Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Prof. Dr. Ben L. Feringa

Prof. Dr. Ben L. Feringa
Photo: Jeroen van Kooten

Prof. Christian Thomsen, Prof. Roderich Süssmuth, Prof. Johannes F. Teichert, Prof. Ben L. Feringa

Prof. Christian Thomsen, Prof. Roderich Süssmuth, Prof. Johannes F. Teichert, Prof. Ben L. Feringa
Photo: Felix Noak, (c) TU Berlin, Pressestelle

Prof. Ben L. Feringa

Prof. Ben L. Feringa
Photo: Felix Noak, (c) TU Berlin, Pressestelle

Photo: Felix Noak, (c) TU Berlin, Pressestelle

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

Date:

November 09, 2018, 4–7 p.m.

Venue:

Technical University of Berlin
Lecture Hall C130 (old chemistry building)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

The lecture will be held in English.


Ben L. Feringa’s research at the Stratingh Institute for Chemistry is focused on synthetic and physical organic chemistry. Inspired by Nature’s principles, the goal is to exploit the full potential of synthetic chemistry to create new structures and functions.

A major part of the research is directed towards dynamic molecular systems. The focus is on molecular nanoscience, novel responsive materials and photo-pharma exploring biohybrid systems, self-assembly, molecular switches and motors. A second part of the program deals with the development (and application in chemical biology) of novel stereoselective synthesis methods and asymmetric catalysis. Chirality is a leading theme and over the years a unique and broad expertise in fundamental aspects of stereochemistry has been acquired including chiroptical phenomena, chiral amplification and origin of chirality.

The Schering Stiftung supports the Bohlmann Lecture in order to strengthen the international networking of scientists and to make renowned experts visible as role models for young scientists. Moreover, the lecture makes it possible for a broader public to learn about the latest scientific findings.

The lecture will be followed by the award ceremony of the Schering Prize 2017. The 5,000-euro prize is given for outstanding dissertations in chemistry and is also funded by the Schering Stiftung. This year’s prize winner is Dr. Dominik Schumacher.

Read more

Side events 

Award ceremony

November 09, 2018, 4–7 p.m.
Schering Prize 2017

Technical University of Berlin
Lecture Hall C 130 (Old Chemistry Building)
Straße des 17. Juni 115 | 10623 Berlin

Schering Prize 2017 

Prize winner

Dominic Schumacher has developed two technologies that can help to significantly improve the understanding and treatment of diseases like cancer, diabetes, and Alzheimer.

Learn more

Speaker 

Ben L. Feringa obtained his PhD degree at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands under the guidance of Professor Hans Wynberg. After working as a research scientist at Shell in the Netherlands and at the Shell Biosciences Centre in the UK, he was appointed lecturer and in 1988 full professor at the University of Groningen and named the Jacobus H. van't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences in 2004. He was elected Foreign Honory member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is member and vice-president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. In 2008 he was appointed Academy Professor. In 2016, Ben L. Feringa received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry together with Jean-Pierre Sauvage (France) and Sir James Fraser Stoddart (UK) for their exceptional work on the development of molecular machines.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

TU Berlin

You might also be interested in

November 10, 2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

November 11, 2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

November 20, 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

November 21, 2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Prof. Dr. Ben L. Feringa

Prof. Dr. Ben L. Feringa
Foto: Jeroen van Kooten

Prof. Christian Thomsen, Prof. Roderich Süssmuth, Prof. Johannes F. Teichert, Prof. Ben L. Feringa

Prof. Christian Thomsen, Prof. Roderich Süssmuth, Prof. Johannes F. Teichert, Prof. Ben L. Feringa
Foto: Felix Noak, (c) TU Berlin, Pressestelle

Prof. Ben L. Feringa

Prof. Ben L. Feringa
Foto: Felix Noak, (c) TU Berlin, Pressestelle

Foto: Felix Noak, (c) TU Berlin, Pressestelle

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

Termin:

09.11.2018, 16–19 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Technische Universität Berlin
Hörsaal C 130 (altes Chemiegebäude)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten.


Ben L. Feringa forscht am Stratingh Institute for Chemistry in den Schwerpunkten synthetische und physikalische organische Chemie. Inspiriert von den Naturprinzipien soll das volle Potenzial der synthetischen Chemie ausgeschöpft werden, um neue Strukturen und Funktionen zu erzeugen.

Der Hauptteil der Forschung konzentriert sich auf dynamische molekulare Systeme. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der molekularen Nanowissenschaft, neuartigen responsiven Materialien und der Photopharmakologie mit dem Ziel der Erforschung biohybrider Systeme, self assembly, molekularen Schaltern und Motoren. Des Weiteren beschäftigt sich die Feringa-Gruppe mit der Entwicklung von neuen stereoselektiven Syntheseverfahren (und deren Anwendung in der Chemischen Biologie) sowie mit asymmetrischer Katalyse. Chiralität ist dabei ein Hauptthema, und im Laufe der Jahre wurde ein einzigartiges und weitgefächertes Wissen zu grundlegenden Aspekten der Stereochemie wie z.B. chiroptische Phänomene, chirale Amplifikation und der Ursprung der Chiralität erworben.

Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt die Bohlmann-Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von WissenschaftlerInnen zu fördern und renommierte Experten als Vorbilder für junge NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten Öffentlichkeit, sich über die jüngsten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse zu informieren.

Im Anschluss an den Vortrag findet die Preisverleihung des Schering Preises 2017 statt. Der mit 5000 Euro dotierte und ebenfalls von der Schering Stiftung finanzierte Preis wird für herausragende Doktorarbeiten im Fach Chemie verliehen. Der diesjährige Preisträger ist Dr. Dominik Schumacher.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung

09.11.2018, 16–19 Uhr
Schering Preis 2017

Technische Universutät Berlin
Hörsaal C 130 (Altes Chemiegebäude)
Straße des 17. Juni 115 | 10623 Berlin

Schering Preis 2017 

PreisträgerIn

Dominik Schumacher hat zwei Technologien entwickelt, die dazu beitragen können, das Verständnis und die Behandlung von Krankheiten wie Krebs, Diabetis und Alzheimer entscheidend zu verbessern.

Mehr erfahren

Sprecher 

Ben L. Feringa promovierte an der Universität Groningen in den Niederlanden bei Professor Hans Wynberg. Nach Forschungstätigkeiten bei Shell in den Niederlanden und am Shell Biosciences Centre in Großbritannien kehrte er als Lecturer an die Universität Groningen zurück, wo er 1988 zum ordentlichen Professor und 2004 zum Jacobus H. van't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences ernannt wurde. Er ist ausländisches Ehrenmitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences und Mitglied und Vizepräsident der Königlich Niederländischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, die ihn 2008 auch zum Akademie-Professor ernannte. 2016 erhielt Ben L. Feringa zusammen mit Jean-Pierre Sauvage (Frankreich) und Sir James Fraser Stoddart (UK) den Nobelpreis für Chemie für ihre außergewöhnlichen Arbeiten zur Entwicklung von molekularen Maschinen.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

TU Berlin

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.11.2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

11.11.2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

20.11.2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

21.11.2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube