Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold

Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

This years Bohlmann Lecture entitled “Innovating with Evolution: Expanding the Enzyme Universe,” will be presented by Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, California, USA

Frances Arnold’s research focuses on protein engineering by directed evolution, with applications in alternative energy, chemicals, and medicine. Dr. Arnold pioneered the ‘directed evolution’ of proteins, mimicking Darwinian evolution in the laboratory to engineer proteins with new and useful properties.

Frances Arnold about her lecture „Innovating with Evolution: Expanding the Enzyme Universe“

“Nature makes a stunning array of molecules and materials using spectacular catalysts that you can literally scrape from the bottom of your shoe. But chemists make, and dream of, many more that are not known in biology. We would love to be able to program biological systems — e.g. clean and efficient microbial factories — to make some of these molecules and materials, but that will require new biological catalysts. Not satisfied with nature’s vast catalytic repertoire, we want to create new enzymes and expand the range of genetically encoded chemistry. I will describe how we can use the most powerful algorithm for biological design, evolution, to optimize existing enzymes and invent new ones. Mimicking nature’s evolutionary tricks and using a little chemical intuition, we can generate whole new enzyme families that catalyze important reactions not (yet) known in nature, thereby expanding the chemistry of the biological world and the molecules and materials we can build.”

The Schering Stiftung supports the Bohlmann Lecture in order to strengthen the international networking of scientists and to make renowned experts visible as role models for young scientists. Moreover, the Lecture makes it possible for a broader public to learn about the latest scientific findings.

The lecture will be followed by the award ceremony of the Schering Prize 2015. The 5,000-euro prize is given for outstanding dissertations in chemistry and is also funded by the Schering Stiftung. This year’s prize winner is Dr. Stephan Warnke.

Read more

Schering Prize 2015 

Prize winner

Dr. Warnke from the Institute for Chemistry and Biochemistry at Freie Universität Berlin is awarded the Schering Prize 2015 for his research on "A Gas-Phase Approach to Biomolecular Structure".

Learn more

You might also be interested in

November 10, 2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

November 09, 2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

November 20, 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

November 21, 2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold

Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

Die diesjährige Bohlmann Vorlesung zum Thema „Innovating with Evolution: Expanding the Enzyme Universe“ wird von Prof. Dr. Frances Arnold vom California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, Kalifornien, USA, gehalten.

Frances Arnold konzentriert sich in ihrer Forschung auf Protein-Engineering mittels gerichteter Evolution, das sich in den Bereichen alternative Energien, Chemikalienherstellung und Medizin anwenden lässt. Dr. Arnold ist eine der Pionierinnen der „gerichteten Evolution“ von Proteinen: Dabei wird versucht, durch Nachahmung der Darwin’schen Evolution im Labor Proteine mit neuen und nützlichen Eigenschaften herzustellen.

Frances Arnold über ihren Vortrag „Innovating with Evolution: Expanding the Enzyme Universe“

„Die Natur bildet eine erstaunliche Menge an Molekülen und Materialien mithilfe von spektakulären Katalysatoren, die sich buchstäblich von der Schuhsohle kratzen lassen. Aber Chemiker träumen davon, eine noch viel größere Anzahl von Molekülen und Materialien herzustellen, die in der Biologie unbekannt sind. Unser Ziel ist es, zur Herstellung dieser Moleküle und Materialien biologische Systeme zu programmieren – z.B. saubere und effiziente Mikrobenfabriken –, aber dazu bedarf es neuer biologischer Katalysatoren. Wir geben uns nicht zufrieden mit dem riesigen Spektrum an Katalysatoren, das uns die Natur anbietet, und wollen stattdessen neue Enzyme entwickeln und damit den Wirkungsbereich der chemischen Genetik erweitern. In meinem Vortrag werde ich beschreiben, wie wir mithilfe des wirkmächtigsten Algorithmus des biologischen Designs, der Evolution, bereits existierende Enzyme optimieren und neue Enzyme kreieren können. Indem wir die Evolutionstricks der Natur nachahmen und mit einer Prise chemischer Intuition würzen, können wir völlig neue Enzymfamilien erzeugen, die als Katalysator für wichtige, in der Natur (noch) nicht bekannte Reaktionen dienen. Dadurch erweitern wir die Chemie der biologischen Welt sowie der Moleküle und Materialien, die wir herstellen können.“

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlern zu stärken und renommierte Fachexperten als Vorbilder für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Teilhabe an neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen.

Im Anschluss an die Vorlesung wird der Schering Preis für hervorragende Dissertationen im Fach Chemie an Dr. Stephan Warnke verliehen. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 € dotiert und wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert.

Weiterlesen

Schering Preis 2015 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Warnke vom Institut für Chemie und Biochemie der Freien Universität Berlin erhält den Schering Preis 2015 für seine Forschungsarbeit "A Gas-Phase Approach to Biomolecular Structure".

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.11.2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

09.11.2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

20.11.2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

21.11.2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram