Schering Stiftung

Project 


Mark Dion: Sea Life

Mark Dion: Sea Life
Photo: © Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

BIOS at the Georg-Kolbe-Museum

Concepts of life in contemporary sculpture

Mark Dion: Sea Life
Photo: © Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

BIOS at the Georg-Kolbe-Museum

Concepts of life in contemporary sculpture

Duration:

August 26 – November 11, 2012

Exhibition opening:

Sunday, 26. August 2012, 11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

Opening hours:

Tuesday through Sunday: 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Venue:

Georg-Kolbe-Museum
Sensburger Allee 25
14055 Berlin

Admission: € 5 (reduced admission: € 3)

For more information, please contact the Schering Stiftung at +49-(0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit the website of the Georg Kolbe Museum at georg-kolbe-museum.de.


Our understanding of life and its malleability has changed fundamentally in the last twenty years because of groundbreaking discoveries in genetic engineering and microbiology. The Georg Kolbe Museum, in an exhibition entitled “BIOS – Concepts of Life in Contemporary Sculpture,” will present German and international artists who use the classical media of sculpture and installation to reflect on the changed biological concepts.

As an artistic genre, sculpture is closely linked with concepts of life, as expressed, for example, in one of its origin myths – Ovid’s story in the Metamorphoses about the divine transformation of an ivory statue created by Pygmalion into a living woman. In the hands of the sculptor, raw material is transformed into a form that does not claim its place among the living from the outset, but can indeed be suspected of competing with divine creation.

Since synthetic biology has become a buzzword, the examination of life in the fine arts has become ever more relevant. The idea that it might be possible, in the future, to generate artificially created biological systems with hitherto unknown characteristics in labs triggers both fantasies and fears. The artists respond to this development in very different ways, with their artistic exploration ranging from amorphous sculptures to interactions that are critical of society and science. The highly topical exhibition “BIOS” thus lies at the intersection of the fields supported by the Schering Stiftung.

Participating artists are Brandon Ballengée, Peter Buggenhout, Lee Bul, Mark Dion, Brad Downey, Thomas Feuerstein, Eli Gur Arie, Tue Greenfort, Patricia Piccinini, Donato Piccolo, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Günter Weseler, David Zink Yi.
The exhibition will be accompanied by a catalogue with contributions from, among others, Marc Wellmann, Anna Wenzel-Lent, Frank Fehrenbach, Jens Hauser, and Björn Brembs.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Mark Dion: Sea Life

Mark Dion: Sea Life
Foto: © Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

BIOS im Georg-Kolbe-Museum

Konzepte des Lebens in der zeitgenössischen Skulptur

Mark Dion: Sea Life
Foto: © Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

BIOS im Georg-Kolbe-Museum

Konzepte des Lebens in der zeitgenössischen Skulptur

Laufzeit:

26.08. – 11.11.2012

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Sonntag, 26. August 2012, 11:30–13:30 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Dienstag bis Sonntag: 10 bis 18 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Georg-Kolbe-Museum
Sensburger Allee 25
14055 Berlin

Eintritt 5 €, ermäßigt 3 €

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: georg-kolbe-museum.de


Das Verständnis vom Leben und der Formbarkeit des Lebendigen hat sich in den letzten zwanzig Jahren durch bahnbrechende neue Erkenntnisse in der Gentechnik und der Mikrobiologie grundlegend verändert. Das Georg-Kolbe-Museum zeigt in „BIOS – Konzepte des Lebens in der zeitgenössischen Skulptur“ deutsche und internationale Künstler, die mit den klassischen Mitteln der Skulptur und der Installation die veränderten biologischen Konzepte reflektieren.

Die Bildhauerei ist als künstlerische Gattung eng mit Konzepten der Lebendigkeit verschränkt, so auch in einem ihrer Ursprungsmythen – Ovids Metamorphose über Pygmalion und die göttliche Verwandlung einer von ihm geschaffenen Elfenbeinskulptur in eine lebendige Frau. Rohe Materie wird durch die Hände des Bildhauers zu einer Form transformiert, die den Rang des Lebendigen zwar nicht von vornherein beansprucht, aber durchaus in den Verdacht geraten kann, mit der göttlichen Schöpfung zu konkurrieren.

Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Lebendigen hat in der bildenden Kunst an Brisanz gewonnen, seitdem die Synthetische Biologie in aller Munde ist. Die Vorstellung, dass zukünftig künstlich hergestellte biologische Systeme mit bisher unbekannten Eigenschaften in Laboren entstehen, regt die Phantasie ebenso an, wie sie Ängste schürt. Die Künstler reagieren auf diese Entwicklung in sehr unterschiedlicher Weise, die Auseinandersetzung reicht von amorphen Skulpturen bis zu gesellschafts- und wissenschaftskritischen Interaktionen. Die Ausstellung „BIOS“ ist damit hochaktuell und steht im Fokus der Themenfelder, die die Schering Stiftung unterstützt.

Teilnehmende Künstler: Brandon Ballengée, Peter Buggenhout, Lee Bul, Mark Dion, Brad Downey, Thomas Feuerstein, Eli Gur Arie, Tue Greenfort, Patricia Piccinini, Donato Piccolo, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Günter Weseler, David Zink Yi.
Zu der Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog mit Beiträgen u.a. von Marc Wellmann, Anna Wenzel-Lent, Frank Fehrenbach, Jens Hauser und Björn Brembs.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram