Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman - Ernst Schering Prize 1996

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman - Ernst Schering Prize 1996

Judah Folkman

Ernst Schering Prize 1996

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman - Ernst Schering Prize 1996

Judah Folkman

Ernst Schering Prize 1996


Professor Dr. Judah Folkman from the Harvard Medical School in Boston USA is awarded the Ernst Schering Prize 1996 for his outstanding pioneering work on angiogenesis (the proliferation of new vessels) and tumor biology. This research has greatly helped explain the regulation of tumor growth and of the development of metastasis.

Angiogenesis research began with the question of how tumors induce the formation of blood vessels (angiogenesis). The background: solid tumors can only grow to a few cubic millimeters in size if they are not being nourished through blood vessels. If the supply of nutrients and oxygen by means of diffusion ceases, any further tumor growth is dependent on blood vessels. Folkman began dealing with this in detail in the early seventies. Although only a few people were working in this field at that time, by the late eighties and early nineties much greater interest was being shown. Meanwhile, numerous factors have been discovered that stimulate the formation of blood vessels. Several of these factors can be produced by the tumor cells themselves.

The main significance of the research findings is for cancer therapy applications, because if it becomes possible to inhibit or prevent the creation of blood vessels, the growth of tumors will be stopped. Or to put it another way, the tumor starves. Numerous research groups are trying out different approaches to block the process of angiogenesis.

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony

November 27, 1996
Ernst Schering Prize 1996

Berlin

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Judah Folkman

Download File

You might also be interested in

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

September 28, 2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Prize 2015

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman - Ernst Schering Preis 1996

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman - Ernst Schering Preis 1996

Judah Folkman

Ernst Schering Preis 1996

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman - Ernst Schering Preis 1996

Judah Folkman

Ernst Schering Preis 1996


Professor Dr. Judah Folkman von der Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA erhält den Ernst Schering Preis 1996 für seine hervorragenden und grundlegenden Arbeiten zur Gefäßneubildung (Angiogenese) und Tumorbiologie, die wesentlich zum Verständnis der Regulation des Wachstums und der Metastasierung von Tumoren beigetragen haben.

Das Gebiet der Angiogeneseforschung begann mit der Frage, durch welche Mechanismen es Tumoren gelingt, die Bildung von Blutgefäßen, also die Angiogenese, zu induzieren. Hintergrund ist, dass solide Tumore ohne eine Versorgung mit Blutgefäßen nur bis zu einer Größe von wenigen Kubikmillimetern wachsen können. Ist die Versorgung mit Nährstoffen und Sauerstoff durch Diffusion nicht mehr gewährleistet, ist das weitere Wachstum des Tumors gefäßabhängig. Folkman begann bereits Anfang der siebziger Jahre, sich eingehend mit dieser Thematik zu beschäftigen. Während es zu jener Zeit nur wenige Mitstreiter gab, erfuhr diese Forschungsrichtung ab Ende der achtziger, Anfang der neunziger Jahre verstärktes wissenschaftliches Interesse. Mittlerweile wurden zahlreiche Faktoren gefunden, die die Bildung von Blutgefäßen stimulieren. Manche dieser Faktoren können von der Tumorzelle selbst gebildet werden.

Die zentrale Bedeutung der Forschungsergebnisse liegt in der Anwendung in der Krebstherapie, denn wenn es gelingt, therapeutisch die Neubildung von Blutgefäßen zu hemmen oder zu unterbinden, wird das Tumorwachstum gestoppt: Der Tumor muss quasi verhungern. Zahlreiche Forschungsgruppen versuchen, den Angiogeneseprozess mit verschiedenen Ansätzen zu blockieren.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung

27.11.1996
Ernst Schering Stiftung 1996

Berlin

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Judah Folkman

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

23.09.2013

Frank Kirchhoff

Ernst Schering Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube