Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Prof. Dr. François Diederich

Prof. Dr. François Diederich

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

Prof. Dr. François Diederich

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

This year’s Bohlmann Lecture entitled “Acetylene and Cumulene Scaffolding: From Optoelectronic and Chiroptical Molecular Materials to Supramolecular Systems,” will be presented by Prof. Dr. François Diederich of the Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences (D-CHAB) at ETH Zurich.

François Diederich, born in Ettelbruck, Luxembourg, studied chemistry with Heinz A. Staab at the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research at the University in Heidelberg, where he received his diploma in 1977 and his doctoral degree in 1979.
After postdoctoral studies with Prof. Orville L. Chapman at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) from 1979 to 1981, he was a research associate at the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research in Heidelberg.

After his habilitation in 1985, he joined the faculty of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCLA as an associate professor, before becoming a full professor of Organic and Bioorganic Chemistry in 1989. Since 1992, he has been a professor at the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry at ETH Zurich. He and his research group are above all interested in molecular recognition and supramolecular chemistry, the structure-based design of nonpeptidic enzyme inhibitors as well as advanced materials based on carbon-rich acetylenic molecular architecture.

Acetylene and Cumulene Scaffolding: From Optoelectronic and Chiroptical Molecular Materials to Supramolecular Systems

The click-chemistry-type [2+2] cycloaddition-retroelectrocyclization (CA-RE) cascade between donor-activated alkynes and electron-accepting olefins is a high-yielding, atom-economic, thermodynamically driven transformation, which affords stable non-planar donor-acceptor chromophores with efficient third-order optical nonlinearities, suitable for all-optical processing up to the Terrahertz regime. The CA-RE reaction also works at the central “proacetylenic” C=C bond of [3]cumulenes which provides access to novel tetracenes with a rubrene-like substitution pattern. They act as fluorescent chemosensors for soft metal ions and as singlet exciton fission materials for photovoltaic applications. Optically active acyclic and macrocyclic alleno-acetylenic oligomers feature exceptionally intense Cotton effects in their electronic circular dichroism spectra. Shape-persistent alleno-acetylenic macrocycles self-assemble in solution and in the solid state to form chiral channels. Triple-stranded helicates formed from enantiopure alleno-acetylenes feature an interior cavity for inclusion complexation and enable the chiroptical detection of achiral, nonchromophoric guests.

The Ernst Schering Stiftung supports the Bohlmann Lecture in order to strengthen the international networking of scientists and to make renowned experts visible as role models for young scientists. Moreover, the Lecture makes it possible for a broader public to learn about the latest scientific findings.

The lecture will be followed by the award ceremony of the Schering Prize 2013. The 5,000-euro prize is given for outstanding dissertations in chemistry and is also funded by the Schering Stiftung. This year’s prize winner is Dr. Bartlomiej Krawczyk.

Read more

Schering Prize 2013 

Prize winner

Dr. Krawczyk from the Institute of Chemistry at the Technical University of Berlin is awarded the Schering Prize 2013 for his research on "Discovery, characterization and biosynthesis of novel class III lantibiotics”.

Learn more

You might also be interested in

November 10, 2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

November 09, 2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

November 11, 2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

November 20, 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Prof. Dr. François Diederich

Prof. Dr. François Diederich

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

Prof. Dr. François Diederich

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

Die diesjährige Vorlesung trägt den Titel „Neue Acetylen- und Kumulenchemie: von optoelektronischen und chiroptischen molekularen Materialien zu supramolekularen Systemen“ und wird von Prof. Dr. François Diederich vom Laboratorium für organische Chemie am Departement Chemie und Angewandte Biowissenschaften (D-CHAB) der ETH Zürich gehalten.

François Diederich, geboren in Ettelbrück im Grossherzogtum Luxemburg, schloss 1977 sein Chemiestudium an der Universität Heidelberg mit einer Diplomarbeit bei Heinz A. Staab am Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für medizinische Forschung in Heidelberg ab, wo er ebenfalls 1979 promovierte. Nach einem Postdoktoranden-Aufenthalt an der University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) bei Orville L. Chapman von 1979 bis 1981 trat er eine Stelle als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am MPI für medizinische Forschung in Heidelberg an.

Nach seiner Habilitation an der Universität Heidelberg im Jahr 1985 wurde er als Acting Associate Professor an das Departement Chemie und Biochemie der UCLA berufen, wo er 1989 zum Full Professor of Organic and Bioorganic Chemistry ernannt wurde. Seit 1992 ist er ordentlicher Professor am Laboratorium für Organische Chemie der ETH Zürich. Zentrale Forschungsthemen seiner Gruppe sind molekulare Erkennung und supramolekulare Chemie, strukturbasiertes Wirkstoffdesign, sowie neuartige Materialien für Elektronik und Optik auf der Basis kohlenstoffreicher acetylenischer Strukturen.

Neue Acetylen- und Kumulenchemie: von optoelektronischen und chiroptischen molekularen Materialien zu supramolekularen Systemen

Die in hohen Ausbeuten und atomökonomisch verlaufende Clickchemie-artige [2+2] Cycloaddition-Retroelectrocyclisierungs- (CA-RE) Kaskade zwischen donor-aktivierten Alkinen und elektronenarmen Olefinen ist eine thermodynamisch getriebene Transformation, die Zugang zu stabilen, nichtplanaren Donor-Akzeptorchromophoren liefert, welche hohe optische Nichtlinearitäten dritter Ordnung zeigen und für optisches Schalten bis in das Terrahertz-Regime geeignet sind. Auch die proacetylenische zentrale C=C-Doppelbindung in [3]Kumulenen geht die CA-RE-Reaktion ein, wobei Tetracene mit einem Rubren-artigen Substitutionsmuster entstehen. Sie eignen sich als Fluoreszenzsensoren für weiche Metallionen und als Singulett-Exciton-Spaltungsmaterialien für photovoltaische Anwendungen. Optisch-aktive acyclische und macrocyclische alleno-acetylenische Oligomere zeigen ausserordentlich intensive Cotton-Effekte in den elektronischen Circulardichroismus-Spektren. Formversteifte alleno-acetylenische Macrocyclen selbst-assoziieren in Lösung und im Festkörper unter Bildung chiraler Kanäle. Dreisträngige Helicate aus alleno-acetylenischen Liganden besitzen einen inneren Hohlraum zur Einschlusskomplexierung und ermöglichen den chiroptischen Nachweis achiraler, nichtchromophorer Gastmoleküle.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlern zu stärken und renommierte Fachexperten als Vorbilder für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Teilhabe an neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen.

Im Anschluss an die Vorlesung wird der Schering Preis für hervorragende Dissertationen im Fach Chemie an Dr. Bartlomiej Krawczyk verliehen. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 € dotiert und wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert.

Weiterlesen

Schering Preis 2013 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Krawczyk vom Institut für Chemie an der TU Berlin erhält den Schering Preis 2013 für seine Forschungsarbeit zur „Entdeckung, Charakterisierung und Biosynthese der neuen Klasse III der Lantibiotika“.

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.11.2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

09.11.2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

11.11.2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

20.11.2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram