Schering Stiftung

Project 

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation
Photo: © WiD / Christof Rieken

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation
Photo: © WiD / Christof Rieken

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation in Berlin

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation in Berlin

Date:

November 30 – December 02, 2009

Venue:

Tagungszentrum Jerusalemkirche Berlin
Lindenstraße 85
10969 Berlin


Some 250 science and research communicators from Germany and Austria met in Berlin on November 30 – December 2, 2009, at the second “Forum on Science Communication” organized by the initiative Science in Dialogue (Wissenschaft im Dialog, WiD) to discuss current trends and strategies in science communication.

The question of how to get young people excited about science was one of the topics at the “Forum on Science Communication.” Others included the presentation of scientific topics in the media and the evaluation of events. Using the examples of swine flu, stem cells and tsunamis, the speakers and participants discussed how to communicate scientific knowledge in a crisis situation. Another major issue was the question of how one can use scientific topics to reach out to people from educationally disadvantaged backgrounds. A panel discussion on the role of science academies in science communication featuring the presidents of the Leopoldina, the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and Acatech also met with great interest. The participants of the three-day symposium used the breaks and the evening reception at the Berlin Museum of Natural History to discuss the ideas and projects presented at the symposium and make contacts.

With the “Forum on Science Communication,” Wissenschaft im Dialog seeks to build networks and pass on new and exceptional ideas in research communication. The 10-year anniversary of the signing of the PUSH (Public Understanding of the Sciences and Humanities) manifesto by the German science organizations in 1999 provided an opportunity to look back at what has been achieved but also to point out the challenges that still exist. For example, according to a study on science communication that was presented at the symposium for the first time, there is still a failure to communicate the methodology, as opposed to the results, of scientific research to a broader public.

The second “Forum on Science Communication” was supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Science and Humanities in Germany, and the Schering Stiftung. Following a call for proposals, the program was prepared by a program committee which also included a representative of the Schering Stiftung.

Read more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation
Foto: © WiD / Christof Rieken

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation
Foto: © WiD / Christof Rieken

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation in Berlin

2. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation in Berlin

Termin:

30.11. – 02.12.2009

Veranstaltungsort:

Tagungszentrum Jerusalemkirche Berlin
Lindenstraße 85
10969 Berlin


Rund 250 Vermittler von Wissenschafts- und Forschungsthemen aus Deutschland und Österreich haben auf dem zweiten „Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation“ der Initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD) vom 30. November bis 2. Dezember 2009 in Berlin aktuelle Trends und Strategien der Wissenschaftskommunikation diskutiert.

Die Frage, wie Jugendliche für die Wissenschaft begeistert werden können, war auf dem „Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation“ ebenso Thema wie die Darstellung von Wissenschaftsthemen in den Medien und die Evaluation von Veranstaltungen. Am Beispiel von Schweinegrippe, Stammzellen und Tsunami diskutierten die Referenten und Teilnehmer, wie man Wissen in der Krise kommuniziert. Ein weiteres Schwerpunktthema war die Frage, wie man bildungsferne Schichten mit wissenschaftlichen Themen erreichen kann. Auf großes Interesse stieß auch eine Podiumsdiskussion zur Rolle der Akademien in der Wissenschaftskommunikation, die mit den drei Präsidenten von Leopoldina, BBAW und Acatech prominent besetzt war. Die Teilnehmer des dreitägigen Symposiums nutzten die Pausen und den Abendempfang im Berliner Museum für Naturkunde, um sich über die präsentierten Ideen und Projekte auszutauschen und Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Wissenschaft im Dialog will mit dem „Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation“ gezielt Netzwerke bilden sowie neue und außergewöhnliche Ideen der Forschungskommunikation weiter geben. Das 10-jährige Jubiläum der Unterzeichnung des PUSH-Manifestes (Public Understanding of the Sciences and Humanities) durch die deutschen Wissenschaftsorganisationen im Jahre 1999 bot Gelegenheit zum Rückblick auf das Erreichte, war aber auch Anlass, auf die noch bestehenden Herausforderungen hinzuweisen. So ist es immer noch nicht gelungen, der breiten Öffentlichkeit die Methodik wissenschaftlicher Forschung zu vermitteln anstatt nur deren Ergebnisse zu kommunizieren, wie eine auf dem Symposium erstmals präsentierte Trendstudie zur Wissenschaftskommunikation belegt.

Das zweite „Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation“ wurde vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, vom Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft und von der Schering Stiftung gefördert. Das Programm war durch einen Call for Proposals zustande gekommen und wurde von einem Programm-Komitee vorbereitet, dem auch ein Vertreter der Schering Stiftung angehörte.

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram