Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Professor Steffen Gay

Professor Steffen Gay

Steffen Gay

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008

Professor Steffen Gay

Steffen Gay

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008

Professor Steffen Gay received his clinical training in Leipzig, Wuerzburg and Munich and then went on to the University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA, before becoming, in 1996, head of the Department of Rheumatology at the University Hospital of Zurich, one of the most renowned centers for experimental rheumatology in Europe.

In addition to his research, Professor Gay’s main focus is on promoting young medical scientists. Thanks to his efforts, the scientific centers in Alabama and Switzerland, where Gay works, have been designated so-called “WHO Collaborating Centers,“ which makes it possible for them to take part in international academic exchanges with countless universities – in particular exchanges of fellowships recipients and researchers in rheumatology.

In the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2008, Professor Gay will talk about “Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis“ and explain the latest findings of his research group on the molecular and cellular basis of joint destruction in rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis and ankylosing spondylitis. Special emphasis is given to the epigenetic mechanisms of gene regulation.

The lecture, which has been sponsored by the Schering Stiftung since 2008, takes place at the DRFZ, in connection with the presentation of the Avrion Mitchison Prize. With this annual prize, the DRFZ and the Schering Stiftung honor an outstanding contribution by a young scientist to experimental or clinical rheumatism research. This year’s prize winner is Dr. Kirsten Neubert.

Read more

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2008 

Prize winner

Dr. Neubert fromthe Dermatology Clinic at the University of Erlangen is awarded the Avrion Mitchison Prize 2008 for her work "The proteosome inhibitor bortezomib depletes plasma cells".

Learn more

Downloads 

You might also be interested in

December 05, 2017

Stefan Rose-John

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2017

December 04, 2018

Richard Burt

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2018

December 06, 2016

Mary B. Goldring

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2016

December 01, 2015

Michael L. Dustin

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

December 03, 2013

Tom W. J. Huizinga

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2013

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Professor Steffen Gay

Professor Steffen Gay

Steffen Gay

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008

Professor Steffen Gay

Steffen Gay

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008

Termin:

02.12.2008, 17–19 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Deutsches Rheuma-Forschungszentrum Berlin
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin


Professor Steffen Gay referiert zum Thema „Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis“.

Gay, der nach seiner klinischen Ausbildung in Leipzig, Würzburg und München an die University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA, ging, ist seit 1996 Leiter des Departments für Rheumatologie an der Universität Zürich – eines der renommiertesten Zentren für Experimentelle Rheumatologie in Europa.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit in der Forschung ist die Förderung des medizinischen Nachwuchses von zentraler Bedeutung für Professor Gay. Durch sein Zutun wurden die wissenschaftlichen Zentren in Alabama und der Schweiz, in denen Gay tätig ist, zu so genannten „WHO Collaborating Center“ berufen, was den internationalen akademischen Austausch mit zahllosen Universitäten ermöglicht – insbesondere auch den Austausch von Stipendiaten und Wissenschaftlern der deutschen Rheumatologie.

Für die Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008 hält Professor Gay einen Vortrag zum Thema „Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis“ und erläutert die neusten Ergebnisse seiner Forschungsgruppe auf dem Gebiet der molekularen und zellularen Gelenkzerstörung in Zusammenhang mit rheumatischer Arthritis, Arthrose und Spondylitis ankylopoetica. Hierbei geht er insbesondere auf die epigenetischen Mechanismen von Erbgutanordnungen ein.

Die Lecture, seit 2008 von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt, findet zusammen mit der Verleihung des Avrion Mitchison Preises im DRFZ statt. Mit dem Preis zeichnen das DRFZ und die Schering Stiftung jedes Jahr eine herausragende Arbeit eines jungen Wissenschaftlers zur experimentellen oder klinischen Rheumaforschung aus. Die diesjährige Preisträgerin ist Frau Dr. Kirsten Neubert.

Weiterlesen

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2008 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Neubert von der Abteilung Biologie Dendritischer Zellen in Erlangen erhält den Avrion Mitchison Preis 2008 für ihre Arbeit "Bortezomib gegen Plasmazellen zur Behandlung von Autoimmunkrankheiten".

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Programm

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

05.12.2017

Stefan Rose-John

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2017

04.12.2018

Richard Burt

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2018

06.12.2016

Mary B. Goldring

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2016

01.12.2015

Michael L. Dustin

Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2015

Frank P. Luyten

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2014

03.12.2013

Tom W. J. Huizinga

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram