Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran (l.)

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran (l.)

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

This years Bohlmann Lecture entitled “Studies in Natural Product Synthesis,” will be presented by Prof. Dr. Phil Baran of The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, Kalifornien, USA.

Phil Baran (born 1977) received a chemistry degree (1997) at New York University and a Ph.D. (2001) from Scripps Research Institute. He was a postdoctoral associate (2001–2003) at Harvard University before joining the faculty of Scripps Research Institute, where he is currently a professor in the Department of Chemistry. His scientific papers have appeared in Nature, Science, Angewandte Chemie, and the Journal of the American Chemical Society, among others.

Phil Baran about his lecture „Studies in Natural Product Synthesis“
“There can be no more noble undertaking than the invention of medicines. Chemists that make up the engine of drug discovery are facing incredible pressure to do more with less in a highly restrictive and regulated process that is destined for failure more than 95% of the time. How can academic chemists working on natural products help these heroes of drug discovery – those in the pharmaceutical industry? With selected examples from our lab and others, this talk will focus on that question highlighting innovation in fundamental chemistry and new approaches to scalable chemical synthesis.”

The Schering Stiftung supports the Bohlmann Lecture in order to strengthen the international networking of scientists and to make renowned experts visible as role models for young scientists. Moreover, the Lecture makes it possible for a broader public to learn about the latest scientific findings.

The lecture will be followed by the award ceremony of the Schering Prize 2014. The 5,000-euro prize is given for outstanding dissertations in chemistry and is also funded by the Schering Stiftung. This year’s prize winner is Dr. Kristine Müther.

Read more

Schering Prize 2014 

Prize winner

Dr. Müther from the Institute for Chemistry at the Technical University Berlin is awarded the Schering Prize 2014 for her research on “Generation, structure and reactivity of metallocene-stabilized silylium ions”.

Learn more

You might also be interested in

November 10, 2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

November 09, 2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

November 11, 2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

November 21, 2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran (l.)

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran (l.)

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

Die diesjährige Bohlmann Vorlesung trägt den Titel „Studies in Natural Product Synthesis“ und wird von Prof. Dr. Phil Baran vom Institut für Chemie am Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, Kalifornien, gehalten.

Phil Baran (*1977) erwarb sein Diplom in Chemie 1997 an der New York University und promovierte 2001 am Scripps Research Institute. Nach einem Postdoc-Aufenthalt an der Universität Harvard (2001-2003) wechselte er ans Scripps Research Institute, wo er derzeit als Professor am Institut für Chemie tätig ist. Seine wissenschaftlichen Publikationen erschienen u.a. in Nature, Science, Angewandte Chemie und dem Journal of the American Chemical Society.

Phil Baran über seine Vorlesung mit dem Titel „Studies in Natural Product Synthesis“
„Es gibt kein nobleres Unterfangen als die Entwicklung von Medikamenten. Pharmazeutische Chemiker stehen unter unglaublichem Druck, mit weniger mehr zu erreichen, noch dazu im Rahmen eines äußerst restriktiven und regulierten Prozesses, der in mindestens 95 von 100 Fällen zum Scheitern verurteilt ist. Wie können akademische Chemiker, die mit Naturstoffen arbeiten, diesen Helden der Medikamentenentwicklung in der Pharmaindustrie helfen? Mithilfe ausgewählter Beispiele, u.a. aus unserem Labor, werde ich in meinem Vortrag dieser Frage nachgehen und dabei Innovationen in der chemischen Grundlagenforschung sowie neue Ansätze für skalierbare chemische Synthesen vorstellen.“

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlern zu stärken und renommierte Fachexperten als Vorbilder für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Teilhabe an neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen.

Im Anschluss an die Vorlesung wird der Schering Preis für hervorragende Dissertationen im Fach Chemie an Dr. Kristine Müther verliehen. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 € dotiert und wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert.

Weiterlesen

Schering Preis 2014 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Müther vom Institut für Chemie an der Technischen Universität Berlin erhält den Schering Preis 2014 für ihre Forschungsarbeit zur „Erzeugung, Struktur und Reaktivität metallocenstabilisierter Silyliumionen“.

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.11.2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

09.11.2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

11.11.2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

21.11.2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram