Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

Photo: Manuel Franke, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2010

Photo: Manuel Franke, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2010

Leni Hoffmann

a whiter shade of pale

Leni Hoffmann

a whiter shade of pale

Duration:

May 27 – August 28, 2010

Exhibition opening:

Wednesday, 26. May 2010, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Monday through Saturday, 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin


On May 26, 2010, the Schering Stiftung, in cooperation with the Städel Museum, Frankfurt, opens the exhibition “a whiter shade of pale” by Düsseldorf-based artist Leni Hoffmann. Commissioned by the Schering Stiftung, the wall work “sid” was developed specifically for the Foundation’s Project Space and will be donated to the Städel Museum, where it will be re-created. Curated by Dr. Martin Engler, head of the Städel’s post-1945 art collection, the exhibition also shows another work by Leni Hoffmann, “ubik”, which extends the exhibition space of the Schering Stiftung towards the street.

The site-specific work “sid” by Leni Hoffmann is characterized by phenomena such as transformation, time, movement, and taking a break. Leni Hoffmann plays with visual disruptions, re-inventing the work in the process of viewing it. She sets up a geometrical plane painted with a very shiny, iridescent color shift (flip flop) paint, which changes colors, from white-silvery to orange to a broken green, when seen from different angles. The viewer’s movement thus determines the color. Every time the viewer takes up a position, s/he co-creates the color determination. This plane, which is installed along the walls, is disrupted by an organic plaster area. Water is poured on the plaster to determine its shape. The color possibilities relate to the plaster surface as well as the remaining wall and window surfaces.

In Leni Hoffmann’s work, the viewer plays a key role. The space orientation of the works can only be appreciated by the constantly changing position of the viewer. Leni Hoffmann emancipates painting: away from the canvas, towards real space and objects of everyday life.

The work “sid” by Leni Hoffmann will be acquired by the Schering Stiftung and donated to the Städel Museum, Frankfurt, during the exhibition opening on May 26, 2010. On the occasion of the opening of the Städel’s extension for post-1945 art in 2011, sid will be re-created in modified form and prominently displayed.

Read more

Gallery

Leni Hoffmann

Exhibit Opening "a whiter shade of pale" on May 26, 2010

Visit the media library

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

Foto: Manuel Franke, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2010

Foto: Manuel Franke, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2010

Leni Hoffmann

a whiter shade of pale

Leni Hoffmann

a whiter shade of pale

Laufzeit:

27.05. – 28.08.2010

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Mittwoch, 26. Mai 2010, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin


Am 26. Mai 2010 eröffnete die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit dem Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, die Ausstellung „a whiter shade of pale“ von Leni Hoffmann. Die Düsseldorfer Künstlerin entwickelte im Auftrag der Schering Stiftung eine ortspezifische Wandarbeit, „sid“, die zugleich als Schenkung in den Besitz des Städel Museums übergeht und dort neu zur Ausführung kommt. Kuratiert von Dr. Martin Engler, Sammlungsleiter Kunst nach 1945 am Städel, zeigte die Ausstellung eine weitere Arbeit, „ubik“ von Leni Hoffmann, die den Ausstellungsraum der Schering Stiftung zur Straße hin erweitert.

Die von Leni Hoffmann entwickelte ortspezifische Arbeit „sid“ bestimmen Phänomene wie Veränderung, Zeit, Bewegung und Innehalten. Leni Hoffmann spielt mit visuellen Brüchen und erfindet die Arbeit im Prozess des Betrachtens neu. Sie legt eine geometrische Fläche an, die einen stark glänzenden irisierenden „Kipplack“ zeigt, dessen Farbe aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen betrachtet eine jeweils andere Farbigkeit von weißsilbrig über orange bis zu einem gebrochenen Grün annimmt. Die Bewegung des Betrachters bestimmt den jeweiligen Farbton. Jede Standortnahme des Betrachters wird so zur mitschöpfenden Farbbestimmung. Diese wandumlaufende Fläche wird durch eine organische Mauerputzfläche gestört. Die Form des Mauerputzes wird durch die vorausgehende Handlung einer Wasserschüttung bestimmt. Die Farbmöglichkeiten setzen sich zur Putzoberfläche sowie den übrigen Wand- und Fensterflächen in Bezug.

Der Betrachter spielt im Werk von Leni Hoffmann eine zentrale Rolle. Die Raumbezogenheit der Arbeiten lässt sich nur durch den sich ständig verändernden Betrachterstandpunkt erfassen. Leni Hoffmann emanzipiert die Malerei: weg von der Leinwand, hin zum Realraum und zu allen Dingen des Alltags.

Die Arbeit „sid“ von Leni Hoffmann wurde durch die Schering Stiftung erworben und im Rahmen der Ausstellungseröffnung am 26. Mai 2010 dem Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, als Schenkung „übergeben“. In modifizierter Form wird sid dort 2011, zur Eröffnung des Erweiterungsbaus für Kunst nach 1945, an prominenter Stelle neu ausgeführt.

 

Weiterlesen

Galerie

Leni Hoffmann

Ausstellungseröffnung "a whiter shade of pale" am 26. Mai 2010

Mediathek besuchen

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram