Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner

Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

On November 10, 2017, at 4 p.m., the Technical University of Berlin will host the 2017 Bohlmann Lecture. Entitled “Catalysis for Synthesis – Concepts and Scrutiny,” this year’s lecture will be presented by Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner, Managing Director of the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung in Mülheim/Ruhr.

Alois Fürstner’s research in the Department of Organometallic Chemistry is focused on the development and understanding of organometallic reagents and catalysts, as well as on their application to the synthesis of structurally complex targets of biological significance.

Alois Fürstner about his lecture “Catalysis for Synthesis – Concepts and Scrutiny”:
“Despite their thermodynamic stability, the high kinetic reactivity of carbon-carbon triple bonds opens promising gateways into many useful catalytic transformations. This lecture intends to summarize some recent contributions from our laboratory. After a short review of our work in the area of alkyne metathesis, I will focus on some unconventional ways to harness the reactivity of various acetylene derivatives. This includes the use of carbophilic Lewis acids based on Pt(+2) or Au(+1), as well as the first examples of ruthenium-catalyzed trans-hydrogenation, trans-hydroboration as well as trans-hydrostannation reactions of internal alkynes. The organometallic and mechanistic aspects of these transformations will be discussed in some detail. Selected applications to natural product synthesis are meant to showcase the current state of development.”

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the Bohlmann Lecture in order to strengthen the international networking of scientists and to make renowned experts visible as role models for young scientists. Moreover, the Lecture makes it possible for a broader public to learn about the latest scientific findings.

The lecture will be followed by the award ceremony of the Schering Prize 2016. The 5,000-euro prize is given for outstanding dissertations in chemistry and is also funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation. This year’s prize winner is Dr. Moritz Malischewski.

Read more

Schering Prize 2016 

Prize winner

Dr. Malischewski from the Institute for Chemistry and Biochemistry at FU Berlin is awarded the Schering Prize 2016 for his work on “Reactions of perfluorinated and permethylated compounds with strong oxidizing agents".

Learn more

You might also be interested in

November 09, 2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

November 11, 2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

November 20, 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

November 21, 2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner

Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

Termin:

10.11.2017, 16–19 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Technische Universität Berlin
Technische Universität Berlin (Hörsaal C 130)
Straße des 17. Juni 115 | 10623 Berlin

Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten.


Am 10. November 2017 um 16 Uhr findet in der Technischen Universität Berlin die Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017 statt. Als Gastredner konnte Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner, Geschäftsführender Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Kohlenforschung in Mülheim/Ruhr, gewonnen werden. Er spricht zum Thema „Catalysis for Synthesis – Concepts and Scrutiny”.

Alois Fürstner beschäftigt sich in seiner Forschung in der Abteilung Metallorganische Chemie schwerpunktmäßig mit der Entwicklung und dem Verständnis von metallorganischen Verbindungen und Katalysatoren, sowie deren Anwendung auf die Synthese strukturell komplexer Zielmolekülen mit biologischer Wirkung.

Alois Fürstner über seinen Vortrag „Catalysis for Synthesis – Concepts and Scrutiny”:
„Trotz der thermodynamischen Stabilität von Kohlenstoff-Kohlenstoff-Dreifachbindungen eröffnet ihre hohe kinetische Reaktivität vielversprechende Zugänge zu einer Reihe nützlicher katalytischer Umwandlungen. In dem Vortrag sollen die jüngsten Forschungsbeiträge aus unserem Labor zusammenfassend vorgestellt werden. Nach einem kurzen Überblick über unsere Arbeit im Bereich der Alkinmetathese werden einige unkonventionelle Arten vorgestellt, wie man sich die Reaktivität verschiedener Acetylenderivate zunutze machen kann. Dazu gehört die Verwendung von carbophilen, auf Pt(+2)- oder Au(+1)-basierten Lewis-Säuren sowie die ersten Beispiele von Ruthenium-katalysierten trans-Hydrierungen, trans-Hydroborierungen und trans-Hydrostannierungen von internen Alkinen. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt dabei den organometallischen und mechanistischen Aspekten dieser Umwandlungen. Ausgewählte Anwendungen im Bereich der natürlichen Produktsynthese sollen den aktuellen Entwicklungsstand veranschaulichen.”

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlern zu stärken und renommierte Fachexperten als Vorbilder für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Teilhabe an neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen.

Im Anschluss an die Vorlesung wird der Schering Preis für hervorragende Dissertationen im Fach Chemie an Dr. Moritz Malischewski verliehen. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 € dotiert und wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert.

Weiterlesen

Schering Preis 2016 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Malischewski vom Institut für Chemie und Biochemie der FU Berlin erhält den Schering Preis 2016 für seine Arbeit „Reaktionen perfluorierter und permethylierter Verbindungen mit starken Oxidationsmitteln".

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

09.11.2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

11.11.2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

20.11.2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

21.11.2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram