Schering Stiftung

Project 

Shanghai Beauty – Dance Performance as Part of the ABOUT BEAUTY Festival

Shanghai Beauty – Dance Performance as Part of the ABOUT BEAUTY Festival

Date:

April 07, 2005, 8–10 p.m.

Venue:

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
Auditorium
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin

April 7, 8 and 9, 2005, in Berlin, early March 2005 in Shanghai


As reference point, the artists used the much-debated work “Vom Wesen des Nackten” [Of the Essence of Nudity] by philosopher and sinologist François Jullien, which describes the different conceptions of beauty in Asia and Europe. “In China,” Chinese star dancer Jin Xing says, “nakedness is considered superficial and unattractive. The veiled, the concealed, and the mystical qualities of the clothed body are the source of inspiration and imagination.”

Jin Xing has been honored as best (male) dancer of China, before undergoing a sex change, which has made her one of the most famous artists in China. Self-determination and personal freedom are at the center of Jin Xing’s artistic work. The dance company founded by Jin Xing draws on classical ballet and Chinese folk dances as well as a modern dance technique developed by Jin Xing herself.

The commissioned work “Shanghai Beauty” is the second cooperation between the Berlin artist couple Jutta Hell and Dieter Baumann and the Chinese star dancer Jin Xing. Already in 2002, the House of World Cultures hosted the world première of “Person to Person” as part of the IN TRANSIT festival.

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Shanghai Beauty – Tanzperformance im Rahmen des Festivals ÜBER SCHÖNHEIT

Shanghai Beauty – Tanzperformance im Rahmen des Festivals ÜBER SCHÖNHEIT

Termin:

07.04.2005, 20–22 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
Auditorium
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin

7., 8., 9. April 2005 in Berlin, Anfang März 2005 in Shanghai


Als Grundlage der Performance diente den Künstlern der vieldiskutierte Band „Vom Wesen des Nackten“ des Philosophen und Sinologen François Jullien, der darin die unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen von Schönheit in Asien und Europa beschreibt. „Nacktheit“, so die chinesische Startänzerin Jin Xing, „gilt in China als vordergründig und unattraktiv. Das Verhüllte, Verborgene, Mystische des angezogenen Körpers ist die Quelle der Inspiration und der Fantasie.“

Jin Xing ist als bester Tänzer Chinas ausgezeichnet worden, bevor er durch eine Geschlechtsumwandlung zur Frau und zu einer der bekanntesten Künstlerpersönlichkeiten Chinas wurde. Selbstbestimmung und persönliche Freiheit stehen für Jin Xing im Mittelpunkt ihres künstlerischen Schaffens. Als Grundlage dient der von Jin Xing gegründeten Tanzkompanie dabei sowohl klassisches Ballett und chinesische Volkstänze als auch eine von Jin Xing selbst entwickelte Modern-Dance-Technik.

Die Auftragsprodutkion „Shanghai Beauty“ ist die zweite Kooperation zwischen dem Berliner Künstlerpaar Jutta Hell und Dieter Baumann und der chinesischen Startänzerin Jin Xing. Bereits 2002 hat das Haus der Kulturen der Welt die Arbeit „Person to Person“ im Rahmen des Festivals IN TRANSIT uraufgeführt.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram