Schering Stiftung

Project 


Corinne Wasmuht, Llanganuco Falls, 2008

Corinne Wasmuht, Llanganuco Falls, 2008
Photo: Stefanie Seufert

Supracity

by Corinne Wasmuht

Corinne Wasmuht, Llanganuco Falls, 2008
Photo: Stefanie Seufert

Supracity

by Corinne Wasmuht

Duration:

December 11, 2009 – February 21, 2010

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 10. December 2009, 7:30–9:30 p.m.

Opening hours:

Daily, 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Venue:

Haus am Waldsee
Argentinische Allee 30
14163 Berlin

Admission: 5 euro (discounted tickets: 3 euro)

Further information is available at:
www.hausamwaldsee.de


The Haus am Waldsee will present the exhibition “Supracity” by Corinne Wasmuht. The Schering Stiftung is particularly delighted to support this exhibition, by a painter who was born in Germany, grew up in Argentina and is currently living in Berlin. By sponsoring the exhibition, the Schering Stiftung also supports the outstanding work of Katja Blomberg, director of the Haus am Waldsee, who, since 2005, has been showing an exciting program of international contemporary art “made in Berlin.”

With her paintings, Corinne Wasmuht has developed a process of pictorial composition that is unique in our fast-paced times and that has a special artistic quality. Her pictorial ideas undergo a process of condensation during months of collecting material. Initially, she used glue and scissors to create collages from hundreds of photographs that served as models for her oil paintings. Today, the models are composed digitally, on screen, and based on her own photographs, but still there are no more than five paintings per year. From the depth of the canvas, Wasmuth thus develops images that are strangely present and yet provide a counterpoint to the mass-media flood of images.

Curated by Katja Blomberg, the exhibition presents works created between 1995 and 2009: from the jungle-like oil paintings of the 1990s, which open up colorful, organic visual worlds in a psychedelic manner, to the paintings of the first decade of this century, which take as their subject the busy, absurdly crowded cityscapes as well as landscapes.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Corinne Wasmuht, Llanganuco Falls, 2008

Corinne Wasmuht, Llanganuco Falls, 2008
Foto: Stefanie Seufert

Supracity

von Corinne Wasmuht

Corinne Wasmuht, Llanganuco Falls, 2008
Foto: Stefanie Seufert

Supracity

von Corinne Wasmuht

Laufzeit:

11.12.2009 – 21.02.2010

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 10. Dezember 2009, 19:30–21:30 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

täglich geöffnet, 11 bis 18 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Haus am Waldsee
Argentinische Allee 30
14163 Berlin

Eintritt 5 Euro, ermäßigt 3 Euro

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter:
www.hausamwaldsee.de


Das Haus am Waldsee zeigt die Ausstellung „Supracity“ von Corinne Wasmuht. Der Schering Stiftung ist es eine besondere Freude, die Ausstellung der 1964 in Deutschland geborenen, in Argentinien aufgewachsenen und heute in Berlin lebenden Malerin fördern zu können. Mit der Förderung der Ausstellung unterstützt die Schering Stiftung zugleich die herausragende Arbeit der Leiterin des Hauses am Waldsee, Katja Blomberg, die seit 2005 ein sehr spannendes Programm internationaler zeitgenössischer Kunst „made in Berlin“ zeigt.

Corinne Wasmuht hat mit ihrer Malerei ein Bildfindungsverfahren entwickelt, das einzigartig in unserer schnelllebigen Zeit dasteht und eine besondere künstlerische Qualität aufweist. Ihre Bildideen verdichten sich in einem monatelangen Prozess des Sammelns von Material. Zunächst collagierte sie mit Klebstoff und Schere aus hunderten von Fotografien Vorlagen für ihre Ölmalerei. Heute werden die Vorlagen digitalisiert am Bildschirm nach eigenen Fotografien angefertigt, aber dennoch entstehen im Jahr nicht mehr als fünf Werke. Aus der Tiefe der Leinwand entwickelt Wasmuht so Bilder, die auf sonderbare Weise gegenwärtig sind und sich doch dem massenmedialen Bilderrauschen entgegenstellen.

Die von Katja Blomberg kuratierte Ausstellung präsentiert Werke, die zwischen 1995 und 2009 entstanden sind: von den dschungelartigen Ölgemälden der 90er Jahre, die in psychedelischer Manier bunte, organische Bildwelten eröffnen bis zu den seit Beginn der 2000er Jahre entstehenden Bildern, die sich mehr dem belebten, absurd dicht erscheinenden Stadtraum sowie der Landschaft zuwenden.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram