Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 


Tim Otto Roth: AIS³ [aiskju:b]

Tim Otto Roth: AIS³ [aiskju:b]
Photo: Tim Otto Roth

AIS³ [aiskju:b]

A Sound Laboratory by Tim Otto Roth in Cooperation with the IceCube Neutrino Observatory

Tim Otto Roth: AIS³ [aiskju:b]
Photo: Tim Otto Roth

AIS³ [aiskju:b]

A Sound Laboratory by Tim Otto Roth in Cooperation with the IceCube Neutrino Observatory

Duration:

August 28 – September 16, 2018

Exhibition opening:

Tuesday, 28. August 2018, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Monday through Friday 3–9 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday 12–9 p.m.
Free admission.

Venue:

St. Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 3
10115 Berlin-Mitte

For information on related events for schools, write to: aiskjube@desy.de.

More information can be found at: www.imachination.net/ais3.


On August 28, 2018, the latest light and sound installation by artist Tim Otto Roth, “AIS³ [aiskju:b],” will go on display in Berlin. AIS³ stands for the three-dimensional “Astroparticle Immersive Synthesizer” and at the same time alludes to the name of the world’s largest particle detector: IceCube. This instrument records cosmic neutrinos in the deep ice of the South Pole. The exhibition, which will be on view at St. Elisabeth’s Church, Berlin-Mitte, until September 16, will be accompanied by a series of scientific lectures and conclude with a two-day symposium.

A spatial installation of 444 luminescent spherical loudspeakers suspended from the ceiling will alter the cultural church St. Elisabeth in the heart of Berlin this summer. Sounds travel through space – sometimes softly like a rain shower, at other times like an eruption, so the visitor feels invited to move and become immersed in the light and sound environment in the darkened space. Upon closer inspection, this fascinating instrument weaving microtonal sound carpets turns out to be an artistic-compositional interpretation of data from the craziest telescope in the world: the IceCube Neutrino Observatory, which consists of 5,160 light sensors that are frozen deep into the 3 km thick ice glacier above the South Pole. In total they cover a full cubic kilometer of ice. The sensors record tiny light flashes, which are generated in the rare interactions of neutrinos, the so-called “ghost” particles. The measured spherical or track-like energetic motion is the basic inspiration for this exceptional psycho-acoustic sound experiment by the composer and conceptual artist Tim Otto Roth, who developed, with his team, from scratch a sophisticated electronics and designed the light sculpture like loudspeakers.

The project “AIS³ [aiskju:b]” by Tim Otto Roth is both a work of art and a psycho-acoustic basic experiment. The Schering Stiftung supports the project, since it brings together art and science in a work of sound art. The exhibition is accompanied by a series of lectures curated by the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchroton DESY in Zeuthen. In addition, leading experts from the sciences and humanities will gather for a tow-day symposium on September 14 and 15, 2018, to discuss the relationship of “Physics and Art(efact).”

Read more

Side events 

Symposium: Physics and Art(efact)


September 14–15, 2018

Related Symposium at Villa Elisabeth
Partly in German and English

Further information and registration

Black Holes and Neutron Stars: About Gravitational Waves, Kilonovae, and the Creation of Heavy Chemical Elements

August 30, 2018, 7 p.m.
Prof. Harald Pfeiffer, Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute, Potsdam)

Lecture in German at Villa Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 4a, 10115 Berlin

Nutters, Newbeats and Neutrinos: Tales on the Weirdest Object of Particle Physics

September 02, 2018, 5 p.m.
Dr. Christian Spiering, DESY, Zeuthen

Lecture in German at Villa Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 4a, 10115 Berlin

All Good Things Come from Above: The Mystery of Cosmic Radiation

September 12, 2018, 7 p.m.
Prof. Karl-Heinz Kampert, Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Lecture in German at Villa Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 4a, 10115 Berlin

Exhibition 

Invitation for exhibition opening

Download File

Partners 

AIS³ [aiskju:b] is a project by Tim Otto Roth in cooperation with IceCube Neutrino Observatory, the Kultur Büro Elisabeth gGmbH, DESY, and RWTH Aachen, with support from the Capital Cultural Fund, the Schering Stiftung, APPEC, the Joachim-Herz-Stiftung, and others.

Hauptstadtkulturfonds
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron
APPEC
Technische Universität München
RWTH Aachen
SFB1258
Joachim Herz Stiftung
Hamamatsu
F. Victor Rolff-Stiftung

Profile 

Space plays a key role in the work of the conceptual artist and composer Tim Otto Roth (born 1974 in Oppenau/Black Forest), which combines art and science in novel ways. His expansive sound sculptures – such as Heaven’s Carousel consisting of 36 rotating loudspeakers or the water organ aura calculata – succeed in making possible new aesthetic experiences and opening up new directions in art by engaging with latest scientific research. In his compositional work, Roth uses space as an (additive) synthesizer, where sounds from sound sources distributed across the space blend and fuse to become location-specific sounds. In addition to his particular method of spatializing sound, his work focuses on microtonal scales, whose “harmony” can be derived from specific physical processes. He also experiments with mathematical principles of self-organization; by translating them into sound, he uses not only sound sculptures developed in his studio but also human agents such as a choir or a string orchestra. In 2012, Roth was a guest musician at the Klangdom of ZKM Karlsruhe. In June 2018, his sound installation SMART>SOS premiered at IRCAM in Paris.

Close

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 


Tim Otto Roth: AIS³ [aiskju:b]

Tim Otto Roth: AIS³ [aiskju:b]
Foto: Tim Otto Roth

AIS³ [aiskju:b]

Ein Klanglaboratorium von Tim Otto Roth in Kooperation mit dem IceCube Neutrino Observatorium

Tim Otto Roth: AIS³ [aiskju:b]
Foto: Tim Otto Roth

AIS³ [aiskju:b]

Ein Klanglaboratorium von Tim Otto Roth in Kooperation mit dem IceCube Neutrino Observatorium

Laufzeit:

28.08. – 16.09.2018

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Dienstag, 28. August 2018, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Montag bis Freitag 15–21 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag 12–21 Uhr
Eintritt frei.

Veranstaltungsort:

St. Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 3
10115 Berlin-Mitte

Informationen zum Rahmenprogramm für Schulklassen unter: aiskjube@desy.de.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.imachination.net/ais3.


Am 28. August 2018 eröffnet in Berlin die neueste Licht- und Klanginstallation des Künstlers Tim Otto Roth: „AIS³ [aiskju:b]“. Die Chiffre AIS³ steht für den dreidimensionalen „Astroparticle Immersive Synthesizer“ und lässt gleichzeitig den Namen des weltweit größten Teilchendetektors anklingen: IceCube. Dieses Instrument registriert im Tiefeneis des Südpols kosmische Neutrinos. Die Ausstellung, die bis zum 16. September in der Kirche St. Elisabeth, Berlin-Mitte, zu sehen ist, wird durch ein wissenschaftliches Vortragsprogramm begleitet und schließt mit einem zweitägigen Symposium.

Eine raumgreifende Skulptur aus 444 hängenden, leuchtenden Klangkugeln empfängt den Besucher in der abgedunkelten Kulturkirche St. Elisabeth. Mal eruptiv, mal wie ein leichter Regenschauer wandern Klänge und Farben durch den Raum und laden die Besucher ein, sich in dem Licht- und Klangenvironment zu bewegen und in es einzutauchen. Was auf den ersten Blick wie ein faszinierendes Instrument erscheint, das virtuos auf einer mikrotonalen Klaviatur spielt, ist eine künstlerisch-kompositorische Interpretation von Messdaten des verrücktesten Teleskops der Welt: Das IceCube-Observatorium besteht aus 5160 Lichtsensoren, die – über einen Kubikkilometer verteilt – in den antarktischen Eispanzer über dem Südpol eingeschmolzen sind. Die Sensoren registrieren die winzigen Lichtblitze, die bei den seltenen Reaktionen von „geisterhaften“ Elementarteilchen, den sogenannten Neutrinos, entstehen. Die gemessenen strahlen- oder kugelförmigen Energiebewegungen bilden das Material für das außergewöhnliche, psychoakustische Klangexperiment des Komponisten und Konzeptkünstlers Tim Otto Roth, für das von Grund auf eine neue Technik entwickelt und entsprechende Lautsprecher gestaltet wurden.

Das Projekt AIS³ „[aiskju:b]“ von Tim Otto Roth ist gleichermaßen Kunstwerk wie psychoakustisches Grundlagenexperiment. Es wurde zur Förderung der Schering Stiftung ausgewählt, weil es Kunst und Wissenschaft in einer Klangkunstarbeit zusammenführt. Begleitet wird die Ausstellung durch ein vom DESY Zeuthen kuratiertes Vortragsprogramm. Zudem diskutieren am 14. und 15. September 2018 im Rahmen eines Symposiums führende Experten aus den Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften über das Verhältnis von „Physik und Art(efakt)“.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Symposium: Physik und Art(efakt)


14. – 15. September 2018

Begleitendes Symposium in der Villa Elisabeth
Vortragsprachen Deutsch und Englisch

Weitere Informationen und Anmeldung

Schwarze Löcher und Neutronensterne. Von Gravitationswellen, Kilonovae und der Entstehung der schweren chemischen Elemente

30.08.2018, 19 Uhr
Prof. Harald Pfeiffer, Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik (Albert-Einstein-Institut, Potsdam)

Vortrag in der Villa Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 4a, 10115 Berlin

Narren, Noten und Neutrinos. Geschichten zum exotischsten Objekt der Teilchenphysik

02.09.2018, 17 Uhr
Dr. Christian Spiering, DESY, Zeuthen

Vortrag in der Villa Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 4a, 10115 Berlin

Alles Gute kommt von oben: Das Rätsel der kosmischen Strahlung

12.09.2018, 19 Uhr
Prof. Karl-Heinz Kampert, Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Vortrag in der Villa Elisabeth
Invalidenstr. 4a, 10115 Berlin

Ausstellung 

Einladungskarte zur Ausstellungseröffnung

Datei laden

Partner 

AIS³ [aiskju:b] ist ein Projekt von Tim Otto Roth in Kooperation mit IceCube Neutrino Observatorium, der Kultur Büro Elisabeth gGmbH, DESY und RWTH Aachen, gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds, die Schering Stiftung, APPEC, die Joachim-Herz-Stiftung, u. a.

Hauptstadtkulturfonds
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron
APPEC
Technische Universität München
RWTH Aachen
SFB1258
Joachim Herz Stiftung
Hamamatsu
F. Victor Rolff-Stiftung

Kurzbiografie 

Raum spielt eine Schlüsselrolle im Werk des Konzeptkünstlers und Komponisten Tim Otto Roth (geb. 1974 in Oppenau/Schwarzwald), das auf neuartige Weise Kunst und Naturwissenschaft verbindet. Mit seinen raumgreifenden Klangskulpturen – wie dem aus 36 rotierenden Lautsprechern bestehenden Heaven’s Carousel oder der Wasserorgel aura calculata – gelingt es ihm, in der Auseinandersetzung mit aktueller wissenschaftlicher Forschung neue ästhetische Erfahrungen zu ermöglichen und damit neue Wege in der Kunst zu eröffnen. In seiner kompositorischen Arbeit setzt Roth den Raum als (additiven) Synthesizer ein, in dem sich Töne von im Raum verteilten Tonquellen zu ortspezifischen Klängen mischen. Neben seiner besonderen Methode zur Spatialisierung von Klang fokussiert er in seinem Schaffen mikrotonale Skalen, deren „Harmonik“ sich aus spezifischen physikalischen Prozessen ableiten lassen. Er experimentiert aber auch mit mathematischen Selbst-Organisationsprinzipien, bei deren Umsetzung in Klang er neben in seinem Studio entwickelten Klangskulpturen auch menschliche Akteure, wie einen Chor oder ein Streichorchester, mit einbezieht. 2012 arbeitete Roth als Gastmusiker im Klangdom des ZKM Karlsruhe. Im Juni 2018 feierte seine Klanginstallation SMART>SOS Premiere am IRCAM in Paris.

Schliessen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube