jungen Spin-off der ETHZ.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

25.11.2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 1: Making-of der Ausstellung "PushMi PullYu"

10.12.2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 2: Hyphen-Labs im Gespräch mit John-Dylan Haynes über "PushMi PullYu"

12.02.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 3: Kunst und Klassenzimmer: Max – Artists in Residence an Schulen

10.09.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 5: Zheng Bo und Tom Crowther

19.10.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 6: Aviv Regev und Judith Feucht

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram