Schering Stiftung

Project 

The St. Mark’s Passion by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

The St. Mark’s Passion by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Date:

April 14, 2006, 8–10 p.m.

Venue:

Philharmonie Berlin
Kammermusiksaal
Herbert-von-Karajan-Straße 1
10785 Berlin

Tickets: 10/15/20/25 Euro (pupils and students: 8 Euro)


Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714–1788), the second and best-known son of Johann Sebastian Bach, composed the St. Mark’s Passion in 1786 while musical director of Hamburg’s five main churches. The St. Mark’s Passion performed by the EuropaChorAkademie and the Mendelssohn-Symphonia under the direction of Joshard Daus continues the series of premières of passions by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach from the archives of the Sing-Akademie. 2003 and 2004 already saw the performances of the St. John’s Passion and the St. Matthew’s Passion, respectively.

An additional highlight of this concert evening is the Great Mass in C Minor by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in a new, revised version by the American Mozart scholar Robert D. Levin, who tries to complete the mass left uncompleted by Mozart. Levin’s version of the mass was first performed at Carnegie Hall in New York in 2005.

The Berlin Sing-Akademie, founded by Carl Christian Friedrich Fasch in 1791, until the early 20th century was not only an outstanding institution of choral music, but also an important intellectual and cultural center in Berlin, whose influence radiated throughout Germany. Its members included Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Meyerbeer and many other composers. Goethe, Schadow, Hegel, Wilhelm von Humboldt and other prominent figures were closely associated with the Sing-Akademie. The archive of the Berlin Sing-Akademie—taken to Kiev after the Second World War—was returned to Berlin only in 1999.

 

Performing artists:

EuropaChorAkademie and Mendelssohn-Symphonia
under the direction of Joshard Daus

Claudia Barainsky – Soprano

Gabriele Künzle – Mezzo-Soprano

Thomas Dewald – Tenor

Ulf Bästlein – Bass

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Die Markus-Passion von Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Die Markus-Passion von Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Termin:

14.04.2006, 20–22 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Philharmonie Berlin
Kammermusiksaal
Herbert-von-Karajan-Straße 1
10785 Berlin

Karten: 10/15/20/25 Euro (Schüler und Studenten 8 Euro)


Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714–1788), der zweite und bekannteste Sohn Johann Sebastian Bachs, schuf 1786 die Markus-Passion in seiner Funktion als Musikdirektor der fünf Hamburger Hauptkirchen. Die hier von der EuropaChorAkademie und Mendelssohn-Symphonia unter der Leitung von Joshard Daus vorgestellte Markus-Passion ist die Fortsetzung der Reihe der Erstaufführungen von Passionsvertonungen C.P.E. Bachs aus dem Archiv der Sing-Akademie. 2003 wurde bereits die Johannes-Passion und 2004 die Matthäus-Passion uraufgeführt.

Als weiterer Höhepunkt dieses Konzertabends erklingt die Große Messe in c-Moll von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in einer neuen, überarbeiteten Fassung des amerikanischen Mozartforschers Robert D. Levin, der die von Mozart unvollendete Messe zu vervollständigen versucht. Levins Fassung der Messe wurde 2005 in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall welturaufgeführt.

Die von Carl Christian Friedrich Fasch im Jahr 1791 gegründete Sing-Akademie zu Berlin war bis Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts nicht nur eine herausragende Institution der Chor­musik, sondern darüber hinaus ein bedeutendes geistig-kulturelles Zentrum in Berlin, das auf ganz Deutschland ausstrahlte. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Meyerbeer und viele andere Komponisten waren Mitglieder. Goethe ebenso wie Schadow, Hegel, Wilhelm von Humboldt und weitere Persönlich­keiten waren der Sing-Akademie eng verbunden. Das Archiv der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin – nach dem 2. Weltkrieg nach Kiew verbracht – wurde erst 1999 wieder nach Berlin zurück­geführt.

Ausführende:

EuropaChorAkademie und Mendelssohn-Symphonia
unter der Leitung von Joshard Daus

Claudia Barainsky – Sopran
Gabriele Künzler – Mezzo-Sopran
Thomas Dewald – Tenor
Ulf Bästlein – Bass

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram