Schering Stiftung

Project 


Fritz Balthaus, MORE, Berlin 2015

Fritz Balthaus, MORE, Berlin 2015
Photo: Friedhelm Hoffmann, © Fritz Balthaus, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2015

Fritz Balthaus in the Berlin Academy of Arts

Fritz Balthaus, MORE, Berlin 2015
Photo: Friedhelm Hoffmann, © Fritz Balthaus, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2015

Fritz Balthaus in the Berlin Academy of Arts

Duration:

September 04 – October 25, 2015

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 03. September 2015, 6:30–8:30 p.m.

Opening hours:

Mon-Sun 10 a.m.–10 p.m.

Venue:

Akademie der Künste
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin-Tiergarten

Artist-guided tours:
October 4, 11, 18, and 25, at 2 p.m.


With the exhibition entitled “Fritz, I like the way you grasp the situation by its balls,” the Berlin Academy of Arts presents 13 interventions that Fritz Balthaus developed for the public areas and gardens on Hanseatenweg.

The works by the contextual artist Fritz Balthaus are both precise experimental setups and ironic interventions into the world of art and art exhibitions. Whether shown in museums, art galleries, galleries, art fairs, baroque castles and gardens or in so-called public contexts, the artworks reflect not only (on) the conditions of their creation but also the environments of their presentation. This results in overlaps of various kinds between the different media of image, sculpture, and architecture.

The site-specific “Spartenstiche” at the Academy of Arts challenges the widely postulated freedom of the arts. Upon closer examination, the social mandate of the “freedom of the arts” is itself a form of “commissioned art”; so perhaps taking as its subject art’s lack of freedom is what’s left of the freedom of the arts. In this sense, the interventions by Fritz Balthaus sit uneasily with the “rules” of art and the specific “house rules” of the Berlin Academy of Arts.

A cooperation between the Berlin Academy of Arts and the Schering Stiftung. 

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Fritz Balthaus, MORE, Berlin 2015

Fritz Balthaus, MORE, Berlin 2015
Foto: Friedhelm Hoffmann, © Fritz Balthaus, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2015

Fritz Balthaus in der Akademie der Künste

Fritz Balthaus, MORE, Berlin 2015
Foto: Friedhelm Hoffmann, © Fritz Balthaus, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2015

Fritz Balthaus in der Akademie der Künste

Laufzeit:

04.09. – 25.10.2015

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 03. September 2015, 18:30–20:30 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Mo-So 10-22 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Akademie der Künste
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin-Tiergarten

Künstlerführungen:
4.10., 11.10., 18.10., 25.10., jeweils 14 Uhr


Mit der Ausstellung „Fritz, I like the way you grasp the situation by its balls“ zeigt die Akademie der Künste 13 Interventionen, die Fritz Balthaus für die öffentlichen Bereiche und Gärten am Hanseatenweg entwickelt hat.

Die Arbeiten des Kontextkünstlers Fritz Balthaus sind sowohl präzise Versuchsanordnungen als auch ironische Eingriffe in die Kunstwelt und den Ausstellungsbetrieb. Ob in Museen, Kunsthallen, Galerien, Kunstmessen, in Barockschlössern und -gärten oder in sogenannten öffentlichen Kontexten, die Kunstwerke reflektieren nicht nur die Bedingungen ihres Entstehens sondern auch die Umgebungen ihrer Präsentation. Dabei ergeben sich meist unterschiedlich große Schnittmengen zwischen den Medien: Bild, Skulptur und Architektur.

Die ortsspezifischen „Spartenstiche“ in der Akademie der Künste stellen eine allgemein behauptete Kunstfreiheit auf die Probe. Genauer betrachtet ist der gesellschaftliche Auftrag zur „Kunstfreiheit“ selbst „Auftragskunst“, und vielleicht besteht die Freiheit der Kunst nur noch darin, ihre Unfreiheit zu thematisieren. In diesem Sinne reiben sich die Interventionen von Fritz Balthaus an der „Hausordnung“ der Kunst und an der „Hausordnung“ des konkreten Gebäudes der Akademie der Künste.

Ein Kooperationsprojekt der Akademie der Künste mit der Schering Stiftung.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram