Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Dr. Ilme Schlichting - Ernst Schering Prize 1998

Dr. Ilme Schlichting - Ernst Schering Prize 1998

Ilme Schlichting

Ernst Schering Prize 1998

Dr. Ilme Schlichting - Ernst Schering Prize 1998

Ilme Schlichting

Ernst Schering Prize 1998


Dr. Ilme Schlichting from the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Physiology in Dortmund is awarded the Ernst Schering Prize 1998 for her outstanding and pioneering studies in the emerging field of kinetic crystallography. Through her individual selection of combinations of analytical procedures and test conditions for approaching every problem, Dr. Schlichting has opened up the fourth dimension to X-ray structural analysis. She has succeeded in creating three-dimensional images of extremely short-lived intermediates of proteins occurring in biochemical reactions.

Today, the rational development of a new drug product begins with the elucidation of the molecular mechanisms of a disease. Proteins play a decisive role in almost all biological processes. A single unintended deviation within their spatial structure can destabilize the harmonization of the chemical reactions in the cell to such a degree that a serious disorder results. Proteins carry out highly specific tasks within the metabolism, usually in conjunction with other proteins or low molecular compounds. The recognition of the appropriate partner works according to the lock and key principle. Familiarity with the spatial structure of the various proteins is an important condition for the future development of drugs designed to interact with specific proteins.
This is complicated by the fact that proteins change in the course of a reaction, i.e. there are no rigid spatial structures. Images of the intermediate steps are necessary to obtain a complete picture of the movements a protein makes during a reaction. These movements usually last only a fraction of a second and are thus undetectable by conventional analytical procedures.

Protein crystals form the basis of the structural analysis of proteins. Transillumination of the crystal with x-rays yields the diffraction pattern and permits with the help of a computer the reconstruction of the spatial arrangement of the atoms. Collection of the data normally takes hours or even days. This type of lengthy procedure is therefore unsuitable for depicting the extremely short-lived states which could be of interest in drug design. Two approaches to a solution are feasible: a quicker collection of data via the use of intensive x-rays at different wavelengths or the stabilization of intermediate states by reducing the temperature, for example.

A further problem in depicting short-lived states is obtaining a clear image. To achieve this, almost all the proteins in the crystal must react at the same time. Dr. Ilme Schlichting was able to solve this problem with regard to numerous proteins by first of all crystallizing inactive precursors and then activating them simultaneously, e.g. by exposure to light. Dr. Schlichting matches the analytical procedure and the test conditions to the reaction under investigation to obtain a series of pictures which, when viewed in quick succession, provide a complete moving representation of the reaction: before – during – after.

Should it become possible to apply rational drug designing routinely, the time between the conception of the idea and the introduction of the drug would be drastically reduced. In the future, Dr. Ilme Schlichting’s research can make a significant contribution to the targeted development of new drugs.

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony

September 23, 1998
Ernst Schering Prize 1998

Berlin

Downloads 

Curriculum Vitae

Ilme Schlichting

Download File

You might also be interested in

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

September 28, 2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Prize 2015

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

PreisträgerIn 

Dr. Ilme Schlichting - Ernst Schering Preis 1998

Dr. Ilme Schlichting - Ernst Schering Preis 1998

Ilme Schlichting

Ernst Schering Stiftung 1998

Dr. Ilme Schlichting - Ernst Schering Preis 1998

Ilme Schlichting

Ernst Schering Stiftung 1998


Dr. Ilme Schlichting vom Max-Planck-Institut für Molekulare Physiologie in Dortmund erhält den Ernst Schering Preis 1998 für ihre hervorragenden und richtungsweisenden Arbeiten als Pionierin auf dem noch jungen Gebiet der kinetischen Kristallographie. Durch die für jede Fragestellung individuelle Auswahl und Kombination verschiedener Analyseverfahren und Versuchsbedingungen hat Dr. Schlichting der Röntgenstrukturanalyse die vierte Dimension eröffnet: Ihr ist es gelungen, extrem kurzlebige Intermediate von Proteinen, die bei biochemischen Reaktionen entstehen, dreidimensional abzubilden.

Die rationale Entwicklung eines neuen Arzneimittels beginnt heute mit der Aufklärung der molekularen Mechanismen einer Krankheit. In praktisch allen biologischen Prozessen spielen Proteine eine entscheidende Rolle. Eine einzige unplanmäßige Abweichung in ihrer räumlichen Struktur kann das wohlregulierte Zusammenspiel chemischer Reaktionen in der Zelle so aus dem Gleichgewicht bringen, dass eine ernste Erkrankung die Folge ist.
Ihre Aufgaben innerhalb des Stoffwechsels erfüllen Proteine hochspezifisch, meist in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Proteinen oder niedermolekularen Verbindungen. Die Erkennung der Partner erfolgt dabei nach dem Schlüssel-Schloss-Prinzip. Im Hinblick auf die zukünftige Entwicklung maßgeschneideter Arzneimittel (drug design), die mit bestimmten Proteinen wechselwirken sollen, ist die Kenntnis der räumlichen Struktur des jeweiligen Proteins eine wichtige Voraussetzung.
Kompliziert wird dieses Vorgehen dadurch, dass sich Proteine während einer Reaktion verändern, es also keine starren räumlichen Strukturen gibt. Für ein vollständiges Bild der Bewegung, die ein Protein während einer Reaktion ausführt, benötigt man auch Bilder der Zwischenschritte. Diese „leben“ meist nur Bruchteile einer Sekunde und entziehen sich so herkömmlichen Verfahren der Analyse.

Grundlage für die Strukturanalyse von Proteinen sind Proteinkristalle. Durchleuchtet man diese mit Röntgenstrahlen, kann aus dem Beugungsmuster mit Hilfe eines Computers die räumliche Anordnung der Atome berechnet werden. Die Datensammlung benötigt üblicherweise Stunden bis Tage. Dieses langwierige Verfahren eignet sich darum nicht, extrem kurzlebige Zustände, die für das Maßschneidern von Arzneimitteln interessant sein könnten, abzubilden. Zwei Lösungsansätze sind denkbar: Eine schnellere Datensammlung durch die Verwendung intensiver Röntgenstrahlung unterschiedlicher Wellenlängen oder die Stabilisierung der Zwischenzustände etwa durch Absenken der Temperatur.

Zusätzliches Problem bei der Darstellung von kurzlebigen Zuständen ist ihre klare Abbildung. Dazu müssen nahezu alle Proteine im Kristall zeitgleich reagieren. Dieses Problem konnte Dr. Ilme Schlichting für zahlreiche Proteine lösen, indem sie zunächst inaktive Vorstufen kristallisiert und dann, zum Beispiel durch Licht, zeitgleich aktiviert. In Abhängigkeit der zu untersuchenden Reaktion kombiniert Dr. Schlichting die passenden Analyseverfahren und Versuchsbedingungen und erhält so eine Abfolge einzelner Bilder, die – wie beim Daumenkino – ein vollständiges, bewegtes Bild der Reaktion wiedergeben: Vorher – während – nachher.

Wird eine routinemäßige Anwendung des rationalen drug design möglich, kann die Zeit von der Idee bis zur Anwendung eines Arzneimittels drastisch verkürzt werden. Die Arbeiten von Dr. Ilme Schlichting können in Zukunft einen wichtigen Beitrag für die gezieltere Entwicklung neuer Medikamente sein.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung

23.09.1998
Ernst Schering Preis 1998

Berlin

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Ilme Schlichting

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

23.09.2013

Frank Kirchhoff

Ernst Schering Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube