Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Hohenschönhausen Journey

Hohenschönhausen Journey

Date:

December 19, 2013, 5:30–7:30 p.m.


12.12.2013, Berlin | The Berlin district of Hohenschönhausen has many sights, even though this may not be apparent at first glance. As part of a project initiated by the youth recreation center “Die Arche,” young people aged 8 to 18 from Hohenschönhausen visited, and engaged creatively with, special places in their neighborhood during the past year. The results have now been published as a book, which will be presented on December 19, 2013, at 5:30 p.m. as part of an exhibition on the project.

Following Goethe’s “Italian Journey” in 1813–17, in which he describes, in stylized form, his botanical and geographical observations as well as various social and cultural aspects of his travels and stay in Italy, the children and young people have engaged with their neighborhood. Sites in Berlin- Hohenschönhausen, especially locations that lend the environment its historical and cultural character such as Hohenschönhausen Castle, the water tower on Lake Obersee, and the Mies van der Rohe House, were made objects of artistic and creative investigation. Together with the artist Mathias Roloff, the participants produced sketches and photographs and took notes to capture the atmosphere of these places in words and images, and also researched historical facts on the objects. The goal was not mere documentary stock-taking, however, but to provide the young people with an emotional experience of these places.

The objects and research findings served as the basis for fictional stories and images that will now be on display as prints and diary-like texts in the exhibition. The show will be accompanied by a catalogue that documents the results of the project and shows the locations of the district’s objects on a map.

The painter, illustrator, and graphic artist Mathias Roloff introduces the children and young people to the classic techniques of printmaking and shows them different ways of engaging creatively with a specific object. The project thus fits with the Schering Stiftung’s grant-making focus of offering children and young people age-appropriate access to art and enabling them to experience and understand art with all their senses.

 

Exhibition Opening and Book Launch

December 19, 2013, at 5:30 p.m.

Youth Recreation Center DIE ARCHE
Degnerstr. 40
13053 Berlin

For more information, please contact the Schering Stiftung at ++49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or click here.

You might also be interested in

April 01, 2021 – April 01, 2022

The amazing Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt

A theater project of the Komödie am Kurfürstendamm

October 18, 2018

Art Workshop “Bunte Spinne”

Art Workshops for Children and Youth at the SOS Children’s Village Berlin-Moabit

January 01 – December 31, 2020

Max – Artists in Residence at Schools

Art encounters at schools

March 01 – June 30, 2019, Berlin

Copykids

An Outreach Project in Connection with the Exhibition “Mantegna and Bellini: Masters of the Renaissance”

January 01, 2019 – December 31, 2020, 10969 Berlin

Standortwechsel

Open Art Studio

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Hohenschönhauser Reise

Hohenschönhauser Reise

Termin:

19.12.2013, 17:30–19:30 Uhr


Der Berliner Stadtteil Hohenschönhausen hat viele Sehenswürdigkeiten, auch wenn es auf den ersten Blick nicht so scheint. In einem Projekt der Jugendfreizeiteinrichtung „Die Arche“ haben Hohenschönhauser Jugendliche im Alter von 8 bis 18 Jahren im vergangenen Jahr besondere Orte in ihrem Wohnumfeld besucht und sich kreativ mit ihnen beschäftigt. Die Ergebnisse sind nun als Buch erschienen, das am 19. Dezember 2013 um 17:30 Uhr in einer Ausstellung zum Projekt präsentiert wird.

 

Angelehnt an Goethes „Italienische Reise“ von 1813-17, in denen er in stilisierter Form die botanischen und geografischen Beobachtungen sowie gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Themen seines Italienaufenthaltes beschreibt, haben sich Kinder und Jugendliche ihren Stadtteil angeeignet. Sehenswürdigkeiten in Berlin Hohenschönhausen, insbesondere Orte, die das Wohnumfeld historisch und kulturell prägen wie das Bürgerschloss Hohenschönhausen, der Wasserturm am Obersee und das Mies van der Rohe Haus wurden, so zu Objekten künstlerischer Auseinandersetzung. Zusammen mit dem Künstler Mathias Roloff fertigten die TeilnehmerInnen Skizzen, Fotos und Notizen an, um die Atmosphäre dieser Orte in Wort und Bild festzuhalten. Zusätzlich wurden historische Fakten zu den Objekten recherchiert. Es sollte jedoch keine bloße dokumentarische Bestandsaufnahme herausgearbeitet, sondern die Orte für die Jugendlichen affektiv erfahrbar gemacht werden.

Die Objekte und die Rechercheergebnisse dienen als Grundlage für fiktive Geschichten und Bilder, die nun als Druckgrafiken und tagebuchartige Texte in der Ausstellung zu sehen sein werden. Zusätzlich erscheint ein Katalog, der die Projektergebnisse dokumentiert und in einem Übersichtsplan die Lage der Objekte im Bezirk veranschaulicht.

Der Maler, Zeichner und Grafiker Mathias Roloff führt die Kinder und Jugendlichen in die klassischen Techniken der Druckgrafik ein und vermittelt verschiedene Herangehensweisen, sich künstlerisch mit einem konkreten Gegenstand auseinanderzusetzen. Das Projekt entspricht damit den Förderschwerpunkten der Schering Stiftung, Kindern und Jugendlichen einen altersgerechten Zugang zu unterschiedlichen Bereichen der Kunst zu ermöglichen und künstlerische Inhalte sinnlich erfahrbar und verständlich zu machen.

Ausstellungseröffnung und Buchpräsentation

19.12.2013 um 17:30 Uhr

Jugendfreizeiteinrichtung DIE ARCHE
Degnerstr. 40
13053 Berlin

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter http://www.arche.libg-jugend.de/start.html

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

18.10.2018

Kunstwerkstatt Bunte Spinne

Kunstworkshops für Kinder und Jugendliche im SOS-Kinderdorf Berlin-Moabit

01.01.2020

Max – Artists in Residence

Kunstbegegnungen in der Schule

01.03. – 30.06.2019, Berlin

Copykids

Ein Vermittlungsprojekt zur Ausstellung „Mantegna und Bellini. Meister der Renaissance“

10969 Berlin

Standortwechsel

Offene Kunstwerkstatt

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram