Schering Stiftung

Project 


Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, video still

Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, video still
Photo: © Lerato Shadi

Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, video still

Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, video still
Photo: © Mounir Fatmi

Giving Contours to Shadows

Giving Contours to Shadows

Duration:

May 24 – July 27, 2014

Exhibition opening:

Friday, 23. May 2014, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Tuesday – Sunday, noon–6 p.m., Thursday, noon–8 p.m. (n.b.k.)
Thursday – Sunday, 4–8 p.m. (SAVVY Contemporary)

Venue:

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
Chausseestr. 128/129
10115 Berlin

The complete program of events is available as a downloadable PDF here

A press tour of the exhibition will be held on 23 May at 5:00 p.m. at the Neuen Berliner Kunstverein with the curators and selected artists in attendance

For more information about the project and program, please visit the project blog, www.givingcontours.net

For more press information and images, please log in below on the website www.nbk.org under ‘Press’ (Username: Press conference / Password: n.b.k.2014)
For all other inquiries, please contact Silke Wittig: +49 (0)30 280 70 20 or e-mail: presse@nbk.org


The exhibition and research project “Giving Contours To Shadows” explores how artists and theoreticians relate to their contemporary contexts in their treatment of Western historical narratives and the formulation of divergent perspectives – ranging from physical representation to the possibilities of pre-writing history. An extensive group exhibition will open at the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein and SAVVY Contemporary at 7:00 p.m. on 23 and 24 May 2014 respectively, accompanied by a series of events which includes a multi-day program of performances at the Maxim Gorki Theater and Gemäldegalerie in Berlin; a roundtable discussion; and satellite projects in Marrakech, Nairobi, Dakar, Lagos, and Johannesburg.

Inspired by philosopher Édouard Glissant’s challenge to free history from its confinement as a “functional fantasy of the West” rather than leaving it to the designs of historians, “Giving Contours To Shadows” explores alternative concepts of history in art and theory. The project establishes a space for the exploration of myriad theories and discourses which look beyond Western perspectives of history, creating new contemporary narrative structures, and overcoming colonial and post-colonial discourse. The exhibition and program are organized across five interlinking themes: “Performing and Embodying Histories”, “Wandering through Histories”, “Unthinking the Chimera”, “Sequestrating History” and “Pre-writing Histories”. The roundtable program will address discussions on the ideology of space, performativity and archival practice, and the notion of pre-writing history.

“Giving Contours to Shadows” is curated by Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung in collaboration with Elena Agudio and Storm Janse van Rensburg, who have invited artists working in the visual and performing arts to produce new works for the exhibition to be shown in Berlin and at five leading African cultural institutions. The Schering Stiftung has chosen to sponsor this artistic research project in light of its capacity to reflect upon the global import of other bodies of cultural knowledge through the lens of the ‘wordless’ historical narratives that are expressed in art.

Giving Contours To Shadows

First Opening:
Statements by the exhibition’s curators and von Njami (curator and art critic, Paris)
Performance: Lerato Shadi, Mosako wa nako
Performance: Mwangi Hutter, Drastic

Publications
Publishers Walther König (Cologne) will publish a volume in the n.b.k. “Diskurs” series with contributions in German and English by Elena Agudio, Marius Babias, Alexander Farenholtz, Premesh Lalu, Heike Catherina Mertens, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Simon Njami, Tavia Nyong’o, Sarah Rifky, Storm Janse van Rensburg, and Hortensia Völckers. The exhibition is accompanied by a pamphlet with brief texts about the participating artists.

Giving Contours To Shadows is sponsored by the TURN Fund of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and by the Schering Stiftung.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, Videostill

Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, Videostill
Foto: © Lerato Shadi

Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, Videostill

Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, Videostill
Foto: © Mounir Fatmi

Giving Contours to Shadows

Giving Contours to Shadows

Laufzeit:

24.05. – 27.07.2014

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Freitag, 23. Mai 2014, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Dienstag – Sonntag 12–18 Uhr Donnerstag 12–20 Uhr (n.b.k.)
Donnerstag – Sonntag 16–20 Uhr (SAVVY Contemporary)

Veranstaltungsort:

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
Chausseestr. 128/129
10115 Berlin

Das gesamte Programm als pdf können Sie sich hier herunterladen.

Der Presserundgang findet am 23. Mai um 17 Uhr im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein in Anwesenheit der KuratorInnen und ausgewählten KünstlerInnen statt.

Für weitere Informationen zum Projekt und Programm besuchen Sie den Blog: www.givingcontours.net

Für weitere Presse-Informationen und Bildmaterial loggen Sie sich bitte auf der Website www.nbk.org unter Presse ein. Benutzername: „presse“. Passwort „n.b.k.2014“. Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Silke Wittig unter Telefon: (030) 280 70 20 oder E-Mail: presse@nbk.org


Das Ausstellungs- und Forschungsprojekt „Giving Contours To Shadows“ untersucht, wie sich KünstlerInnen und TheoretikerInnen in der Auseinandersetzung mit westlichen Geschichtsschreibungen zu ihrer eigenen Gegenwart in Beziehung setzen und perspektivisch abweichende Sichtweisen formulieren – von der Verkörperung bis hin zu Möglichkeiten der Vor-Schreibung von Geschichte. Am 23. und 24. Mai 2014, jeweils 19 Uhr, wird eine umfangreiche Gruppenausstellung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein und SAVVY Contemporary eröffnet, die von einem mehrtägigen Performance-Programm im Maxim Gorki Theater sowie in der Gemäldegalerie in Berlin, einem Roundtable-Programm sowie Satellitenprojekten in Marrakesch, Nairobi, Dakar, Lagos und Johannesburg inhaltlich begleitet wird.

Inspiriert von der Forderung des Philosophen Édouard Glissant, Geschichte aus ihrer Begrenzung als „funktionale Fantasie des Westens“ zu lösen und sie nicht allein dem Wirken von HistorikerInnen zu überlassen, widmet sich „Giving Contours To Shadows“ alternativen künstlerischen und theoretischen Geschichtsbegriffen. Es schafft Raum für die Erforschung vielfältiger Theorien und Diskurse, welche westliche Wahrnehmungen von Geschichte überwinden, neue zeitgenössische Erzählstrukturen entwerfen und dem kolonialen und post-kolonialen Diskurs überwinden. Ausstellung und Programm sind in fünf thematische Kapitel gegliedert: „Performing and Embodying histories“, „Wandering through histories“, „Unthinking the Chimera“, „Sequestrating History“ und „Pre-writing histories“. Weiterhin widmet sich das Roundtable-Programm Diskussionen über die Ideologie des Raumes, über Performativität und Archivierung,  sowie über die Idee der Vor-Schreibung von Geschichte.
Das von Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung in Zusammenarbeit mit Elena Agudio und Storm Janse van Rensburg kuratierte Projekt „Giving Contours to Shadows“ lädt Künstler aus dem Bereich der bildenden und performativen Kunst ein, um für die Ausstellung in Berlin und in fünf international bekannten afrikanischen Kulturinstitutionen neue Werke zu produzieren. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt das künstlerische Forschungsprojekt, da dieses in der ‚wortlosen‘ Geschichtsschreibung die global gültige Bedeutung eines anderen kulturellen Wissens – jenseits der Geschichtsbücher und Medien – durch die Kunst reflektiert.

Giving Contours To Shadows

Erste Eröffnung:

Statements der AusstellungskuratorInnen und von Simon Njami (Kurator, Kunstkritiker, Paris)
Performance: Lerato Shadi, Mosako wa nako
Performance: Mwangi Hutter, Drastic

Publikationen
In der n.b.k. Buchreihe „Diskurs“ erscheint eine Publikation in Deutsch und Englisch im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln, mit Beiträgen von Elena Agudio, Marius Babias, Alexander Farenholtz, Premesh Lalu, Heike Catherina Mertens, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Simon Njami, Tavia Nyong’o, Sarah Rifky, Storm Janse van Rensburg und Hortensia Völckers. Die Ausstellung wird begleitet von einem Booklet mit Kurztexten zu den beteiligten KünstlerInnen.

Giving Contours To Shadows wird gefördert im Fonds TURN der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und durch die Schering Stiftung.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram