Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Gerhard Ertl

Bohlmann Lecture 2009

Gerhard Ertl

Bohlmann Lecture 2009

On December 4, 2009, at 4 p.m., the Technical University of Berlin will host the 2009 Bohlmann Lecture in conjunction with the presentation of the 2008 Schering Prize. The lecture will be given by Nobel Prize laureate Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Gerhard Ertl on the topic of “Elementary Steps in Heterogeneous Catalysis.”

Born in 1936, Ertl studied physics in Stuttgart, Munich and Paris from 1955 until 1961. In 1965, he earned his doctorate from the Technical University of Munich, followed by his habilitation just two years later. Between 1968 and 1973, he was a professor and director at the Institute of Physical Chemistry at the Technical University of Hanover (today: Leibniz University of Hanover), before moving to the University of Munich (LMU). From 1986 until his retirement in 2004, he was director of the Department of Physical Chemistry at the Fritz Haber Institute (FHI) of the Max Planck Society in Berlin.

His research focuses on the field of so-called surface chemistry. His work on catalysis has made a key contribution to explaining many previously unknown processes of industrial catalysis. His findings are of major importance for many processes used in industry. For example, only his research made it possible to fully understand the processes in car catalysts.

Gerhard Ertl is the recipient of numerous awards and prizes, including eight honorary professorships. In 2007 he received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

On the occasion of the Bohlmann Lecture, the Technical University of Berlin will make Gerhard Ertl an honorary member. The university thus honors an extraordinary scientist and one of the most important chemical scientists of our time.

The Schering Stiftung sponsors the lecture in order to strengthen the international networking among scientists and to make visible renowned experts as role models for young scientists. In addition, the lecture makes it possible for a broader, interested public to learn about the latest scientific findings.

Read more

Schering Prize 2008 

Prize winner

Dr. Großmann from the Institute of Chemistry at the Humboldt University Berlin is awarded the Schering Prize 2008 for his research on "Template-catalyzed reactions according to the principle of native chemical ligation".

Learn more

You might also be interested in

November 10, 2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

November 09, 2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

November 11, 2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

November 20, 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

November 21, 2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Gerhard Ertl

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2009

Gerhard Ertl

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2009

Am 4. Dezember 2009 um 16 Uhr findet in der Technischen Universität die Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2009 zusammen mit der Verleihung des Schering-Preises 2008 statt. Die Vorlesung wird von dem Nobelpreisträger Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Gerhard Ertl zum Thema „Elementarschritte bei der heterogenen Katalyse“ gehalten.

Der 1936 geborene Ertl studierte zwischen 1955 und 1961 Physik in Stuttgart, München und Paris. Im Jahr 1965 promovierte er an der TU München, zwei Jahre später folgte die Habilitation. Zwischen 1968 und 1973 war er Professor und gleichzeitig Direktor am Institut für Physikalische Chemie der TU Hannover (heute Leibniz Universität Hannover), danach wechselte er an die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Von 1986 bis zu seiner Emeritierung im Jahr 2004 war er Direktor der Abteilung Physikalische Chemie am Fritz-Haber-Institut (FHI) der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin.

Sein wissenschaftlicher Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der sogenannten Oberflächenchemie. Seine Arbeiten zur Katalyseforschung haben wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass viele weitgehend unverstandene Prozesse der technischen Katalyse im Ansatz aufgeklärt werden konnten. Die Erkenntnisse, die aus seiner Arbeit gewonnen werden konnten, sind für viele wirtschaftlich genutzte Prozesse von großer Bedeutung. So wurden erst durch seine Forschung die Vorgänge in den Katalysatoren von Autos vollständig nachvollziehbar.

Gerhard Ertl hat für seine wissenschaftlichen Leistungen zahlreiche Auszeichnungen bekommen, allein acht Honorarprofessuren finden sich auf der Liste seiner Ehrungen. Im Jahr 2007 wurde er mit dem Nobelpreis für Chemie ausgezeichnet.

Im Rahmen der Bohlmann-Vorlesung verleiht die TU Berlin an Gerhard Ertl die Würde einer Ehrenmitgliedschaft. Die Universität ehrt damit einen außerordentlichen Wissenschaftler und einen der bedeutendsten Chemiker unserer Zeit.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlern zu stärken und renommierte Fachexperten als Vorbilder für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Teilhabe an neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen.

Weiterlesen

Schering Preis 2008 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Tom N. Großmann vom Institut für Chemie der Humboldt-Universität Berlin erhält den Schering Preis 2008 für seine Forschungsarbeit zu "Templat-katalysierte Reaktionen nach dem Prinzip der native chemical ligation".

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.11.2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

09.11.2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

11.11.2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

20.11.2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

21.11.2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram